We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel suited purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Ranked #435 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Hotel suited purpose”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Arrived after 24 hour flight to excellent service from Stephane. No room was available as yet but our luggage was taken care of and we were given access to a washroom to freshen up. We had been to Paris several times before so this was an overnighter ready for our train journey to the south of France the next day. We were able to walk the couple of blocks from the hotel to the seine and access to all sites. We had no safety concerns at all and the hotel suited our purpose beautifully.

Room Tip: We had 401 - would suggest not near the lift as it pings on arrival which could be noisy during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    1,390
    374
    93
    83
See reviews for
1,414
584
166
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Okay hotel, very poor neighborhood and felt unsafe outside the front door, we didn't even want to walk the 200 meters to a shop. Choose somewhere else, so many other nicer, safer and more confidently located hotels in Paris!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I am pleased to read the the services of my hotel were up to your expectations.
Nevertheless, I sincerely regret the feeling of insecurity you experienced when you wanted to walk around. Your comment is very important to me as I work closely with the Police and Municipal authorities of the area to secure at best, the hotel surroundings ; so far, we do not record any situation endangering the safety of our Guests.
I do hope that, we will be able to welcome you again as a client of Novotel.
Sincerely,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

In my experience,Novotel is a safe choice to stay during business trip in France.
The quality is rather standard, not outstanding but rarely disappointing.
However, it is my first time to experience of discomfort after more than staying 20 nights in various Novotel hotels. Actually it was my second time to stay this hotel. I chose this hotel due to its close location to the Gare de Lyon from where I took a early TVG. The hotel is just next to the station so the location could not be better. My problem was the room. Newly appointed room looks fine. But I think chemicals used irritated me in my eyes and nose and bed was very uncomfortable to sleep. Very thin and funny softness. Finally, I could not sleep well on bed and slept for few hours on the coach chair !
It was strange experience and I suppose it unique to my special room or my own condition. Will continue to stay in Novotel but I wish to alert those chemical sensitive travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gehararigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 1 December 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in my hotel.
I regret the inconvenience you were subjected to and please accept my sincere apologies.
Although, we did not get any other complain regarding the newly renovated rooms, I have allowed myself to forward your remark to the Novotel Construction and Renovation Department.
I remain at your disposal and hope you will still consider my hotel for your next trip to Paris.
Kind regards,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amares, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Kids are really welcome. The price is very nice for the quality of a hotel in Paris. Really confortable bed, clean and modern room (stayed in a superior room). Fancy glass separate the bathroom from the room, it turns translucent by pushing a botton. All rooms have a sofá that it's a (small) single beneath the cover, great for kids. The inside pool is rare in the center of Paris, but the temperature of the water was a little bit cold. And the location is perfect to pick up the train to Disney, but also to visit the city center.
The breakfast it's ok but not fantastic, and they have a special room for families. We received the visit of an amazing balloons sculptor wile taking breakfast.
He was an specialist on the issue.
We loved the hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank S0fiaPM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

My teams and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay in our hotel.

I am glad to read you appreciated for breakfast our “Family Time” that provides, during week-end days and holidays, entertainments for children such as a magician. We are working constantly in order to give families the best welcome so they feel "like home".

Kind Regards,

Jean-Jacques Bruyand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Has most of what you need for business. Good sized room, free wifi, good bathroom and comfy bed.
Was missing an iron and decent pillows to be great.

Service was better than expected and a nice range of foods for breakfast though being France the croissants/pastries were a little below par.

Great location close to the train station.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nzd31155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking the time to write about my hotel.
You are mentioning the absence of an iron in the room: the reception, on call, can provide an iron and ironing board at any time, Do not hesitate to ask for it..
Regarding the pillows, a second set is available in the cupboard and may suit you more as their comfort is different than the ones on the bed.
I hope to welcome you again at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon.
Kind regards,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed only one night so we didn't see it in the daylight but the Novotel appears to be either a very modern, or a recently renovated hotel. The hotel and our suite were both very modern, clean and attractive but the service was a little mediocre. The front desk staff spoke English very well, but it seems nobody else knew a word. Our $300 CDN/night room didn't have a corkscrew so I took our bottle of wine down to the front desk. They sent me to the lounge to get it opened but for some unexplainable reason he wouldn't open it for me and sent me back to the front desk. I know some French but he rattled something indiscernable off at high speed in French and pointed back to the front desk. They then sent me to the restaurant where the lady opened it for me but gave me some sort of lecture in French.
I don't expect everyone to speak English but they made no attempt to be accommodating to our linguistic differences, nor do I as a 55 year old, $300/night guest need a lecture over opening a bottle of wine when our room should have had a corkscrew.
A minor point but for information, our shower drain was plugged and the water spilled over onto the floor.
We only stayed one night so I can't say whether or not this is a normal stay at the Novotel but it wasn't overly impressive. I would certainly not hesitate to stay again but after this experience I wouldn't go out of my way to seek it out. On a good note it is literally right beside Gare de Lyon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay in my hotel.
I regret the fact that you describe and please accept my sincere apologies.
I allowed myself to forward your comment to the relevant teams and corrective measures have been implemented.
I hope you will still consider my hotel for your next stay in Paris.
Sincerely,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Good service, and clean rooms. Typical Novotel standard. But our 4-1 room is very tight in space after opening the sofa bed. Hotel is very close to train station and food places. Good location. Will recommend to family when they r here in Paris. .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thscang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
#398 of 1,800 in Paris
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon

Property: Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Address: 2 rue Hector Malot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#271 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#272 Family Hotel in Paris
#346 Business Hotel in Paris
#495 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon is located in the center of Paris, opposite Gare de Lyon train station (metro 1 & 14, RER A & D). The hotel is ideal for your business trips, meetings, romantic getaways or family weekends in Paris and is close to Bastille, Bercy, Gare du Nord train station, Disneyland (direct via RER A), the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre and Opéra. The hotel has 253 renovated rooms, a bar, restaurant, indoor swimming pool and a fitness center for your well-being. Free Wi-Fi and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Gare De Lyon
Paris Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing