We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie
Ranked #763 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Vancouver Island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a quiet location”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We were first time visitors to Paris and stayed 7 nights at Mecure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie.
Overall I would have to say we were very happy with our stay.

From Charles de Gaulle CDG airport the hotel was easy to get to by train/metro . Just
take the RER B train to Gare du Nord station and transfer to the # 5 Metro which
terminates at Place d'Italie . Take the Italie 2 exit and if you are facing the Italie 2
shopping centre the hotel is located on the 3rd street to your right .The one way fare
was just over 9 EUR .

This is not a tourist part of Paris , but more of a local residential and business area .
Place d'Italie is very busy but the hotel is located on a quiet street and even then it
is set back from the street . We loved the area and it had everything that we needed
during our visit . The Italie 2 shopping centre has 130 stores and even a Club Med gym
if you want to work off those croissants . There is a Carrefour Market located in the
shopping centre which is huge by Paris standards and has everything you could need
or want during your stay . If you need there is also a coin laundry a couple blocks from
the hotel .

Place d'Italie Metro station as others have mentioned has 3 lines that transit it 5,6 & 7 .
We found these 3 metro lines got us everywhere in Paris we wanted to go with very
few problems . I found the Paris metro very easy to use , efficiant and well marked with
signs . Do yourself a favour if you are in Paris for any length of time and purchase a Paris
Metro Pass . They can be purchased for 1,2,3 or 5 days and save having to figure out
the cost and then finding the change . We bought the 5 day Metro pass for around
29 EUR and it was the best thing we did,the pass also gives you discounts at various
Paris sites .

As I mentioned the hotel is located on a very quiet street so we never found noise
to be an issue . Our room faced the small courtyard and this had to be one of the
quietest hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was was small which we expected
but it was comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay . We used the
mini-bar fridge for our own food/drinks and it was nice to have the coffee maker.
The bathroom was compact but functioned well even and the rain shower was
refreshing.The room did not have a clock and the hotel does not have an ice machine which is quite common in Europe . The hallways could use a coat of paint and new carpet but we didn't sleep in the halls. TV lovers have only BBC news as the engish channel ,we were not in Paris to watch TV .

Unless you are a big eater skip the breakfast , at 16 EUR over priced for what they are
offering . We tried it twice and they do offer all the basics in a small breakfast room which
looks out onto a nice courtyard .There is a great bakery one block from the hotel which
sells fresh croissants for 1 EUR as well as many other great things .

All the hotel staff were nice and the front desk was always happy to answer any questions we had and speaking english was not a problem .

We really have no complaints about our stay at this hotel. You will not find luxury if you stay here but a small , quiet , clean room that will suit the needs of most people . We loved the area and the hotel because we got to see a side of Paris away from all the tourists and just hang out with the locals . Merci Paris !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisinycd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Many thanks for your nice comments regarding our hotel: I'm happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us!
Yours comments are very important to us, in order to improve our quality of service.
See you on your next visit to Paris,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    327
    102
    37
    10
See reviews for
52
316
57
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Nice location, quiet and confortable... but my advice would be to take your breakfast outside as hotel only propose a very poor choice of food for the breakfast for 15 Euros...
We were staying in a room with view on Eiffel Tower... very nice view and very confortable bed... Room not so big but we were out all day long so it was big enough

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay.
Whether positive or negative, comments from our guests are very valuable to our hotel as they allow us to improve our service and operations for the future.
We are very happy that you enjoyed the view and the bedding: we pride ourselves on offering the best possible accommodations. I'm sorry you found that the choice of food at the breakfast buffet was poor: we are offering a full American buffet with cold, hot and even organic products in order to please every palates...
Looking forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Paris,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The hotel is quite small one but it meets all the basic needs for the few days stop in Paris. It is ideally located in the 13th arrondissement of Paris and just few minutes from the subway station Place d'Italie (served by lines 5, 6 and 7). The hotel is in a nice neighborhood and it is a place for going out at night.

The hotel lobby is small but modern and functional. Personnel are friendly and helpful, know basic languages and how to assist you to get around the city. You get to your room with an elevator. On the corridors interior continues in line with lobby area, only the carpets have seen better days.

The hotel room was Scandinavian style but tiny. It had free Wi-Fi connection, small LCD-TV, security box, minibar, kettle (+ coffee/tea) and air-conditioning. Bed was comfortable with nice bed linen, pillows and duvet. Bathroom was a good size with hair dryer, self-heated radiator for towels and basic toiletries but no air-conditioning. The room was cleaned everyday very well.

Breakfast had the basics, nothing fancy there, but ran out of food one hour before closing time. Tables were small in the breakfast area,so, one expects from the waiter to clean up used dishes during a breakfast, which never happened.

All that said, I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay, commentsfrom our guests are very valuable to our hotel as they allow us to improve our service and operations for the future!
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel: please note that the carpets in the corridors are actually planned to be changed at the beginning of 2012 to offer a prettier decor in common areas upstairs. I'v well noted your comments regarding service at breakfast and the necessary measures have already been taken with staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Paris,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This hotel is quite good in one sentence. Situated in a calm and safe neighberhood, next to a subway station, a shopping mall and many restaurants, pharmacies etc. makes it the perfect choice balancing the price with the location. Ok, you can't walk to the Eiffel tower or the Louvre museum but you have a metro station were you can transport directly there without changing a line in 15 min.
The hotel is probably rennovated recently because everything in the rooms is new and shiny. Standard sized rooms with big bathrooms that have a hair dryer and a heated towel holder. Nice beds with good matresses and the quiet environment are ensuring a good night's sleep. All the areas are very clean and the personnel friendly and helpful.
The only thing that was mediocre, was the breakfast. The buffet had few stuff and no fresh vegetables. They were replenishing the foods really slow and the buffett was looking empty most of the times. The waiter eventhough he had few tables to take care of, didn't take the used plates from the tables only until the people left from the room. That's the only thing in the hotel that should be improved...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geogreek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Many thanks for your nice comments regarding our hotel: I'm happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us!
Regarding service at breakfast, please be sure that the corrective measures have been taken and training has been updated... your comments are very important to us, permitting to improve our quality of service.
See you on your next visit to Paris,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Spent five nights at the Mercure Gobelins Place d'Italie. Visiting from the US, so were prepared for the room to be very small. Adequate space for two people, but we did trip over each other often. WiFi was spotty in our room, dropped out on laptops and phones semi-frequently (we were on the fifth floor). Area was in a nice neighborhood, lots of places to eat, a food store/shopping mall close by, metro right around the corner. Bathroom was a good size, but the ledge for the tub was quite high and being short, I had to clutch the counter to get in and out. Breakfast had a great selection, but the fussy man who was running the breakfast room the dates we were there wasn't very pleasant or helpful. There were two ladies there our last morning who were fantastic, though!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AutumnBookOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, I'm happy to hear that our hotel has met your expectations!
I will inform breakfast team members about your feed back and make sure that everyone take pride in being helpful and pleasant with every guest.

Looking forward to welcoming you for your next stay in Paris,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I thought the hotel was too expensive given the standard of the room. I also stayed in Brussels at the Marriott for Euro149 per night with a better standard of room. In addition, my reservation stated I would have a view of the the Eiffel Tower which I did noit but I did not receive a discount.
I would not stay there again for the same price. Too expensive considering the standard of the room

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Guest,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me by phone on 00 33 1 43 36 62 00 or by e-mail at h1969@accor.com : I would need your arrival date, and name in order to inquire and take the corrective measures if necessary.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Room: Small but functional, minimalistic/contemporary touch. Comfortable bed, in-room security box, coffee/tea, refrigerator, AC, self-heated towel rack in bathroom. Met all expectation.

Wi-Fi: Free. Do ask for multiple userids/passwords if you have more than one device.

To & from Gare du Nord (EuroStar arrival): Easy departure from Gare du Nord to Place d"Italie on Metro Line 5, about a 30-minute ride with no transfer.

Location/getting around: In quiet residential area (arrondissement 13). Metro Place d'Italie is on one end of Metro Line 5, it is also a transfer point for Metro Line 6 and 7; budget about 20-30 minutes to major sightseeing sites from Metro Place d'Italie. Less than 5 minutes easy walk from metro to hotel.

Other: 1) Helpful and friendly staff. 2) Many eating options (cafes, restaurants) in area, there is also a decent shopping mall (Centre Commercial building on Avenue Italie) on south end of Place d'Italie where the local shops; a good size supermarket is in this building too.

Bottom line: Not a fancy place, it meets all my basic needs satisfactorily. Would return and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sghtsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice comments, we're glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us!
Looking forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Paris,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Mercure Paris Place d'Italie
Mercure Paris Place d'Italie
#715 of 1,801 in Paris
170 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Ibis Paris Avenue d'Italie 13eme
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Citadines Place d'Italie Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Timhotel Paris Place D'Italie
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#130 of 1,801 in Paris
329 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Best Western Paris Italie
Best Western Paris Italie
#1,235 of 1,801 in Paris
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie

Property: Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie
Address: 8 B avenue de la Soeur Rosalie, 75013 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#388 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#502 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benefiting from direct access to the Gare du Nord, Lyon and Montparnasse railway stations, the Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie reveals a well preserved setting between the garden terrace and the view of the Eiffel Tower. Two steps from the Place d'Italie Metro hub, relax in a designer room with a serene and peaceful atmosphere. In the quietness of the private garden, relax during your business trip or at the end of the day of cultural visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, ACCOR, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d`Italie Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing