We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture
Ranked #352 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

When we checked into our room we were greeted by a near empty minibar containing a half drunken bottle of water and a loose light fitting swinging gently above one of the beds. The room was clean and cleaned regularly and was of a decent standard. However below what would be expected of a four star hotel. The walls were very thin and so you could hear discussions in adjacent rooms and we were woken up every morning by the tv in a neighbouring room. There was also a mix up over the breakfast buffet, which upon asking we had been told was free, but the extortionate fee had been added to our bill. We were also told wrong information about checkout which caused us to rush home early from a days sighseeing. Would not recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, General Manager at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Emily S,

first ando foremost I would liek to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

My team and myself would like to express our sincerest apologies for not having met your expectations this time.

We took into deep consideration your comments and would do our utmost to fix the incoveniences you experienced during your stay.

I will be more than happy to assist you personnally if you will give us the possibility to show you that we Worth your patronage as our guests wellbeing and satisfactions are our priorities.

Fell free to contact me personally at mcalderone@my-paris-hotel.com

We all remain at your disposal for any further assistance you might need.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

very reasonable hotel breakfast much better than expected staff were engaging and pleasant our room was clean and reasonably fitted, close to champs elysees in a nice area would return ,would say well priced to.

Room Tip: high floors are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, General Manager at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Lee C,

Thank you very much for choosing Clarion collection Etoile Saint Honore for your recent stay in the City of Lights.

It is with great pleasure that we learn how positive has been your stay with us and I will be glad to share it with my team.

Thank you for the tie you took for sharing your esxperience and look forward to the great pleasure of wlecoming you again to our property in the very next future.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Near from Champs Elysées, Arc de Triomphe and Parc Monceau.
Metro: near from Charles de Gaulle-Étoile, George V and Ternes, Monceau (+/-)
Free mini bar in the room (1 per 3 days) and every day, from 17:00 to 19:00, a nice surprise: snacks and drinks for free in the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Nothing to say about rooms with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, General Manager at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Fernando P,

We wish thank you for sharing your experience with this community and are happy that your enjoyed our exclusive offer with free minibar and tea time buffet.

We all look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel in the very next future.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during an anniversary trip. We were given a very nice room with a view of the Eiffel Tower. When we returned to our room after a day of museums and metros, we discovered a dozen roses, a bottle of champagne, and an anniversary card from the staff!

The hotel is in an excellent location and good neighborhood. Restaurants and metro stations are nearby. The rooms are large (by Paris standards), clean, and updated (e.g., good internet and amount of electrical outlets). The late afternoon reception (snacks and beverages) is a bonus! The staff members are personable and helpful.

I recommend this hotel highly and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotels in a back section may provide a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bullwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, General Manager at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Bullwak,

The whole team and I are really happy to read your wonderful feedback.

Thank you for rating us with 5 stars!

We knew that it was your birthday and we wanted to make your day for your pleasure and are glad to learn that you enjoyed our little surprise.

Thank you again for the time you took to share your comment with this community.

We look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back soon to our property and maybe this time with your daughter too!

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I want to send a big "thank you" to this hotel for being the only hotel on our entire trip that had the most perfect room for a family of 3. We travelled recently with our teenage son and this hotel had the most wonderful room configuration for a family. Our son had his own small alcove room and his own washroom/shower/toilet. It made our hotel stay so very comfortable. Everyone had their own space.

The front desk staff was very polite (a refreshing change for Paris) and helpful (ditto).

Now.. a warning... there is no restaurant in this hotel. They serve a lovely "afternoon tea" and they have a satisfactory breakfast buffet - but no restaurant. For us it didn't matter, as we were touring the area and wouldn't have eaten in the hotel anyway.

The bar fridge in the room is free and that's a nice bonus. We were in Paris for 4 nights and the fridge was only refilled once though. Only soft drinks and juice. No wine or beer.

Lovely hotel. The best room we had for our entire trip.

During the time of our trip there was some construction happening right next door. It didn't bother us because we were up and out the door early every day. I did hear some guests complaining about it to the front desk staff.

(P.S. - don't eat at the Italian restaurant next door, even if the hotel recommends it... the owners are horribly rude - food was okay but the two gentlemen who run the place couldn't care less if you came in or not and will - quite abruptly - correct you on both your Italian and French pronunciation. Not nice people at ALL. If I could remember the name of the place, I'd add a review, but this is the best I can do.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, General Manager at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Suderman,

Thank you for all the wonderful praises and thank you for giving us 5 stars!

I can’t wait to show your review to whole team: it will give them an extra motivation on their daily jobs.

The best present you could make to us is to send us such a feedback and I am proud that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed our tea time buffet as a part of our exclusive offer. The area offers a wide choice of restaurants which can accommodate every taste and food desire.

It will be a great pleasure welcoming you back to our property soon and do not hesitate to suggest our property to any of your friend of family; it will be a honor having them with us too and a pleasure to serve them as we did with you.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in late June. We loved the staff and the location was good, although I might try for a different location on another stay in Paris just to try a different area. We ate at several great cafes/brasseries in the area. We really enjoyed the hotel's tea service which begins at 5:30 PM, after a day of sightseeing the juices, tea or coffee, small sandwiches and especially the macarons were much appreciated. The breakfast was well stocked (tiny croissants - plain and chocolate!) and staff was attentive with coffee refills. The room and bathroom were kept very clean. We were easily able to use the hotel computer for guests to print out boarding passes. The staff arranged airport transportation for us and when we were anxiously waiting for a slightly late driver stuck in traffic they were calling to get updates.

Now for the minuses: the rooms and rugs could definitely use freshening. Around our door the paint was chipped and peeling badly. The paint was a very dark brown which showed every little ding. The rug (also a dark brown) was beaten down and worn looking. In one room (we booked 2 rooms for a family of 4 with 2 teens) we could not control the air conditioning, the room got warm and it didn't seem to improve after asking the staff to look at it. Fortunately it wasn't during a hot spell and an open window helped. Although we were on the quiet side facing inward, we did hear some construction noise on weekday mornings - however we were usually getting up right around that time. Without these minor things it would easily get to at least 4.5 for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, General Manager at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Debdeb,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm delighted to learn that you enjoyed our service and the attentiveness of our team.

Your comments are taken into deep consideration and regret not to have met your expectations at this time.

We are investing a lot in a renovation program of our in room amenities and furniture and hope to have the occasion to show you our progress during your next stay.

bein in the heart of the city means also that some noise might come from the outside area which unfortunately we cannot control.

Looking forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back soon to our property, we remain at your disposal for any assistance you might need.

Best regards

Marco Calderone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed this hotel 6/8-9/14. Staffs are so friendly n kind, specially Nadege n L Marion. They try to call to everywhere to reserve my Paris sightseeing. That time was on weekend n I had only half day for sightseeing. Thank you again to them for my Seine Cruise n Paris City tour.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hiedi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, General Manager at Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Hiedi N,

We thank you very much for you feedback.

We are exteremely happy to learn that our team made your trip to Paris a meroable one.

Nadège, our guest relation supervisor and Marion, our Front Office Manager, work on a daily basis to reach our guests satisfaction and were extremely happy to read about your feedback.

We all look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the very next future.

Thank you again and warmest regards!

Marco Calderone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Champs-Elysees Friedland by HappyCulture
Royal Garden Champs Elysees
#954 of 1,809 in Paris
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Magenta 38 by HappyCulture
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Plaza Elysees
Hotel Plaza Elysees
#492 of 1,809 in Paris
378 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
#461 of 1,809 in Paris
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture

Address: 214 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#235 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#330 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#412 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £100 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore is located on Rue du Faubourg St Honore, near the Place de l'Etoile and the Arc de Triomphe, and just afex minutes away from the Champs Elysees. It is a hotel that combines elegance and modernity in a very Parisian style. Each of the 85 rooms including 9 Junior Suite displays a very strong attention to detail and features cutting-edge technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Etoile Saint-Honore by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Etoile Saint Honore Hotel Paris
Best Western Etoile Saint Honore
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing