We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel in the heart of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Ranked #421 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“very good hotel in the heart of Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

I chose this hotel because of its location, and also price (around 160EUR / night, with breakfast, which is not bad for Paris).

The hotel is in Monmartre, in a walking distance from the Moulin Rouge area - nice from a touristic point of view, specially if you don't have kids and enjoy some fun on being approached every 10 meters by a guy/girl inviting you to enter a peep-show house, or an erotic shop... But all very un-annoying and without any problem...
The hotel is very nice (has some modernisation works going, but no problem) - modern, efficient and nice breakfast.

  • Liked — Modern hotel, clean, simple
  • Disliked — Personnel - very "french"
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eng_Pepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    1,045
    310
    89
    74
See reviews for
311
1,164
125
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2008

Great location, Metro just a few minutes walk. Interesting and easy walk into Montmartre and to Sacre Coeur. From our 7th floor room we could see Sacre Coeur to the left and the Eiffel Tower to the right, just a brilliant view. Breakfast room got a bit hectic around 9.30, but between 8.00 and 9.00 we virtually had it to ourselves. Hotel is right next to Monmartre Cemetery which is surprisingly interesting and worth a visit to see tombs of literary and artistic figures including Foulcault, Degas, Berlioz, Nijinsky, Adolphe Sax (as in inventor of the saxophone, yes really) and many others.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsToWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

I booked this hotel because the company I work for has an agreement with the Accor chain, which this hotel belongs to. I chose it because, among all the Accor hotels in Paris, it offered the best location for the lowest price.
It is located just off Place de Clichy, a place not so inspiring because congested with traffic, but very convenient since it's just at the foot of the Montmartre hill, very close to the Moulin Rouge (if you're into that kind of shows - we weren't) and to several station.
The hotel looks horrible from the outside. Unfortunately, among all the old buildings along the street, it occupies part of a huge ugly white concrete block, which hosts an unispiring shopping centre, a car parking and an Ibis hotel as well as the Mercure. As you enter the hall you feel relieved as you realise it actually looks like a hotel inside! I had never been to a Mercure so I didn't really know what to expect. The pictures on the website looked really nice, but they are supposed to, aren't they? All in all the hotel is good, it is quite basic, but you probably won't need many frills in a city like Paris, which will keep you busy for most of the day and tire you so much that you will be sleeping by 10pm... Anyway, some of the reception staff were really nice and approachable, some others less so, the common areas are basic, with just a couple of sofas and a small bar (we didn't have breakfat at the hotel so I can't comment on that). The room was basic too, with plain furnishing, the toilet was OK, the beds not so comfortable. The best part was definitely the view. As the building has 8 or 9 floors you might want to ask for a top floor room overlooking the city. We didn't ask for one, but they allocated one to us and it was absolutely amazing. We could see most of Paris from the 7th floor, with the Tour Eiffel flashing at night. The room also featured a mini bar and a free safe, which we loved.
I must say we enjoyed our stay. It was our first time in Paris so we probably weren't much interested in a fancy hotel. The Mercure did its purpose, it was well located, functional and clean. The full price for a room is hefty in my opinion, but it probably reflects normal prices for that category in Paris. We paid much less due to the discount I got so I didn't investigate it.
Be aware of the bill anyway. We decided not to have breakfast at the hotel and so we said at check-in but at check out we were charged for breakfast every day. Additionally, we were charged for bar items we didn't take. The lady at reception was really nice and polite and eventually charged us the correct amount, but make sure you don't get charged for breakfast if you don't want it. Also be aware that if you accidentally move any contents of the bar, a sensor will indicate that you've taken it and will automatically charge you for that item (!)

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The unispiring concrete block it occupies
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadridWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2007

This was a organised rugby tour with England Rugby Travel and we were very surprised at the hotel we got.

The hotel and room were immaculate, Not huge, but more than comfortable and lovely toiletries in the bathroom, which does make you feel they are looking after you.

Good air con in the room as it was extremely warm in Paris while we were there. The breakfast was like a banquet with fantastic quality cold meats, hot bacon and eggs and lots of fresh fruit yogurt and pastries - too much really.

This hotel is only a three star but highly recommended, very close to the Moulin Rouge and a wonderful street of local shops and patissiers and restaurants where you could get fine meals.

For the budget conscious and not - a wonderful welcoming hotel, which makes all the difference to your stay.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing....
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank sandraherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#52 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#313 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#57 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Montmartre
Citadines Montmartre Paris
Citadines Montmartre Paris
#455 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur

Property: Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Address: 3 rue Caulaincourt, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Paris
#250 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#288 Business Hotel in Paris
#345 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#422 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Sacré Coeur, close to the Moulin Rouge and the Haussmann-Opéra district's stores, the Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacré Coeur hotel offers spacious and modern rooms. Perfect for business travel or romantic weekends in Paris, the hotel is within easy reach of the Gare du Nord station, St Lazare train station, the metro and the main tourist attractions such as the Eiffel Tower, Champs Elysées, the La Défense business district, Carrefour Pleyel and the Stade de France ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Montmartre Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Montmartre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing