We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than La Defense Parc ....but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Ranked #761 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Fresh from the awful Mercure La Defense Parc, anything would have been better than that...and this was. The rooms were brighter...thank god. The bathroom was much better and the shower was good.

I got bitten (9 times in total - not that I'm counting!) by mosquitos (I think!) which is not the fault of the hotel but does call in to question the air con. It worked insofar as air came out...but it was not cool air so I wonder if my mozzie mates enjoyed the warm environment.

Reception staff generally helpful apart from one extremely unhelpful and rude man (who I asked for help with topping up a PAYG phone having lost my iphone in a taxi (his colleague tried harder - thank you!)) .....if you read this...you know who you are!

Wouldn't hurry back but it was a better experience generally than Mercure La Defense Parc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest
I thank you so much for choosing Mercure Gare de Lyon and glad to read you enjoyed your stay in Paris.
Hope to see you again soon
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were part of a large tour group on our way to Italy and this hotel was chosen due to our early morning train from Gare du Nord the next morning. Our room was fine with a comfortable bed and unusually for France there was a kettle. We arrived just in time to catch Formula 1 on the t.v. so that was a bonus. This is a good central location close to the river Seine and Isle St. Louis with Notre Dame in the distance and there are several bars and restaurants in the vicinity including the fabulous "Le Train Bleu" in the station itself. However, do beware of beggars and pickpockets on he front concourse. We went to the bar for a night cap and this was very modern & brightly coloured but we had to wait such a long time for a bar person to appear we were temped to help ourselves!! This seems to be a little used after thought. When we returned to the room for the night we found it to be very hot and stuffy with no air conditioning working so we were forced to leave the window open. Luckily we were overlooking a fairly quiet street for Central Paris but others in our group looked out on to the very noisy station so most of the group had a sleepless night. At breakfast the next morning we were hoarded into a separate room from the main breakfast area and it was very poor with virtually no seats left and the buffet had been decimated with items not being replaced. There were lengthy queues at the coffee machine so most people decided to do without.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the station and front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay and as you mentionned the location is perfect for catching a train to South of France, Switzerland, italy or Spain.
I am sorry that the Breakfast didn't reach your expectation ans this is not the relfect of the Quality we use to deliver.
Be sure that all the corrections have been made to improve the Service.
Hope to have you with Mercure hotels for your next trip
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our final stay of a 10 day tour through France. We were with a tour group and in every other hotel all the hotel arrangements went smoothly. At this hotel, they left off three individuals (of which I was one) from the group of 33 so we had to go through a lengthy process to get checked in. Our bags were delivered and placed in someone else's room instead of our room. We spent a couple of hours tracking them down. The hotel room was incredibly small. There was no room to even open the suitcase except on the bed. The breakfast was mediocre at best. They had a small coffee machine that gave out one cup of coffee at a time and there was a lengthy line. Most just gave up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest
I thank you for giving me your comments and the opportunity to send you my aplogizes for the inconveniences.
As for Individual or Groups Guest we do have the same goal the Quality of Service, this is not the reflect of what we use to deliver everyday.
Hope to keep your confidence with Mercure and be sure we will continue to improve the Quality at each time.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nabil M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at the hotel on a city break to Paris the hotel is in a convenient and central location, and our room with king size bed although a bit small was adequate for our needs. The housekeeping team did a great job and the room was cleaned early in the day, the towels, shower gels shampoo tea and coffee were replaced daily and the public areas were clean and well presented. My main criticism of the hotel was breakfast on the first morning of our visit (Monday) there was hardly anywhere to sit as the tables had not been cleared. We spent about half an hour having breakfast and during that time the six empty tables around were covered in dirty plates and no attempt was made to clear them during the whole time we were there. There seemed to be a total lack of anyone in overall charge of the staff in the breakfast area, no system in place, some of the cooked food was cold and there was no milk. I would also suggest that the management remove the coffee machines they were complicated to use and most of the guests were having problems with them. This resulted in guests giving up in shear frustration or the staff having to instruct guests on how to operate the coffee machines time which would have been better spent clearing tables and ensuring the cooked food was hot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali9891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you to give me your comments as it's important for us to improve the Quality of Service.
I am sorry that the Breakfast service wasn't as we used to deliver everyday, all the team has to be focus on the priority of welcome the guests in a perfect condition, I am sorry it wasn't the case at this time.
Hope to keep your confidence with Mercure as all the other amenities and services were appreciated.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had to stay there on a business trip and was given a room on the 3rd floor on the side of the railway station. The room was so small that there was barely room to walk around. The prices for this hotel are astronomical (above 250€) for its value. The painting on the walls was flacky and the carpet was a little humid. Since the room was located right above the railway station I heard trains announcements all night long together with the obsessive jingle of SNCF. I agree that this hotel is very convenient if you have to catch a train at 6.00 AM, but in any other cases I would recommend finding a room in one of the neighbouring hotels which will offer you the same quality (definitely not worth 5 stars) for half of the price. I hope I don't have to go there again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the side of the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSENIEMAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest
I thank you for your comments and I do aplogize that we didn't give you all the satisfaction you were expected.
The Housekeeper and her team will be very attentive regarding the delay between the carpet cleaning and the arrival of the guest as it was always humid when you check-in, I am sorry about it.
Hope to keep your confidence with Mercure Network
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Mercure is within the Gare de Lyon railway station in the centre of Paris and so convenient for main line, RER (suburban) and metro rail travel. A hotel in such a location is inevitably expensive but the breakfasts, though good, are extortionately over-priced and the rooms really a little too small (and the bath is much too small - after one bath I showered for the rest of my stay). But the staff are friendly and helpful, everything works, and it's spotless.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for giving me your feed back after your stay as you mentionned the location is perfect to visit Paris.
Quality is a priority for us and to give you satisfaction at all time for an enjoyable stay.
Hope to see you again soon
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
#448 of 1,802 in Paris
2,892 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#459 of 1,802 in Paris
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Palym Hotel
Palym Hotel
#481 of 1,802 in Paris
650 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
#442 of 1,802 in Paris
1,413 reviews
Bercy / Nation
CitizenM Paris Gare de Lyon
CitizenM Paris Gare de Lyon
#249 of 1,802 in Paris
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV

Address: 2 Place Louis Armand, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#386 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £86 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Paris, just steps from the TGV Gare de Lyon train station and close to public transportation (metro lines 1 & 14, RER A & D), choose the 4-star Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon hotel for its perfect location. Since the hotel, you can go in 15 min to The Defense or 30 minutes to Disneyland (R) Paris via the RER A. With the line 1, join in a few minutes the Louvre, the Musée d'Orsay, the Notre-Dame, Champs Elysée. We have thought of everything to meet your expectations, whether you are here on business (use our contemporary meeting rooms and EasyWork by Mercure space) or for leisure (relax with free access to unlimited digital press and a large breakfast buffet). The Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon has Standard rooms equipped with safety box,Tea and Coffee facilities, free water and Privilege Room with featuring exclusive upscale Mercure bedding, an iPhone/iPad docking station, Nespresso machine, free WIFI and minibar, 42" TV with satellite channels, Bathroom with shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Gare De Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing