We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£90
£90
Algotels
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveller rating
226
503
205
55
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
226
503
205
55
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short stay definitely stay here again hotel is in a great location stayed for nights min walk croissants metro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed at the Ibis Paris Place d'Italie for three non-consecutive nights in late February/early March 2012. My principal motivation in choosig this hotel was to book a clean room in a well-maintained property without having to pay the high rates you normally do in Paris. If you are familiar with the Ibis chain you know that they target mostly business people looking for a place to sleep and shower and not much else. Well in that regard this Ibis hotel did not disappoint, although it was on the smaller side of this chain's properties. What I got was a clean, bright room with very basic furnishings. Although the Ibis website claims this room is suitable for two people, I would tend to disagree, especially if we are talking about people who are not a couple. But for a single person looking for a bed and a shower, the room was fine.

In addition to the bed the room had a small TV with satellite channels, a small desk and basic chair, and some shelving and wardrobe storage area. Free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel, as is a computer terminal in the lobby from where you can check e-mail, surf the web, etc. The bathroom was small, with only a shower stall, sink and toilet, and certainly would not accommodate two people at the same time. The shower space was very confined at about 2 by 2 feet. (Go ahead and drop the soap because you can't bend over to pick it up anyway; you must squat.)

Breakfast is extra at Ibis hotels, but since I was in Paris and finding a cheap breakfast that would satisfy an American appetite was not likely, I decided to buy the breakfast option. It is certainly worth it if you like to eat alot. Breakfast is served buffet-style (all-you-can-eat) in the lower level in a small but pleasant room. Although the choices are not large and varied, there is coffee (served by a machine), juices, breads, pastries, spanish omelet, mini-crepes, yogurt, cold-cut meats and cheeses. It was more than plenty for me and at US$12 per person per night I felt it is was a deal as far as breakfast goes in Paris.

Overall I was very happy with my stay at this property. The hotel was clean, modern and well-maintained...and did not break the bank! The Metro at Place d'Italie was about one block from the hotel and provided esy access to everywhere a tourist would want to go in the city. There is also a shopping mall across from the hotel where you can find a supermarket, and fast food outlets, including a McDonalds and KFC, just up the street heading toward the Metro stop. I would recommend that those unfamiliar with the Ibis chain visit their website, where in addition to booking rooms you can see pictures of your typical Ibis facility. That way disappointments will be kept to a minimum.

Room tip: Rooms at this hotel are not really designed to accommodate two unrelated people.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cadejo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This was my second stay here, so I have to say that I knew what I was getting. It's not fancy, but clean and neat, and the staff speaks languages other than French. It seems typical of most Ibis locations. The weekend rate is about 5-10 euros less than the weeknight rate, which helps too.

Cindy had contacted me a day earlier via email to find out when I planned to arrive, which was a nice touch. I arrived early (around 9 am) and was able to leave my bag for check-in later in the day. They took care to make sure I knew the bag was put into the storage area properly and was securely locked. I knew this because they asked me to go along with the person who put it there!

I returned fairly late that night, around 10 pm, and I was given an accessible room just off the lobby (not by request, but perhaps that was the room that was available that late at night). It was certainly much easier than going up the elevator. Despite the location, the room was quiet and larger than I expected. I had a nice view of the garden in the inner courtyard outside the window, and not much view of the rooms on the other side. The TV worked well, and had a good selection of channels, including Canal+, not often provided in budget hotels.

Like most Ibis hotels, there is a small bar that serves drinks and food 24/7. You can take it back to your room or just have it there. This is really convenient, and the prices are quite attractive. A glass of wine is about half of what you'd pay at the nearby spots, and they generally stop serving around 10:30 or 11:00 pm (or require you to buy some food). A bottle of water is also cheaper than many local spots, and probably comparable to the Carrefour.
I normally skip the breakfast in favor of a coffee and croissant at a local brasserie, but at 9 euros it would be a fair price and worth considering if you like a bigger breakfast.

As others noted, it's convenient to the metro (15 mins to Montparnasse, 7-8 minutes to Denfert Rochereau via line 6 and an easy transfer to RER B and the airport). There is a Carrefour across the street with fresh fruit, food, snacks, and a pretty good selection of beer and wine at reasonable grocery store prices. Unfortunately, the room does not have a fridge, so that will limit your choices somewhat.

The neighborhood around Place d'Italie is pretty good, but I noticed that it can get a little rowdy after about 11 pm. One night, there was a little commotion and noise, but I never felt unsafe. The area has a good number of people and isn't deserted late at night. Just keep your eyes open and you'll be fine.

I'd stay here again on another trip.

Room tip: Most of the rooms would be fine. If you like it quiet, you should see about getting a room that faces the inner courtyard, not the street.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jman293
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked our room late and therefore could not get a room in one of the better located Ibis hotels in Paris. The location was quite ok, though, with public transport easily accessible and a wealth of Asian restaurants on our doorstep.

Staff were great and the room was thoroughly clean. It was also the smallest I’ve had in a Ibis hotel, with tiny storage space, the TV placed atop of the shelves at a very strange angle and little space to move around. Towels were clearly clean, but not exactly a fresh white anymore. There was no minibar or coffee making facilities in the room and no restaurant available in the hotel. We did not have breakfast there, but at a small boulangerie nearby. It is not a bad option, but one can have better for the same budget in Paris.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raluca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The hotel is pretty standard & decent. Clean and neat room, TV with BBC and CNN news, quiet surrounding to sleep in. It is very near to the metro which allows access to other parts of paris. The surpise to this hotel is its vicinity. There's a mall opposite the hotel with a big supermarket that operates till late at night. Great bakeries within the mall or down the road where I can get breakfast.There are also restaurants near the hotel and train station, even a MacDonalds. It's a nice place for stay in paris.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews