We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Manufacture

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Manufacture
Ranked #257 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed at the hotel for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed staying at La Manufacture. The rooms are quite small, but the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms fine (good water pressure - something that proved to be a problem in other hotels), the air conditioning is excellent, and the staff even 'excellenter'. The staff are probably the best thing about the hotel: nothing is too much trouble; they speak flawless English; and they have a great understanding of where tourists want to go and how best (and when) to get there. The hotel's location is just outside the Latin Quarter and rue des Gobelins, the closest major street, is full of nice restaurants and good bars. If you're in Paris on a bit of a budget, I don't think you could do any better than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Anne-Sophie Gonzales at La Manufacture, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to give us your impressions about your stay
we are very pleased to see that you did like the area.
I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit to Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    605
    104
    21
    7
See reviews for
183
727
94
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

It is important to remember that generally hotels are expensive in Paris and rooms are very small.
La Manufacture was great value for money. It was not expensive and although our room was small, it was not nearly as small as what we have had in Paris in the past.
The room was clean and very functional.
The staff could not have been more helpful and even helped us to remember some useful French phrases.
A light continental Breakfast was include and this was quite adequate.
The location could not have suited us better as it was close to the metro in the Latin Quarter and there was a range of good restaurants close.
When returning to Paris, I would certainly go back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who does not want to pay a lot of money for a hotel but wants something spotless and friendly with good access to Paris sights.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms when booking. Avoid a corner room as these are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cressida_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Anne-Sophie Gonzales at La Manufacture, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found the hotel clean and with a helpful staff and that you appreciated the neighborhood and the location.
Your very kind words have been appreciated by the staff and I sincerely thank you on behalf of each of them.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for three nights recently and had a lovely time. The staff were friendly and helpful, they gave us a map, recommend restaurants in the area and recommend a boat trip on the river seine which was lovely and we could buy tickets from the hotel which was great! They spoke good English which was helpful. The room was lovely, although on the small side, and was cleaned daily. The area was nice and had lots to do and easy access to Paris via the metro. The hotel was also happy to store our luggage on checkout whilst we went out. Overall the hotel is lovely as are the staff and i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavannahDix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Receptionist at La Manufacture, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Good evening,
We thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay in our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time in Paris and that you liked the location of the hotel.
Our staff always tries to do his best for our guests; it is much appreciated when it is noticed. We thank you for that.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit to Paris.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Fantastic staff, clean and it was a beautiful balcony. A little small room, but it was no problem. Good location. I liked the area so much. I am very pleased. I will come back for another stay in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twestby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Anne-Sophie Gonzales at La Manufacture, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive comment on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us
It is always a pleasure to read our guest comments and see that the hotel facilities, the location were appreciated. But overall, I especially thank you for noticing and writing on the personalized service we give at Hotel La Manufacture. We really want our guest to feel home away from home as much as possible and more as a Parisian than a tourist.
Your very kind words have been appreciated by the staff and I sincerely thank you on behalf of each of them.
I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit to Paris or to welcome your family and friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend from 16th-19th July. In a quiet side street just off Les Gobelins, behind local government offices at Place d'Italie.

SERVICE
Really good - staff very friendly - helpful with directions, maps and recommendations. Rooms were refreshed daily and hotel was also happy to store baggage at the start and end of stay.

VALUE
Stayed on a three night deal which was excellent value and made it a little cheaper than similarly rated hotels in Paris. Also local area had food and drink options for all budgets.

SLEEP QUALITY
Beds were comfortable with extra pillows available. Really quiet hotel, generally quiet area, lots of traffic around Place d'Italie but not enough to keep you awake. Our room was very warm, the air con was out of service, but a portable unit was provided and kept us quite cool in the 30-32oC temperatures

CLEANLINESS
Pretty much spotless. Room cleaned and towels changed daily. Corridors and reception areas were immaculate, as was outside the hotel itself

LOCATION
Hotel is located in 13e, about 1 min walk from Place d'Italie which has a metro station with three lines - most of the main attractions (Eiffel/Louvre/Arc d'Triomph) can be reached directly within 20-30 mins. Our longest trip involved 3 metro lines and about 40 mins. Buses also leave from the local area, but we didnt try them. Food and drink wise there are a multitude of options within 5 mins walk - from McDonalds and KFC to cafes and good quality restaurants on Avenue des Gobelins. There is also a decent sized supermarket up behind the hotel.

ROOMS
Clean, tidy, basic, small (as normal for Paris). Really good powerful shower in a small bathroom. Decent sized TV as well.

Restaurant
Didnt eat in the hotel but buffet breakfast was available at €13pp per day. Ate breakfast at a little cafe just down the road, set price deal under €8.

OVERALL
Nice, clean, tidy hotel which fitted the bill perfectly as a base for exploring Paris. The local area is safe at night and even all those eating options too.

Room Tip: Only tip would be if staying in summer make sure you get a room with an air con unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross81UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Anne-Sophie Gonzales at La Manufacture, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Ross,

I thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Paris and, that you found the hotel pleasant, comfortable and well located.

Thank you for the kind words you had for the staff that is always much appreciated.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit to Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at La Manufacture for four nights, three of us, two rooms in total. I am not familiar with this part of Paris, but after a short (10m) taxi ride from Gare de Lyon we were pleased to find a pleasant area, well-connected, with a good selection of restaurants and cafes nearby.

The hotel itself is small but very well-presented. The reception is bright and there were newspapers in several languages available every day. We didn't try the breakfast as we ventured out to find a boulangerie most mornings.

As one would expect, the rooms were small, but not ridiculously so (regular visitors to Paris will know the "room the size of a bed" experience). There is a small desk, good thick curtain and apart from some door slamming noise, it was quiet and we slept well. As other reviewers have said, the air conditioning did not function, but we were lucky with the weather during our trip.

Something I have seen before, and still don't understand in these Paris hotels, is the lack of a shower curtain or screen. It means that the bathroom floor inevitably gets soaked every time you take a shower. Apart from that everything was in order; compact bathroom but decent shower, plenty of hot water, towels and toiletries supplied.

Where La Manufacture really excelled was the reception counter service. Despite being busy with check-ins, -outs and phone calls, the lady who helped us most days (Nadine) was patient and very helpful. As a native English speaker with only intermediate French, I am always impressed by people who can fluently speak four languages and switch between them perfectly.

I had made a mistake with our reservation, having us leave a day early, but Nadine fixed this for us, at the same rate with no need to change rooms. I don't usually name names in TripAdvisor reviews, but suffice to say, we were thoroughly impressed with the efforts this lady and her team went to to help us with our trip.

I will reserve five stars because the hotel is fairly expensive, being in the mid-range segment, but to us it was worthwhile to avoid the risks associated with some cheaper places.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YourLocalGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Anne-Sophie Gonzales at La Manufacture, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found the hotel clean and with a helpful staff and that you appreciated the neighborhood and the location.
Your very kind words have been appreciated by the staff and I sincerely thank you on behalf of each of them.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back and hopefully be rated five stars next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

When we arrived, the staff was immediately helpful with maps, information about tours, and setting us up with the airport shuttle. The room and bathroom were super small, but very clean and cute with a nice little balcony. The air conditioning was out of order, but they provided a portable unit that worked well. The location was very convenient - near the metro, bus and several well-reviewed restaurants. When I revisit Paris, I would definitely consider staying at La Manufacture again.

We got a good rate due to a summer special, so their website is worth checking out for deals.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Anne-Sophie Gonzales at La Manufacture, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Jessica,

All the staff of the Manufacture Hotel join me to thank you very much for your warm comment!
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and to help you during your stay.
We always try our best to create this special ambiance like at Home!
We hope to welcome you again very soon at the Hotel La Manufacture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#229 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#188 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#379 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#61 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel du Printemps
Hotel du Printemps
#233 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#155 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Manufacture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Manufacture

Property: La Manufacture
Address: 8 rue Philippe de Champagne | 13th Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Paris
#145 Family Hotel in Paris
#162 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#218 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Manufacture 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a charming 19th century building, La Manufacture is an elegant establishment, decorated with taste and style and blending the past with the present. The use of soft, natural colors and the careful attention to detail reflects perfectly the inviting atmosphere to be found. Oak floorboards, wicker chairs, cotton rugs, wooden furniture make this charming Boutique Hotel a real feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Manufacture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Manufacture Hotel Paris
La Manufacture Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing