We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie
Ranked #799 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but tiny rooms”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in May 2014 for 7 nights. Our room was incredibly small (the type you wouldn't dare try to swing your cat around in), but everything else was okay. We had a perfect view of the Eiffel Tower, so the small room size was, to a large degree, forgotten about. This hotel is in area 13, which is a very quite area for Paris standards, but a godsend after a full day of sightseeing. The cleaning staff did a fantastic job and it was nice to return each evening to a clean room. The reception staff were very approachable, helpful and remanded polite throughout our stay. The hotel has a 3 star rating and I personally think, that is about the right rating. Paper cups and wooden stirrers is what the hotel issues, which we found a little curious. We wouldn't stay at this hotel again due to the very small room size and the quiet location (area 13).

Room Tip: Make the effort to find out the room sizes before you confirm your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RtjL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having taken the time to comment your stay with us, I'm happy to read that you've enjoyed the view from your room as well as the cleanliness of the hotel and the kindness of our reception team!
I've well noted your comment regarding the paper cups in the room: we've actually chosen a disposable cup as it allow guest to use it for a drink to go (with the lid we're providing together with it). I'm sorry if you found that a little curious, and I do hope that it makes sens now!

I'm also sorry to read that you wouldn't chose to come back to our hotel because you found the room not to be large enough: it's unfortunately the case for many big city centers, like London or NYC...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    319
    102
    37
    10
See reviews for
51
310
56
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zedelgem, Belgium
Level Contributor
167 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Towels were similar to all cheap bed&breakfast I been! room was fine, bathroom ok, Bed not the most comfortable, probably old. location i since BUT careful if you need the parking, hotel parking is ONLY for small cars! I couldn't get in. Staff were friendly and helpful. NO water offer. NO welcome drink Offer as Gold member! no restaurant but they are some brasserie around. Where you can also have a breakfast fro less money. Ground floor very noisy the door!!!

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Madam,

By answering our questionnaire, you have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and were really impressed. The bed was huge and very comfortable, fantastic view of the Eiffel Tower and friendly staff. It's in a nice area only a couple of minutes from a great metro line and a nice stroll from the south bank/Mouffetard. It's exceptionally quiet - we even had our window open one night and weren't disturbed by any noise at all

Only slight niggle was the small bathroom - the shower was quite powerful and water did go on the floor each time.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor with a fantastic view of the Eiffel Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Be assured that satisfying our customers is chief among our priorities and we are truly happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for your comment, we hope to welcoming you again on your next trip to Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you want a nice quiet stay, away from the city centre of Paris, this hotel is perfect for you. A Metro station is conveniently located 2 minutes away from the hotel. This metro station has connections to all major attractions, the metro line to the Eiffel Tower takes about 15 minutes. The hotel is also conveniently located next to a big shopping centre which has a Carefour Supermarket for all necessities. There is a variety of great restaurants nearby the hotel, which are relatively inexpensive.

The staff in the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful with all inquires e.g inquires about Metro stops. Also, the hotel provides free WiFi, passwords were given on arrival.

The hotel is very clean, the rooms are cleaned daily, fresh towels etc.

The continental breakfast is very satisfying, with a good variety on offer.

We where lucky enough to have a room with a good view of the Eiffel Tower, which looks beautiful at night.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owl142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
It's such a pleasure to hear that we have met your expectations and that you've spent a pleasant stay with us, and also that you've enjoyed the great view over Paris from your room!

Our teams work hard to provide a good quality of service and it's very motivating for every one of us to hear positive feedbacks.

Thank you for your kind comments and hopefully, see you on your next trip to Paris,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beselich, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

like the most Mercure standard, but in Paris this is a very good value for the price.
Beautiful Eiffel Tower view from the room, better than usual french breakfast, free wifi, nice and less expensive restaurants around, close to the Metro, etc.
Not in the city centre, but public transports nearby - just a few minutes to the centre.
Very, very good and much better than the 'usual' Paris Hotels!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Many thanks for your nice comments regarding our hotel: I'm happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us!

Yours comments are very important to us, in order to improve our quality of service.

See you on your next visit to Paris,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in total and the hotel was perfect for our needs.
We had a room opposite the lifts on the 1st floor but had no noise from the lift at all.
Staff were very polite and spoke some English which helped as i only speak basic French!
Room was tidy and very clean, no issues at all regarding that.
The only potential downside for other people could be the location - it is slightly out of the city centre but with an excellent Metro system in Paris, it is really easy to get around with 3 different lines passing through the station just outside the hotel.
Highly recommended & will be sure to use this hotel again - many thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your very positive review about your stay: I'm more than happy to read that you've enjoyed your parisian experience!
It's a pleasure to know that you spent a great time with us,

Thank you for having chosen the hotel Mercure Gobelins and I hope to see you soon in Paris!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauriac, France
Level Contributor
376 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Well located for south bank attractions. Comfortable beds and a quiet cul de sac location made for a good nights sleep. My mum's room had a tiny separate toilet and it was claustrophobic. The breakfast was overpriced at 16 euros. There is an excellent breakfast at l'entracte restaurant around the corner on ave gobelins for same price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I''m happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our bedding and the quietness of our rooms!

I've well noted that you prefered to take your breakfast in a nearby café but I would like to inform you that you cannot compare its cost with ours as we are not offering a basic breakfast café menu but an all-you-can-eat buffet with a wide spread of quality products (Nespresso coffee, home cooked scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, organic cereals, several choices of breads and viennoiseries, cheese platter, fresh fruits....). Besides, for light morning eaters we also offer a 8€ Express & Co formula with a hot drink, a fruit juice and either bread, butter and jam or croissants!

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in Paris,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Mercure Paris Place d'Italie
Mercure Paris Place d'Italie
#780 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Ibis Paris Avenue d'Italie 13eme
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Citadines Place d'Italie Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Timhotel Paris Place D'Italie
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#166 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Mercure Paris Alesia
#627 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie

Property: Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie
Address: 8 B avenue de la Soeur Rosalie, 75013 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#393 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#502 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benefiting from direct access to the Gare du Nord, Lyon and Montparnasse railway stations, the Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie reveals a well preserved setting between the garden terrace and the view of the Eiffel Tower. Two steps from the Place d'Italie Metro hub, relax in a designer room with a serene and peaceful atmosphere. In the quietness of the private garden, relax during your business trip or at the end of the day of cultural visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d`Italie Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing