We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but don't expect a lot from this hotel”
Review of Mayflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayflower Hotel
Ranked #941 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good location, but don't expect a lot from this hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Mayflower Hotel is very well located, near Champs-Elysées and the Arc de Triomphe. The rooms, however, are clean but no more than functional. Breakfast is acceptable. A convenient place to stay, but not the place you would enthusiastically recommend .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familiaguerios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    63
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
50
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and i stayer here a while back and although the room is small and the bathroom is very small we loved the location. Its a short walk to the Arc de Triumph and the area on the champs elysees. Fairl close to the eifel tower and a long walk to the louve. Some great places to eat nearby. A nice contiental breakfast in the morning and polite staff. I felt it was a little over priced but then it is Paris.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTex62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed for about 9 days this past October with two other friends. Although it was a bit shabby, it was clean and the staff treated us very well. They were helpful each and every time we needed something. The bathroom was quite spartan but large so that two women sharing a room had plenty of counter space! As others have said, there is no shower curtain but I have found this in other hotels in Paris so I believe it is a common design. For the money, this hotel is in a great location and worked well for us. If you were planning on spending any time in your hotel, this would not be the best option but if you are up and out each morning and not back until late evening to sleep, it works!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkm2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The good the bad and the ugly...
Good: Location, location, location. A block away from the Champs Élysées near the Arc de Triomphe and the George V metro station. Great base to explore central Paris.
Bad: The rooms are tiny and shabby, uncomfortable bed, shower is a tub with a hose and no curtain. All you want to do is get the hell out of the room.
Ugly: obnoxious desk staff, and the ridiculously bad breakfast in a hot humid basement near some heating equipment.

While its location is fantastic, this is not a place you want to stay if you think you may be hanging out in the hotel for any period of time. And the staff is downright nasty...one front desk clerk took 20 minutes to call me a cab because he was busy doing sme paperwork in his closet like check in area.

My trip was last minute, so my travel agent struggled to find me a room near enough to where I needed to be for a business meeting. This was available so we threw the dice...now I know why every hotel in Paris was booked except for this one...tells you something.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Rue de chateaubriand, the other side of he hotel faces a dingy courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria,Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here June 9-12 and were frankly disappointed.We had stayed here
previously,in April 2002 and unless our memories were playing tricks on us we found that experience better than this most recent stay.My wife thought of the apt "shabby chic" description. The room appeared clean enough but always seemed leaning towards
grubby.The bed was clean and quite comfortable.The bathroom was large with 2 wash basins but neither plug worked properly so we constantly kept the water running.
The bath tub had a hand held shower head but no shower door which made showering
difficult.The tub plug did not work properly either.A breakfast tray was left outside one room and stayed there overnight ! The breakfast was just ok,limited choice,no fresh fruit and we had to pay an additional 12 euros each per day as apparently it was not included when I initially booked.
Location is excellent,just around the corner and close to the Arc de Triomphe.
The staff were friendly enough but I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed at the Mayflower Hotel in September 2009. It was in a great location just across from the Tuilleries Garden, not far from the Place de Concorde and a metro stop. The hotel was very clean, the room was a good size, bathroom was well appointed. The bed was comfortable. We had a room facing the front of the hotel and there always seemed to be something going on in the building across the street. It was mildly disruptive but nothing serious. We ate breakfast there one morning. They had a good selection and the food was tasty. The staff at the hotel was very accomodating. They made phone calls for us to make restaurant reservations, wake up calls, and advised on internet access issues in English - a plus for my husband and I who took a crash course in French but had a very limited vocabulary. All in all we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlsNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

It was a nice small hotel. The rooms were small as in most hotels in Paris.
The staff was very nice and kind.
The hotel was Good. Rating the hotel I could not rate it Very Good so consider the Average to be Good.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#733 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Residence Lord Byron
Residence Lord Byron
#1,113 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Romancier
Hotel du Romancier
#1,162 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel le Colisee
Hotel le Colisee
#920 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Chateaubriand
Hotel Chateaubriand
#1,038 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Arc Elysees
Hotel Arc Elysees
#641 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Hotel

Property: Mayflower Hotel
Address: 3 rue Chateaubriand, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #941 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the Arc de Triomphe - Located in the heart of Paris' prestigious 8th Arrondissement, the Hotel Mayflower offers a charming place to stay, in an ideal location, for all visitors to France's capital city. Only 5 minutes from the Champs-Elysees and a stone's throw from the Arc de Triomphe, our establishment offers all the services you need to make your stay a pleasant experience. In between the La Defense district (15 minutes away) and the major department stores on Boulevard Haussmann (10 minutes away), our hotel is ideally located for both the business and fashion sides of Paris. There are many transport links near to the Hotel Mayflower, making it very easy to discover Paris, with its museums, such as the Louvre or Orsay, its must-see landmarks, such as the Eiffel Tower and Sacre Coeur, its most iconic districts and more. Discover our typically Parisian hotel without delay. Behind the elegant Haussmanian facade you will find 24 single and double rooms. In a quiet atmosphere where calm and discretion reign, enjoy one of our comfortable rooms in which you can relax after a day visiting Paris or the surrounding region. With a contemporary decor, all rooms have a number of facilities: free Wi-Fi, flat-screen television with satellite channels, safe, mini-bar, etc. Guests are warmly welcomed at reception, which is open round-the-clock, seven days a week. Please don't hesitate to ask our team for any information you require during your stay in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing