We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Madeleine
Ranked #789 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was just an average hotel in a decent location. It was difficult for us to find from the train, but we finally made it. The elevator is very small and so I rode it up with our luggage while my boyfriend met me upstairs. The room was quite, quite tiny and the wifi was just so so. The "hallway" was so small that I thought I was in a doll house. But, the staff kept things clean. There is a couple of stores down the street and so we were able to stock up on drinks and fruit. The Louvre was not a far walk and neither was Rue di Rivoli.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We thank you for your comments. They are very useful for us because allow to have a perception of our customers. We are sincerely sorry not to be up to your expectations and ask you to accept our most sincere excuses
Indeed, our hotel of the Haussmann style has a lot of Parisian charm but the surface of rooms, corridors and elevators is lower than the modern constructions.
We hope we can welcome you again in our hotel soon and invite you to test our Privilege Rooms superior of surface.
Yours sincerely,
Barbara Naud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    322
    199
    66
    29
See reviews for
105
320
80
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When I arrived at the hotel after a very long trip, I have to say I was initially disappointed when I opened the door to my room and saw the size of it. Especially as I was sharing with another person. The couple that was traveling with us had also requested a standard room but there's was much bigger.
I queried about this at the front desk and they were more than happy to move us to a bigger standard room. I really liked this hotel, its not overly luxurious of course but they made up for it, with a spotless hotel, gracious staff and wonderful breakfasts. There's a safe in the rooms to lock up your personal belongings and the rooms are cleaned daily. The staff was also very happy to help with directions and fun activities to try during our stay.
I would recommend it to anyone traveling to paris

Room Tip: If the standard rooms seem TOO small. It probably is. Request a larger standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for having taken time by writing your very positive comments on our hotel. I pass on them naturally to all my team. You had a nice stay with us and we are glad for it. Know that your appreciation encourages us and motivates us. Thank you still.

Your Sincerely.
Barbara Naud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

在巴黎的购物中心,出入非常方便.酒店是旧式建筑,房型偏小,尤其是电梯,非常迷你.工作人员都很友善. Located in the center of Paris.It's quite easy to access to most of the shopping areas. The hotel is in an ancient building, so the rooms are in the small size, especially the elevator,quite mini.The staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DaisyW317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for having taken time by writing your very positive comments on our establishment. I transmit them of course to all my team. Know that your appreciation encourages us and motivates us. Thank you again.
Your sincerely,
Barbara Naud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

After a bad experience in a standard room during my last stay (clogged shower, couldn't shower in my room, I was suggested to take a shower in someone else's room after they'd left!!), I wrote a mail expressing my concern about having at least a working shower for the price I had to pay.

I had an almost immediate reply, expressing their apologies for the last time and they offered me a free upgrade to a superior room. These rooms are really excellent! Very clean and spacious, and no complaints at all about the room. Excellent action in changing my opinion on your hotel!

A small note of comment: breakfast trays for cheese and fruit and so on were mostly empty, no glasses for the juice, the breakfast accomodation juist seems too small to handle the morning crowd

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

This small word to thank you for your comments. You appreciated your last stay in our Privilege Room and we are delighted. We also took note on the service of the breakfast and will transmitted well to the concerned department. We hope we can welcome you again in our hotel and in a Privilege Room very soon.
Yours sincerely
Barbara Naud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#405 of 1,802 in Paris
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordelia
Hotel Cordelia
#678 of 1,802 in Paris
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
#350 of 1,802 in Paris
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Concortel
Hotel Concortel
#477 of 1,802 in Paris
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedford Hotel
Bedford Hotel
#529 of 1,802 in Paris
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Madeleine

Property: Hotel Royal Madeleine
Address: 29 rue de l Arcade, 75008 Paris, France (Formerly Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#392 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Royal Madeleine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing