We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood location/atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie
Ranked #828 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood location/atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We really enjoyed being in the neighborhood surrounding this hotel - quiet and low key but easy to access the entire city through the local metro station. Hotel staff was friendly and attentive. Rooms are small but it isn't an issue when you're out exploring most of the day. Hotel entrance is back from the street through a small courtyard and there are several outdoor spaces worth relaxing in. There's a shopping center on the traffic circle with a pretty good diversity of stores and many small restaurants/cafes in the area (and if all else fails, there's a McDonald's). There are a couple of grocery stores in walking distance and a pharmacy on the circle. We never had a concern re: safety - always people out and about. And yes, we could see the Eiffel Tower from our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guests,

It's a real pleasure to read how much you've enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back at Mercure Gobelins very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    322
    102
    37
    10
See reviews for
52
312
56
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This wasn't your typical big city hotel. It's very quiet, no bar or restaurant but lovely little court yard where you can drink wine etc or have breakfast. Nice view of Paris & Eiffel Tower & room very functional. Beds very comfortable & staff friendly... Very chilled after a day of battling the crowds, would recommend but it is a good 20/30 mins in to centre although metro every 5 mins & very easy...

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RicksterinTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I'm happy to read that you've enjoyed our hotel and its great quietness, right in the centre of Paris.
Indeed, we do not have a bar, nor a restaurant in the hotel but we do have fully stocked mini-bars in guests rooms and a large room-service menu: you are welcome to enjoy it in our lovely garden!
Shall you prefer to be part of the local life, there are plenty of cafés, bars and brasseries within a very few minutes walk from our hotel! Place d'Italie is a vibrant and lively parisian district!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and having caught the first flight from London to Orly we arrived at the hotel just after 10.30 not expecting to be able to check but to deposit our bags and grab a coffee before heading off. We were shown to the breakfast room which had stopped serving but the waiter produced two large cups of coffee and some warm croissants. When we left asking to pay they refused and after thanking them we went back to the lobby and were told that our room would be ready in 5 minutes!
Altogether a great place to stay in Paris

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th or 7th floor with a view across the city including Sacred Coeur, Eiffle to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samjr1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your second stay with us!

Thank you for your loyalty to the Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie and we hope to welcome you back in Paris soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very good location on a quiet side street which is well located in an area with a great shopping mall, restaurants, patesseries, etc. There is an ATM machine close at the HSBC bank in the square close by. We felt reasonably safe even after dark as Place d Italie square is well lit with lots of locals and tourists around.
Very busy area yet the Mercure hotel is quiet and beds are comfy and clean with no ugly dirty bedspreads. Bathrooms have tub and modern shower. Clean again.
Staff were all friendly and knowledgeable. Sophie in particular was a total sweetheart willing to help all she could when my daughters purse was stolen on the metro at Denfort Rochereau station when we were on our way to the hotel. It was during morning rush around 9 am. Thank goodness Sophie was on and guided us to the local police station (closeby)and called the embassy for us. She was fantastic and helped to restore our faith in fellow humans at that point!
Be wary of young teenage girls who work in pairs. One pushes you and as you're stumbling to get on the metro train, another beside you grabs your purse. It happens so fast that the doors close and before you know it they jump off the train and are gone. By the time you can react, the train is moving. The police told us that it is a common, slick move that they are very adept and practised at. Forget the purse for valuables...use a waist wallet for passport, money and credit cards. Replacing a passport is very expensive and time consuming.
On a lighter note, our breakfast was included at the hotel and we only expected some fruit and croissants but were pleasantly surprised with eggs, bacon, sausage, cold cuts, yogurt, fruit (fresh, dried & preserved) pastries, breads, pancakes, etc. Coffee was delicious with hot milk, but there were several choices of morning joe available.
We would most definitely stay there again. Can't wait to return next year and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokaybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guests,

It's with great pleasure that I see that you've enjoyed your stay with us and that we've been up to your expectations despite this sad experience in the Metro transportation...

We're looking forward to welcoming you again for an hopefully happier parisian escapade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is in an inside court, 100m from place d'Italie, very well situated on the left bank. The hotel is calm, service is perfect. Rooms are not that spacious, but remember that we are in Paris. Beingfar from the street, rooms are very silent at nights.
Breakfast is great all th emore if you are happy enough to have good weather and are able to enjoy outdoor tables.
I had a very good price for the room, and enjoyed the place. I would definitively recommend it, all th emore that I know of many mediocre places in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay, commentsfrom our guests are very valuable to our hotel as they allow us to improve our service and operations for the future!

Looking forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Paris,

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

LOCATION: This is in arrondissement13, at metro stop Place d'italie. For those that appreciate value on a budget this is a great location. Our Frommer's Book was a little down on this arrondissement, but I have to say, the area was pretty nice. We tried two restaurants near the hotel and the food was good in both places (La Manufature, Monte Cassino). There is also a large shopping center (mall) nearby. It does not take too long to get where you want to go via the metro.

Regarding the metro, there are two entrances to the metro near the hotel. When buying your metro passes, you want the entrance near the shopping center; you cannot buy the metro passes at the other entrance. Also when purchasing the passes, the vending machine will only accept a "Chip" card with a PIN or CASH. We had to pay with cash, but the machines would not take bills greater than 20.00 euro and the local HSBC ATM only dispensed 50.00 euro bills. The hotel helped us out by breaking the 50's at the desk but buying the Metro passes ended up being a bit more of a challenge than we expected!

ROOMS: The room was very comfortable for us, not particularly large but we weren't tripping over each other. The bed was very comfortable. There is a separate bathroom (one for the shower/sink, the other for the toilet) which is a nice feature. The rooms had a safe, hair drier, towel warmer, fridge/mini-bar, TV. WiFi was provided free and had a strong signal. Many rooms will have a view of the Eiffel Tower.

QUIET: The hotel was very quiet. The hotel is located on a quiet side street and the rooms face a courtyard so it was quiet enough to sleep with the window open! I was also a little concerned that our room was next to the stairs and elevator but we never heard a sound. Also did not hear our neighbors. I don't know if we were just lucky, but the hotel was very quiet which made for excellent sleeping conditions!

FOOD: Breakfast was very good. There were pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon available each day. They also had fresh eggs you could boil (make a 3 minute/soft boiled/hard boiled egg), tea, coffee, a variety of pastries, cereals, cheeses, deli meats. There was not a great selection of fruits, but otherwise we were very happy with the breakfast. The staff was very busy clearing tables and replenishing food as needed. The music they play during breakfast had kind of a "club" base thump to it which was a little weird for breakfast but it was not loud enough to be annoying.

STAFF: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The desk helped us out of a jam on our first morning when we needed to break a couple of 50's to buy metro passes. They also provided us with a restaurant referral (La Manufacture) on our first night and the restaurant was perfect.

Room Tip: Our room was 407 and had a view of the Eiffel Tower although you have to stand at the window and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTMChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It's always a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with stay and that we have been able to meet your expectations!
Thank you for your very positive feedback that has been shared with all our team,

Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next parisian trip...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and have recommended this hotel to others booking trips to Paris. I was so pleasently surprised when I looked out my window and was able to see the Eiffel Tower! The view was just stuning at night when the Eiffel Tower glistens.
The hotel is not in the middle of the tourists spots but it is very close to the Metro. There are also many great restaurants within walking distance.
The room was clean and bigger than I expected. This was my first time in Europe and heard about how small hotel rooms were. This was not the shoe box I was expecting.
My one complaint (and I would say this for all 5 hotels I stayed in during my trip) is that the shower door isn't long enough and water gets everywhere. Not too big of an issue, as long as you don't leave your clothes/shoes on the floor after undressing.
If I ever go back to Paris I would stay at the Mercure Paris Gobelin Place d'Italie again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGobelins, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.
It's with great pleasure that I see that you've enjoyed your stay with us and that we've been up to your expectations!

Looking forward to welcoming you again shall you come back to Paris!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Mercure Paris Place d'Italie
Mercure Paris Place d'Italie
#729 of 1,802 in Paris
159 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Ibis Paris Avenue d'Italie 13eme
Gobelins
Timhotel Paris Place D'Italie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Citadines Place d'Italie Paris
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#152 of 1,802 in Paris
286 reviews
Mercure Paris Alesia
#648 of 1,802 in Paris
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie

Property: Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie
Address: 8 B avenue de la Soeur Rosalie, 75013 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#406 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#502 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benefiting from direct access to the Gare du Nord, Lyon and Montparnasse railway stations, the Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie reveals a well preserved setting between the garden terrace and the view of the Eiffel Tower. Two steps from the Place d'Italie Metro hub, relax in a designer room with a serene and peaceful atmosphere. In the quietness of the private garden, relax during your business trip or at the end of the day of cultural visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d'Italie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Gobelins Place d`Italie Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing