We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location being everything, this excels”
Review of Hotel Francois 1er

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Francois 1er
Ranked #179 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location being everything, this excels”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great hotel, comfortable feeling. Just seconds away from Metro George V on the Champs Elysees. Friendly & extremely helpful staff.
Rooms are well decorated, good size by french standards, very clean. I didn't even notice I hadn't slept in my own bed, which is saying a lot.

The bathroom is very much up to the hotel's standard (Quick aside: French plumbing never ceases to amaze me - knobs turning in haphazard directions etc - though not quite as much as bathrooms in the UK do, what with the odd carpeted loo etc.) & there's heaps of closet space. We were travelling light for the weekend, so no problem unpacking the suitcase, although I don't know what you would have done with two or more cases in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    171
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
69
337
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Francois 1er is located in a great location, a one or two minute stroll from the Champs Elysees (under 5 to the Arc de Triomphe). We arrived at the hotel at about 9am and were promptly offered a room to check into--certainly a nice touch after a long flight. Staff are friendly, and the rooms are of a decent size by European standards, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are well appointed. Well deserving of high rating among Paris hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangchenjunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel Francois 1er was ok compared to other hotels I've stayed at. The room was very small and if you wanted to order room service past 10pm then you're probably going to receive comments like "are you sure you want to order? It's so late!" Which I found to be a tad rude. The daytime staff were welcoming and great! It's in a good location off the main road which meant there wasn't any hustle or bustle outside and it wasn't a far walk to the stations or taxi stands. It's decently priced as well. It was ok staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have been travelling to Paris for the last 20 years and I have stayed in many Hotels and many districts, but the only Hotel I really feel at home at is Francois 1er. The hotel is a small cozy Hotel hidden on a small street a few steps away from Champs Elysees. The hotel is also in proximity of everything you need and a couple of Metro station. The Staff are very friendly and because it is a small Hotel you are recognized and greeted by name and "offered" (very unusual in Paris) a complimentary cup of coffee or tea for you and your guests in case you are sitting in the elegant Parisian reception. The rooms are different, each decorated in a different style, but all very elegant, cozy, and clean. The General Manager is always available during the day and the Staff are very friendly. I have asked them to recommend and reserve tables at Restaurants and they have always given me great advice. I don't even bother to go online and book a room, I just give them a call to tell them I am coming and they always give me the best rate. The breakfast is always included and it's very good. My advice is the following, if you are in Paris do not stay at an International Hotels, try the local treasures like this Hotel. Perfect for Business, Couples, Shopping etc. In my opinion not for children.

Room Tip: Ask for Hashmi at the reception or talk directly to the General Manager if you have any requests or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bassilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

After researching for months the best combination of price, comfort and location for our stay in Paris we decided on this hotel using the recommendations/rankings of this site. One of our best decisions. This hotel is close to everything, transit, bus tours, the Arc de Triomphe, Champs d'Elysees, shopping the and Mono Prix, (good source for food and wine to be used for an evening under the Eiffel Tower or by the River) within walking distance, but tucked away on a quiet little street to facilitate a good night sleep. Our entire experience was positive, and this boutique hotel made you feel liket you had an apartment in paris. The price was very good when compared to others in the area, and we recommend purchasing the included breakfast as part of your package as the food was fresh and plentiful and the staff in the dining area were very nice and attentive (the fresh bread and croissants, Oh la la). The front desk/concierge were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Their service was over the top, as we were moving to another hotel that we received as a wedding gift for our last two nights, they not only arranged that our bags stay at their hotel until our room was ready at the next one, they arranged transportation to the new hotel, and to the airport two days later for a very reasonable price, 60 euros for both. We regret not taking the name of the gentlemen that helped us our last day, but he represents his company very well, and makes you feel very welcome during your stay.

Janine & Mark

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We happened upon this beautiful little hotel when booking a package with Eurostar from London to Paris. We were really taken with the friendliness and concern of the front desk staff and the bellmen. So helpful and generous. Our room was cozy, spotless and luxurious. Amenities were lovely. The small bar, guest lounge and breakfast room are elegant and relaxing. The breakfast was beautifully laid out and would meet all appetites I'm sure. The hotel is in the Arc de Triomphe area 2 mins from George V and the Champs d'Elysses. Can't wait to stay here again. You cannot go wrong with this lovely and personal boutique hotel. It was all part our our wonderful Parisian experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: We were at the back but the street is quiet so any location is probably good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We made our second trip to this wonderful hotel and it's always top quality. Our friends had been here first and they told us how great service and location this hotel had. Between the time the Francois 1er had made some small renovations and all the matresses were brand new so we really rested well. We absolutely recommend this hotel. Staff, location and service are all top quality. Really worth of every euro!

Room Tip: We had a standard room which is just fine for Paris size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riitta i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#28 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#218 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
#386 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
#228 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#48 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Champs-Elysees
West-End Hotel
West-End Hotel
#47 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francois 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francois 1er

Property: Hotel Francois 1er
Address: 7 rue Magellan | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#157 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#192 Business Hotel in Paris
#297 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Francois 1er 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel with beautiful appointments set in restored townhouse dating from 1900 - 3 blocks to Arc de Triomphe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Francois 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francois 1er Hotel
Francois 1er Paris
Hotel Francois Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing