We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem!”
Review of La Manufacture

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Manufacture
Ranked #272 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I spent 2 nights at La Manufacture in November and was well beyond satisfied with essentially every detail! This hotel offers a truly charming simplicity; my stay was absolutely lovely. The room was very well organized, despite being small. The bed was extremely comfortable (luxuriously comfortable, I would say). The bathroom, while tiny, was absolutely adequate (I had a shower only, which was fine). I was initially a little anxious upon discovering that my room was directly across the hall from the elevators, but I was not remotely disturbed by any hallway noise in the night. The reception area is tranquil and comfortable. The breakfast was surprisingly varied -- fruit salad, yogurt (plain, fruit), cereal(s), eggs, sliced meats/cheese(s) (in the interest of honesty, the cheeses were packaged cheeses), bread and pastries, coffee/tea/hot chocolate. And, above all, the staff at La Manufacture is superb. Everyone I encountered, from the kitchen staff, to the cleaning staff, to the reception desk, was friendly, thoughtful, conscientious. I have to say a few extra words for Nadine Mougin, Chef de Réception. I left the hotel on a Sunday afternoon, intending to take a taxi to Gare Montparnasse; as I returned to the hotel around noon on Sunday, walking through nearby Place d'Italie, I could see what was clearly the start of a big manifestation, and I could see that all the roads leading into/out of the place were blocked by police tape, police cars, riot police, etc. Clearly a taxi was not going to be happening! I had arrived at the hotel via metro, so I knew where the metro stop in the place was located (I'd planned to take a taxi in order to avoid sore shoulders!) and I had a feeling the metro was going to be my only option for getting to Montparnasse, but was a bit apprehensive about dealing with the demonstration. Nadine walked with me to the metro stop, showing me how to dodge the masses, helped me carry my bags, walked down into the stop itself, and the held my bag while I went through the turnstile. I was profoundly grateful and am still surprised and deeply impressed -- service which turns into kindness. Wow. This hotel offers a true simple luxury at exceptionally reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelMBdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Nadine Chef de réception at La Manufacture, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de laisser ce gentil commentaire.
Rien ne nous fait autant plaisir que de savoir que vous avez été charmé par notre hôtel.
Nous tenons en effet à ce que nos clients se sentent comme chez eux.
Nous accordons beaucoup d'importance sur l'accueil de nos clients aussi bien dès l'arrivée qu'en chambre et nous sommes ravis que vous l'appréciez.
Merci beaucoup de ma part pour cette gentillesse à mon égard mais, cela m'a fait très plaisir de vous accompagner alors qu'il y avait cette grande manifestation sur la Place d'Italie
Sincères salutations
Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed a single night at La Manufacture while passing through Paris. We wanted to stay in the 13th arr. as we are very familiar with the area. The welcome and information we received from the staff was second to none. They made sure we were well taken care of, gave us information on sightseeing options, and were genuinely friendly and helpful. The room was very nice. We ended up with a balcony room that felt a hair more spacious than the typical Paris hotel room. Fixtures and amenities were top notch, room was quiet, bed quite comfortable. I, personally, love the area around Place D'Italie ... a bit off the beaten path for major tourist attractions (which I consider a plus), but a very short walk to the metro, so you can get anywhere you like on the extensive and convenient Paris subway and bus system. In the morning, we had a very early flight, and the staff had a taxi waiting for us. A nice room and top notch staff -- very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corniste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Nadine Chef de réception at La Manufacture, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

I am delighted to know that you've enjoyed our hotel for our services and for our situation. It's all the time a pleasure to read such review and to know that our clients have only positive comments to give about us.
We will continue to improve our services and Customer satisfaction.
Thank you again
All my best regards
Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Quaint little hotel and absolutely warm friendly and welcoming staff! Would definitely recommend this hotel. Underground is walking distance as well as many eateries which are open till late.

Thank you Nadine and Chantel for taking care of our baggage the second time when were only passing by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Nadine chef de réception at La Manufacture, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

I am delighted to know that you've enjoyed our hotel for our services and for our situation.
It's all the time a pleasure to read such nice review and to know that our clients have only positive comments about us.
Thank you again
All my best regards
Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We paid $2400 US for 8 nights during the Fashion Week period (our mistake to go at that time). We left the hotel early (had booked 12). This was exorbitant for what we got.
We specified a double bed. Our "double bed" was 2 rock hard twin beds pushed together with one per hotel price/room postings; but had to stoop in the shower; no balcony, looked straight into another building across the street (little light or air), had an attic room on the 7th floor that the hotel touts as the best. We had planned a 12 day stay but left after 8. We saw other rooms and could see that some with "real" double beds might work for a brief visit by young people.We are mid-60's; had trouble sleeping on the equivalent of a "rock slab" close to the floor. This was our 7th trip to Paris over many years; we do not have unreasonable expectations and are well aware the typical hotel room is very small. It was the location of the room and its lack of quality that are the problem (as well as a hostel type small entry).
As many reviewers write, the staff is superior in being helpful and kind, especially Chantal at the front desk but really, all staff were extra responsive. The photos online are very misleading; the Michelin statement of "elegant" is way off. The area was enjoyable. It is the room quality that was highly unsatisfactory. Thank you for your interest in our viewpoint.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you have options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joetta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Nadine Chef de réception at La Manufacture, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

It has been a great pleasure to welcome you at the Manufacture Hôtel and we are sorry to notice we weren't at the level of your expectations.
The hotel La Manufacture is a charming 3 stars boutique hotel right next to the latin Quarter.
On your arrival, you have been so nice that it was a pleasure to take care of you, showing you everythings you could have the pleasure to visit. Chantal did all her best on your arrival to please you and, it's seams that all the others days you were enjoying your stay with us. I have been with you all this others days, asking you if everythings were all right for you and you said yes with a smile in your face. Anne-Sophie and the night porter also took care of you as if you were staying with us all the time, like becomming friendly.
Actually, I must say that we have been very hurt by having a big ONE which is the not pleasant at all as we offer you the most attractive quality/price for a nice room which is not an attic but a nice square room together with a nice bathroom. The building you were looking at is the CITY HALL of the 13th (a nice building). All the best Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The staff in this hotel should offer training courses - not just in Paris but everywhere. The customer service is amazing. This hotel is a little bit off the beaten track - it's a bit of a walk down to the Siene but through the amazing atmosphere of the Latin Quarter (take comfortable shoes). There is tube stations nearby if you prefer. La Manufacture has the most welcoming staff in any hotel I've ever been to - value for money is a bonus! The rooms are cute, comfortable and quite roomy for Paris. My favourite part was the breakfast being delivered to your room in the morning. You just put your breakfast order on the door at night and the staff pick it up - isn't that wonderful? And voila - breakfast arrives! I also went down to reception one night for some drinks and even although it was very late and there was only one staff member available - he couldn't have been more helpful. I really liked how the staff met us at arrival with a warm welcome and helped us out when we left - and seemed sorry to see us go! Only downside was - I wished we were staying longer. Definitely will come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Eiffel Tower. Also if you really prefer a bath - ask for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather25Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Nadine Chef de réception at La Manufacture, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

I am delighted to know that you've enjoyed our hotel for our services and for our situation.
It's all the time a pleasure to read such review and to know that our guests have only positive comments about us.
thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had a lovely 1 night stay at this hotel. Reception is very friendly and fluent in English! Rooms are quaint, very clean and well equipped. Recently painted and well looked after. Did not have the breakfast. Close to Place d' Italie metro and walking distance from Latin corner for nice restaurants. Value for money in terms of Paris accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun_Stell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Nadine chef de réception at La Manufacture, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

I am delighted to know that you've enjoyed our hotel for our services and for our situation. It's all the time a pleasure to read such review and to know that our clients have only positive comments about us
thank you again
all my best regards
Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Located in the 13th Arr in Paris, La Manufacture is a beautiful city hotel that will leave you craving for more. Location is one of it's biggest features, a 4 minute walk to the Metro station Place De L'Italie you can basically move anywhere from there and still make it on time to have a cozy sleep. The room was quite good, and yes it has an awesome view of the Eiffel Tower that will make you daydream of Paris and make you forget that you had to work the next day. The restaurant only serves breakfast, but it's really good, all the french pastries and a supply of cheese to die for. The staff was very friendly and spoke many languages, I spotted English and Spanish, and I saw a german couple talking with the manager and they seemed to have a very interesting conversation. It's high quality all over the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neudys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu13Paris, Nadine Chef de réception at La Manufacture, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

I am delighted to know that you've enjoyed our hotel for our services and for our situation. It's all the time a pleasure to read such nice review about us and to know that our clients have only positive comments.
We will continue to improve our services an Customer satisfaction.
All my best regards
Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#277 of 1,803 in Paris
780 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de la Porte Doree
Hotel de la Porte Doree
#269 of 1,803 in Paris
725 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#90 of 1,803 in Paris
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Francais
#105 of 1,803 in Paris
2,015 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#112 of 1,803 in Paris
614 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Royale Montsouris
Villa Royale Montsouris
#409 of 1,803 in Paris
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Manufacture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Manufacture

Address: 8 rue Philippe de Champagne | 13th Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Paris
#141 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#144 Family Hotel in Paris
#217 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £62 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Manufacture 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a charming 19th century building, La Manufacture is an elegant establishment, decorated with taste and style and blending the past with the present. The use of soft, natural colors and the careful attention to detail reflects perfectly the inviting atmosphere to be found. Oak floorboards, wicker chairs, cotton rugs, wooden furniture make this charming Boutique Hotel a real feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Manufacture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Manufacture Hotel Paris
La Manufacture Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing