We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and clean hotel right next to train send metro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Ranked #439 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good and clean hotel right next to train send metro”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my family for 6 nights. The best thing about this hotel is it's right next to the Gare de Lyon. There are also many eateries around or near this hotel. Marche d'Aligre is just 10min walk.You can find lots of nice food especially grill and roasted meats. Thers is also a store selling Wonderful French pastries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing my hotel and I am pleased that you enjoyed your family stay. You mentioned the good location near the station and it is indeed a great advantage as it allows you to get to the main tourist places of Paris.
I hope to welcome you again with your family.
Kind regards,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand – Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    1,344
    365
    91
    79
See reviews for
1,359
560
164
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights last week on our first family trip to see Paris. We took the metro from Charles de Gaulle (cost us about 30 euros) and with one change arrived at the Gare de Lyon station, hotel is virtually across the road. Great location if you are planning on using the metro to get around Paris. Modern hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. Room was comfy, clean and air conditioned which would be useful in the height of summer. Free Wi-Fi available. Breakfast was ample with a good selection of croissants, crepes, rolls, breads, meats, cereals, juices, sausages, eggs and beverages. Bar a bit expensive. We tried the pool which although only small was clean and tidy with changing facilities. Lots of restaurants, cafes etc within easy walking distance for an evening meal if you fancy it. The only downside (and it is probably due to the location) was people sleeping rough near to the hotel and using the outside area as a public toilet. Bit smelly!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on my hotel.
You enjoyed your stay and your satisfaction is really a great reward as my team and I are working constantly to offer the best services expected by all our guests.
I hope you will still consider the Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon for your next visit.
Warm regards,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We sttayed here last year before taking a train to Nice and found it so convenient that we stayed again this year before taking a train to Torino. Again, the front of house staff were pleasant and helpful (and gave us a free upgrade); the little bar was nice with pleasant staff and the restaurant offered a good menu and excellent food, again with agreeable wait staff. A good choice of breakfast dishes (buffet) and plenty of seating made this meal convenient. I would highly recommend Novotel Gare de Lyon if you are staying over between air/train/train connections. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable and the bathroom is quite adequate with plenty of hot water and towels. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank inclinekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay in my hotel.

You stayed twice at the Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon and I thank you for your loyalty. I am really glad you appreciated our services and situation.

I hope I will have the chance to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Jean-Jacques Bruyand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful half term trip to Paris staying at Novotel Gare de Lyon executive room (512) with two teenagers. We thought the hotel staff were wonderful, so patient with our modest French and willing to speak in English when we struggled. Would recommend hotel for convenience of location but area around the hotel may not appeal to some as the homeless/drunk seem to gravitate towards the square. Having said that we felt perfectly safe in the hotel and walking to and from it. Do watch out for pick pockets around the main tourist sites though we had the ‘gold ring scam’ and the ‘fake petition scam’ tried on us whilst we were there but luckily we realised straight away something fishy was going on!
Good points about the hotel
+ Clean modern room
+ Great shower
+ Comfortable bed
+ Helpful staff
+ Pool (small but still a bonus)
+ Great food and staff in restaurant - buffet breakfast and evening meals both great
Nil points goes to
- Area around hotel
- Room much smaller than it looks on the photo – how do they do that?!

Hope this review was helpful…

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v1882w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for choosing my hotel and for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay.
My teams and I are happy to read that your children and you enjoyed our services and attention and we hope to keep on welcoming you for your next trips to Paris.
Best regards.
Jean-Jacques Bruyand – Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here three nights May 2014.This is a great location if you are planning to move around using Metro/RER or any other public transport system .Gare de Lyon train station is just foot step
distance from hotel lobby,Rooms are good and comfortable.A wide spread break fast menu,This is s comfortable place to stay in Paris.30-45 minutes by Taxi from airport or you can take a metro
if you are travelling alone with less luggage,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jktomjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-JBruyand, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 19 December 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking the time to write about my hotel. It is true that our location is a real added advantage. Indeed, the railway station is a few steps away and allows you to reach quickly and easily the main tourist attractions.
I hope to welcome you again at Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon.
Kind regards,
Jean-Jacques Bruyand - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here in a queen room for two nights. I was fortunate to get one of the new rooms (on the third floor) so my accomodations were quite comfortable. The room was spacious, included ample storage, hangers, nice sized bathroom with a great shower (had two adjustable shower heads), clean, and comfortable bed. Be sure to request a newer room as the older rooms appear not to have been refreshed since the 80s and are a bit run down. I stayed at the hotel with friends who were in one of the older rooms and they were not pleased and were informed by the front desk that theirs was an older room. The front desk offered to inform them if one of the newer rooms became available during our stay but none did.

The free wifi wasn't the fastest but nothing to complain and there is an option to upgrade to a faster speed for 9euro a day. My room came with a free continental breakfast which had more than enough sufficient offerings (crepes, assortment of rolls/breads, fruit, deli meat, sausages, bacon, eggs, cereals, oatmeal, juice/tea, bottled water, hot chocolate, and coffee.

A/C is available in the rooms around mid May and worked just fine.

The hotel is located next to the train station (metro) was makes it convenient for traveling around the city. In addition, the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest Botobus location (Des Jardins). The Botobus is a fabulous low cost option (40 euro for family of four- 2 adults and 2 children or 16 euro for one adult) to see all of the major sites in Paris.

There are also numerous hotels, cafes, and pharmacies within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 571CharleyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#600 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#514 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
#481 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon

Property: Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Address: 2 rue Hector Malot, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#264 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#272 Family Hotel in Paris
#346 Business Hotel in Paris
#495 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon is located in the center of Paris, opposite Gare de Lyon train station (metro 1 & 14, RER A & D). The hotel is ideal for your business trips, meetings, romantic getaways or family weekends in Paris and is close to Bastille, Bercy, Gare du Nord train station, Disneyland (direct via RER A), the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre and Opéra. The hotel has 253 renovated rooms, a bar, restaurant, indoor swimming pool and a fitness center for your well-being. Free Wi-Fi and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Gare De Lyon
Paris Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing