We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight rooms, right next to arc d' triumph”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Ranked #276 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tight rooms, right next to arc d' triumph”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Located right on Champs Elysees this hotel is just right off the Arc d' triumph on Mac Mahon avenue.
Warning: Rooms are very tiny and so are bathrooms but your in Paris, so you won't spend much time in there anyway. The staff is very friendly and fluent in english and the hotel is walking distance from all the best wine and dine spots in the city.
Its a budget hotel and good value for money, u get what u pay for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rahul316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comment. Room size are really depending on the room category booked. Ours are from 17sqmt in a superior room up to 40sqmt in our suite. Do not hesitate to select the right need upon booking.
Hoping having the pleasure to welcome you back in Paris,

Kind Regards,

Christophe FALAISE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    179
    41
    21
    10
See reviews for
93
343
40
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My children and I had a nice stay at the Mc Mahon hotel in Paris. The location and room size were great. Very convenient to the metro and the Air France shuttle to CDG and Orly which is a much cheaper and more comfortable option to the Paris airports. Restaurant food is average and over priced. Breakfast was 25 Euros per person for an average selection. However, no worries as there are many cafes and restaurants near the hotel. Our favorites were the Monte Carlo cafe and George V. The phone and coffee maker were unnecessarily complicated to use. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNetJoeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for giving us your feedback from your last stay.
We are really happy to see that everything went fine with the hotel.
Be sure that everything is done to improve the breakfast quality.
Hoping having the pleasure to welcome you back soon in Paris,

Kind Regards,

Christophe Falaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Champs Elysees Mac Mahon, which is right at the foot of the Arc de Triomphe. The Hotel was a little smaller than we thought but was very clean, the staff were very good and the rooms were very modern. The Hotel has been designed and furnished to a very high standard but there are no baths in the rooms as far as we know, but our bathroom had a large walk in shower. Our room had a lovely balcony as well that allowed perfect views of the Arc de Triomphe. We did not eat in the Hotel as we went to enjoy the typical Parisian restaurants rather than the Hotel bar but we did have a few drinks which were very nice. The only criticism is that they have a Nespresso machine in the room but did not re-stock the Nespresso pods each day so we needed to call to reception to ask for more pods, Overall we had a very enjoyable stay in the Hotel. If you are after a large hotel buzzing with people and lounges to sit and people watch this is not the hotel for you, however if you want a clean, modern hotel where the facilities are almost brand new, the staff are great and the location is perfect then you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinLlandaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe_falaise, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks to give us your feedback from your last stay with us. It helps us to improve our quality of service. The coffe machine is normally refilled every day, I will advise the housekeeper of your comment to make sure that this is done all the time. You're right saying that The Champs Elysees Mac Mahon is an intimate place, perfectly located at the foot of the arc de triomphe, what we are calling a boutique hotel!
Hoping welcoming you back soon here in Paris,

Kind Regards,

Christophe Falaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel, there was literally only one receptionist with one desk. We waited for about 20 inutes before she finished with her previous customer. When we were served, we went through the normal procedure and got our room key for the room we thought we booked,which was a deluxe room. But when we got in our room, we realised we were given a standard room. We assumed that this was just a mistake or accident and took this issue to the receptionist to sort out. However, it was what happened next that really made me furious and extremely disgusted at the lack of morale/ethic of the receptionist that worked at the hotel.

When I first enquired about the room mix up, she told me that there was no deluxe room available and that's why she offered us the standard room. However, I didn't understand why she didn't tell us that she automatically down graded our room. She didn't provide any response to that. I found this incredibly deceptive as if we didn't check the room type, the receptionist would have given us a poorer room than what we actually booked.

I further added that through our reservation, our deluxe room was guaranteed so I didn't expect rooms to be sold out. After another 10 minutes of waiting, she tried to use the following explanation to justify why she down graded our room from deluxe to standard. She mentioned that she has allocated the last deluxe room to another couple who supposedly paid more than we did (through JetSetter). I told her that I did not accept that reasoning and this is not my issue given that on our reservation confirmation, there was a confirmed deluxe room regardless of the price I paid.

The entire experience with the receptionist was extremely unpleasant as her reasoning and the manner which she dealt with the situation was unprofessional and lacked integrity. At the very end, the receptionist said she was going to change my room back to my original booking only because I was 'nice'. I was left speechless.

Overall, the checking in experience was incredibly underwhelming particularly given the recommendation by JetSetter which suppose to represents both quality and value. I would highly suggest JetSetter and all travellers to critically evaluate this hotel before booking.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the room you're given when you check in as the receptionist may automaticall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lohao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe_falaise, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to review. First I would like to really apologize for the check-in received. Every customer, whatever the way the booking was made, has to be welcome the same way and should received what he paid for. I completely agree with you and this is also the way we are usually working. Even if reservations are checked many times, a mistake could happen by allocating the wrong room on the arrival day, a date change for an in-house guest who was supposed to check-out and extend his stay for example can explain this. By the way this should be mentionned upon check-in if no change is possible. Be sure that your comment will help us to pay more attention and to make sure that this will not happen again in the future.
Do not hesitate to ask for a duty on service to help on site.
Hoping having the pleasure to welcome you back here,

Kind regards,

Christophe Falaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I absolutely loved this hotel. Don't let the small entry way fool you. The rooms are very comfortable with terrific linens and funky decor; the nespresso maker is a nice added touch to have, especially in the morning. Bathrooms are modern, functional and have wonderful rainfall shower heads. I truly had a great experience, but what I really loved about this hotel was the staff, incredibly helpful and very nice from morning to night. I did not want to leave....and will be sure to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms along Avenue Mac Mahon tend to be a little bigger and may have a view of the Arc de Triomphe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ny1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe_falaise, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Guest,

The entire team and I would like to thank you for your support by sharing your experience through this website. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we are hoping to see you back here soon.

Kind Regards,

Christophe Falaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with the cool interiors of the room I stayed in at the hotel. It had been newly redone in a funky, modern style with a great updated bathroom. The highlight was the automatic toilet, Japanese style! Drawback - the room was quite small with no real place to put a big suitcase which created some hassle. The location is excellent, right next to the Arc de Triomphe and a 2-minute walk from the very well-connected CDG Etoile Metro. Staff was friendly and helpful. A nice selection of newspapers at breakfast and a perfectly adequate breakfast in a sweet little breakfast room with a nice view completed the picture. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Arc de Triomphe while booking. The other rooms have no view, thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe_falaise, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to review the hotel after your stay. I am really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the bathroom and the japanese toilets suit you! I should recommand anyone to pay attention to our room category to get the right size needed.Do not hesitate to ask us to select the right room category for your stay.
Hoping having the pleasure to welcome you back here in a near future,

Best Regards,

Christophe Falaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Good location near Arc de triomphe and Champ Elysees, hotel facing a cafe ,Small from the outside but modern high tech hotel.reception has fresh flowers,with free internet in their small lounge for people without a laptop.Room are newly renovated,bathroom facilities are modern,state of the art,with towel warmer,and surround sound even in the bathroom,even a high tech toilet system that can clean your butt with water and dries you hands free,.Flat screen TV,espresso machine,.Shower is unbelievable, you can sit inside the bathroom while taking a shower.Bright make up lights in the bathroom,comfortable bed ,with big and fluffy bathroom robe and complimentary slippers,hotel has hi tech gadgets that guests are not accustomed to,they give user manual on how to operate it. Decor is unique as well as carpet colors are different.Curtains are stylish,you can open your window,with a very small veranda overlooking the Arc partial view.Reception are helpful and attentive,English speaking with an exception of one that speaks French.Taxi are easy to get,just ask the concierge.Over all excellent hotel .If you like spacious bathroom ,this is not for you.But I bet you will like this hotel.

Tips
1.If you are planning to take metro PLS guard your money/wallet and passports,wear a vest or money belt,lots of pickpockets around
2.To save money for taxi,flag one outside,ask the staff, if taxi is prebook they will use the meter as soon as they call,save you 5 euros.
3.breakfast is expensive 25 euros
4.for tours around Paris ,just go to Cityrama since they have specials and the office is near the Louvre,concierge can make the bookings
5.Buy tickets online for Eiffel tower,the wait is 2 hrs
6.City tour and night illumination are the same route,choose only one tour.
7.Be careful in Montmare,pickpockets again
8.Do not choose tour with hotel pickup ,you can go to cityrama ,costs only 10 euros per taxi one way,Eifeel 1o euros also
9.Book a Brugge Belgium day tour at Cityrama ,the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank isaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe_falaise, Directeur général at Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

It has been a pleasure welcoming you for your last stay in Paris. I should thank you for the complete described experience you had with us and some tours in Paris.
Your opinion matters and helps us to improve the quality of service.
Hoping having the pleasure to see you back soon,

Kind Regards,

Christophe Falaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Splendid Etoile Hotel
#82 of 1,802 in Paris
1,292 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#151 of 1,802 in Paris
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Celine
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Princesse Caroline
Hotel Princesse Caroline
#341 of 1,802 in Paris
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees

Property: Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Address: 3 avenue Mac Mahon, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Paris
#75 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#100 Family Hotel in Paris
#185 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Arc de Triomphe, in one of Paris' most prestigious district, the Champs Elysees Mac Mahon Hotel welcomes you in an Empire revisited. The Champs Elysees Mac Mahon Hotel is set in a beautiful Haussmann building and enjoys a fantastic location. This boutique hotel has unique interiors combining the best of contemporary design and 19th Century Empire style. Stay in one of the 35 rooms or 5 luxurious suites is an outstanding Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mac Mahon Hotel Paris
Mac Mahon Paris
Paris Macmahon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing