We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop over heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Ranked #435 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stop over heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Booked this after a little internet research and it was the best place I could have found ever!
The rooms were cool, spotless, quiet and comfortable.. My children loved the breakfast bar and it was RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the railway station for the next leg of our journey. I will be happy to book this again and let anyone know who needs a good bed for the night

Room Tip: There is an exit door that takes you straight to the Gare de Lyon station on the West side. Voila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    1,325
    356
    89
    79
See reviews for
1,329
547
162
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Been to this hotel about 10 times and love it. Great location, modern, clean, decent rooms, nice staff. Lovely areas. Recommend to anyone families or general holidays. Well located for Gare De Lyon. Nice shops and restaurants near by. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank GAILKELLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

My teams and I would like to thank you for your warm commentary and your loyalty.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed every part of your stay. Your loyalty is the biggest reward for us and we hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Jean-Jacques Bruyand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is not the hotel for an atmospheric lingering holiday in Paris, but for a practical, short stay for arriving/departing from Gare de Lyon it was perfect, considering the price I paid. It's really scraped in as a 4 star hotel, it's more like a good quality Ibis - must be due to the pool and fitness room - but I didn't really need any of the usual extras for a short stay anyway.
The positives:
- Great location for the high speed train and Metro, and not that far to walk to the Marais and good restaurants
- Very newly renovated and immaculately clean
- Big rooms (for Paris)
- A practically sized fridge not filled up with mini bar stuff you don't want
- Reliable wifi included
What could improve it:
- Paper and plastic cups? Trust your guests with glass, and at least a teaspoon and a corkscrew wouldn't go astray either
- A thoughtlessly placed clock attached to the tv that glows brightly all night
- Maybe a few more toiletries, if you rely on those

Neighbourhood is fine, it's central Paris!

Beware that you can't arrive before 2pm and talk your way into an early check-in, staff were firm on this to the minute.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Apart from being very conveniently located, this hotel did not offer the value that you expect out of the price that they charged...an average of 250 euros per night exclusive of breakfast. The rooms were quite basic and nothing was extra plush or with extra amenities- if compared to their relatively cheaper option-IBIS. Maybe better tolietries- but then that does not merit the price differential. The carpeting on the 4th floor- from the lift to the room was quite dirty actually, and also didnt feel clean. My experience has been that the IBIS is probably better maintained as well

Also, the reception confused my booking when I arrived at 730am- was willing to give me a room if I paid for the previous night, Made me wait for 1 hour before giving me a room at an additional 50% of the price ( for previous night) as early check-in price. Not something that will make me stay there again


So, take your pick

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anecdotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 1 December 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your remarks posted on Trip Advisor.
You do not keep a good memory of your stay in my hotel; the room you occupied was renovated in February as well as the corridor of this floor and I truly regret it was not up to your expectations. Please, accept my sincere apologies.
Regarding your early arrival, I cannot have the details of your reservation, but according to your comments, I guess we were expecting you on the day before (Yet, it has to be checked with your booking). The charge was then for that first night as we kept your room available.
I take the opportunity to specify that check in time is 2 PM.
I hope to welcome you again at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon.
Kind regards,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Arrived after 24 hour flight to excellent service from Stephane. No room was available as yet but our luggage was taken care of and we were given access to a washroom to freshen up. We had been to Paris several times before so this was an overnighter ready for our train journey to the south of France the next day. We were able to walk the couple of blocks from the hotel to the seine and access to all sites. We had no safety concerns at all and the hotel suited our purpose beautifully.

Room Tip: We had 401 - would suggest not near the lift as it pings on arrival which could be noisy during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Okay hotel, very poor neighborhood and felt unsafe outside the front door, we didn't even want to walk the 200 meters to a shop. Choose somewhere else, so many other nicer, safer and more confidently located hotels in Paris!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I am pleased to read the the services of my hotel were up to your expectations.
Nevertheless, I sincerely regret the feeling of insecurity you experienced when you wanted to walk around. Your comment is very important to me as I work closely with the Police and Municipal authorities of the area to secure at best, the hotel surroundings ; so far, we do not record any situation endangering the safety of our Guests.
I do hope that, we will be able to welcome you again as a client of Novotel.
Sincerely,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#548 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#472 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
#500 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon

Property: Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Address: 2 rue Hector Malot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#253 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#273 Family Hotel in Paris
#346 Business Hotel in Paris
#496 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon is located in the center of Paris, opposite Gare de Lyon train station (metro 1 & 14, RER A & D). The hotel is ideal for your business trips, meetings, romantic getaways or family weekends in Paris and is close to Bastille, Bercy, Gare du Nord train station, Disneyland (direct via RER A), the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre and Opéra. The hotel has 253 renovated rooms, a bar, restaurant, indoor swimming pool and a fitness center for your well-being. Free Wi-Fi and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Gare De Lyon
Paris Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing