We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but breakfast service needs sorting out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Ranked #801 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, but breakfast service needs sorting out”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at the hotel on a city break to Paris the hotel is in a convenient and central location, and our room with king size bed although a bit small was adequate for our needs. The housekeeping team did a great job and the room was cleaned early in the day, the towels, shower gels shampoo tea and coffee were replaced daily and the public areas were clean and well presented. My main criticism of the hotel was breakfast on the first morning of our visit (Monday) there was hardly anywhere to sit as the tables had not been cleared. We spent about half an hour having breakfast and during that time the six empty tables around were covered in dirty plates and no attempt was made to clear them during the whole time we were there. There seemed to be a total lack of anyone in overall charge of the staff in the breakfast area, no system in place, some of the cooked food was cold and there was no milk. I would also suggest that the management remove the coffee machines they were complicated to use and most of the guests were having problems with them. This resulted in guests giving up in shear frustration or the staff having to instruct guests on how to operate the coffee machines time which would have been better spent clearing tables and ensuring the cooked food was hot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali9891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you to give me your comments as it's important for us to improve the Quality of Service.
I am sorry that the Breakfast service wasn't as we used to deliver everyday, all the team has to be focus on the priority of welcome the guests in a perfect condition, I am sorry it wasn't the case at this time.
Hope to keep your confidence with Mercure as all the other amenities and services were appreciated.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    927
    496
    165
    80
See reviews for
251
755
238
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had to stay there on a business trip and was given a room on the 3rd floor on the side of the railway station. The room was so small that there was barely room to walk around. The prices for this hotel are astronomical (above 250€) for its value. The painting on the walls was flacky and the carpet was a little humid. Since the room was located right above the railway station I heard trains announcements all night long together with the obsessive jingle of SNCF. I agree that this hotel is very convenient if you have to catch a train at 6.00 AM, but in any other cases I would recommend finding a room in one of the neighbouring hotels which will offer you the same quality (definitely not worth 5 stars) for half of the price. I hope I don't have to go there again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the side of the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSENIEMAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest
I thank you for your comments and I do aplogize that we didn't give you all the satisfaction you were expected.
The Housekeeper and her team will be very attentive regarding the delay between the carpet cleaning and the arrival of the guest as it was always humid when you check-in, I am sorry about it.
Hope to keep your confidence with Mercure Network
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Mercure is within the Gare de Lyon railway station in the centre of Paris and so convenient for main line, RER (suburban) and metro rail travel. A hotel in such a location is inevitably expensive but the breakfasts, though good, are extortionately over-priced and the rooms really a little too small (and the bath is much too small - after one bath I showered for the rest of my stay). But the staff are friendly and helpful, everything works, and it's spotless.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for giving me your feed back after your stay as you mentionned the location is perfect to visit Paris.
Quality is a priority for us and to give you satisfaction at all time for an enjoyable stay.
Hope to see you again soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I booking from internet and pay already but when I check in she said I didn't pay !!! I showed document and expain for 1 hr., when I check out she said I didn't pay 1 night( I stay 5 night) I show sms from bank transaction she didn't listen and believe until I leaved from the hotel she charged me again !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest
First I do apologize for this incident and I will follow personally this file.
The Reception staff who made it is a new one and she will need to improve this type of case.
Thank you again for giving me all the details and hope to keep your confidence with Mercure hotels as this situation is exceptionnal.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

For Euro 280 per night (without tax) this is definitely not a 4 star hotel - it is more of a 2 star hotel. The rooms are extremely small. Not comfortable for two persons. The furniture is old and shabby. One is afraid to put their feet on the carpet because its so dirty and one is not sure what infections lurk down there. The first room we were assigned started leaking water from the ceiling and we were told there is no other room that night. We were provided another room the next night but it was much worse than the first. The breakfast is definitely not a 4 star hotel breakfast. The toast machine was not working. The scrambled eggs were just a mush of yellow water. Staff are relatively friendly.

Room Tip: No good rooms. All of them are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest
I thank you for taking time to give me your feed back and I do apologizze for the incidents as this is not the quality we use to deliver.
All our rates are including taxes ( city tax, VAT,.. ) as this period in Paris was very busy with exhibitions all the other dates you may find different promotions on Mercure website.
We made already the corrections regarding the technical problems and hope to keep your confidence with Mercure.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Mercure is part of the Accor group. I prefer staying in these hotels for the affordability. The hotel is located quite close to the metro station and provides an easily accessible to all the touristic places of paris. The rooms are quite nice and are provided with a tea / coffee machines.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4on4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest
First I would like to thank you for your confidence with Accor Hotels and for staying at Mercure Gare de Lyon during your stay in Paris.
The key point is the location to visit Paris and very easy for all transportations to South of France or to access the main monuments.
We are pleased to see you enjoyed the amenities and services in your bedroom and hope to meet you again very soon in one of our Mercure Hotels.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
#435 of 1,800 in Paris
2,774 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#497 of 1,800 in Paris
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#561 of 1,800 in Paris
332 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#929 of 1,800 in Paris
220 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Diderot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV

Property: Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Address: 2 Place Louis Armand, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#399 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Paris, just steps from the TGV Gare de Lyon train station and close to public transportation (metro lines 1 & 14, RER A & D), choose the 4-star Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon hotel for its perfect location. Since the hotel, you can go in 15 min to The Defense or 30 minutes to Disneyland (R) Paris via the RER A. With the line 1, join in a few minutes the Louvre, the Musée d'Orsay, the Notre-Dame, Champs Elysée. We have thought of everything to meet your expectations, whether you are here on business (use our contemporary meeting rooms and EasyWork by Mercure space) or for leisure (relax with free access to unlimited digital press and a large breakfast buffet). The Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon has Standard rooms equipped with safety box,Tea and Coffee facilities, free water and Privilege Room with featuring exclusive upscale Mercure bedding, an iPhone/iPad docking station, Nespresso machine, free WIFI and minibar, 42" TV with satellite channels, Bathroom with shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Gare De Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing