We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bon Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Ranked #408 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Granted the hotel is situated nearby a seedy district but all in all, the service was phenomenal. The manager did not hesitate to upgrade at no charge in a new remodelled room on the top floor with a fantastic view of the Tour d'Effiel. The advantage of this hotel is also that a grocery store is nearby. Making meals on the go very convenient. Further, the Metro is conveniently located. I have stayed twice at this hotel and would most definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cantravel4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercuremontmartre, General Manager at Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2010

Dear Customer
I am extremelly glad that you enjoyed the exceptional view and the cleanliness of our newly renovated bed rooms and their king size beds. I will certainly share with my team your appreciation of our service. Such positive comments are unvaluable to us in our seach for always better satisfy you.
I am also delighted to read that you are one of our repeat customers end please do not hesitate to contact me on philippe.rousseau@accor.com should you wish to make any suggestion that would help making your next stay even more memorable.
Kind regards
Philippe Rousseau
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,397)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 2,397 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

The Mercure is part of the accor chain and shares the site with an Ibis hotel (a more budget focussed offering from the same group).

The hotel has been recently refurbished. It is a business hotel, but I think they are trying to create a boutique feel with the common areas having a some Art Nouveau touches. I found the decor a little odd (dark olive walls and red highlights)but everything in the room worked well. Although the hotel is at a busy road junction the external soundproofing was very good, so I heard little outside noise. One bonus for me was that the blackout curtains were very effective, so it was possible to get the room nice and dark, which I always prefer. Some of the English signs were a bit baffling - I'm still not sure why I'd want to be "impregnated by the uncompleted paintings in the bar" !

The hotel is about a 10 euro taxi fare from Gare du Nord, where the Eurostars arrive. You can get here by metro but you need to change lines and the metro station stairs are awkward if you have heavy luggage.

The main downside is the local area. The hotel is right on the edge of the Pigalle red light district, an area full of sleazy bars, fast food joints, tourist traps, lurid sex shops and touts. Having said that, it is easy walking distance to Montmartre and the Sacre Coer and transport links are good.

Overall, a modern hotel, clean, comfortable, reasonably well-appointed but not strong on Parisian charm and in an unattractive area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eroslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Mercure Montmartre for a 2-night weekend break in August. The hotel represents excellent value for Paris, and is in a convenient location just a few minutes walk from the Metro. It's at the foot of the Montmartre hill, just down the road from the Moulin Rouge (less than 5 mins), and in the opposite direction there are some bars / cafés and restaurants around Place de Clichy that are quite handy. We had little difficulty walking up through Montmartre to the Sacré Coeur on Sunday morning (about 20 mins).

The hotel itself is clean, modern, and pretty much exactly what you'd expect from a mid-range chain hotel in Paris. Nothing amazing, but sometimes it's nice to know what you're getting in advance. The rooms were a decent enough size, comfortable bed, standard decor, and with a handy fridge (rather than a minibar they had a widely-stocked vending machine downstairs).

They seem to have had an art-themed refurb, so each floor is dedicated to a famous artist (we were on the 5th floor, dedicated to Van Gogh), with a variety of related paintings decorating the hotel etc - it was a nice touch. Our limited dealings with the staff (mostly just front-desk) were fine; they were courteous and efficient, but friendly enough as well.

Overall I would recommend the hotel. It's not exactly in the middle of the action, but it's not hard to get to the action if that's what you want, and in the meantime you have a clean, modern hotel at a good price for central Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich_coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

service-excellent
location to subway-excellent
area-not the "romantic" Paris but that is just a few subway stops away
room- big compared to other European cities..very convenient fridge in the room
free buffet-we filled up on this and ate just one other meal
safety-no issues on our trip

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discoverourworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel as part of a Trafalgar Tour last Autumn and I found the room to be quite satisfactory for what I needed; a place to sleep and watch TV after retiring both days from strolling Paris and its iconic sites. I think for a hotel that caters to the business and group tour market it is somewhat above the standard business hotel. The food was good, and the selection that was offered was more than adequate. I would recommend this hotel to others who wish to see Paris, but may not be able to afford to stay in a hotel in the single digit arrondissements. Transit is possible as is walking from the hotel in and around the quaint little shops, one of my tour buddies walked from the hotel to Notre Dame and she said the walk was quite nice. The other thing which the bathroom had at this hotel was a real bathtub in the bathroom; some hotels, especially the newer ones I have stayed in Europe AND North America which are 3 stars and up, have only a shower so it is a little luxury that when I get it I enjoy it. The lack of this feature is a hindrance somewhat since one thing I like to do after a long day sightseeing is to soak my feet the shower only rooms make it nay impossible unless I choose to hoist my feet individually one at a time into the sink and then try not to fall or slip on the floor when I take them out again. I therefore, have no hesitation recommending this hotel to others, and have done so recently.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustenWodehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We spent seven nights at the Mercure Montmatre during June as part of a Air Transat Vacations package. The price was so low (less that we spent on airfare alone to Italy two years ago) that we told ourselves that the hotel was more or less free and that we wouldn't complain about it. By the end of our week we were quite pleased that we in fact had nothing to complain about.
The hotel itself is what I would call a budget business class hotel (akin to an urban Holiday Inn in North America) housed in a fairly nondescript modern building. It has zero charm but is well maintained, functional and the rooms are large enough with all the expected features. We actually had a view of the golden dome of the Invalides and the Eieffel tower off in the distance! If you want a view make sure you're on at least the fifth floor and facing in the right direction. Try to avoid the viewless first floor which is just down the hall from the noisy breakfast room and various meeting halls.
Our package included a full breakfast: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt, cheese, bread etc.... and most importantly excellent coffee! Certainly no complaints here, but I think if it had not been included in our package we wouldn't have paid the 17 euros but instead would have gone to one of the nearby cafes.
There's not much else to say about the hotel itself except to mention that it's lack of charm is easily made up for by the friendly and extremely helpful front desk staff who were always happy to assist us non-French speakers with restaurant reservations and other requests. I've been to a couple of 5 stars whose front desks were far less useful.
In terms of location, the hotel is on the edge of Montmartre rather then in the central core of Paris where you'll probably be spending most of your time. It's true that it's fairly close to a rather seedy area along the Boulevard de Clichy (the Moulin Rouge is here), but it's just as close to the best part of Montmartre...Rue Joseph de Maistre, Rue des Martyres, Rue des Abbesses, Rue Lepic etc where it's non-touristy yet filled with wonderful restaurants, patisseries, bistros etc. We could have happily come here every night for dinner. If you really want the full tourist experience Place de Tetre and Sacre Cour are no more then a 15-20 minute walk away.
If you prefer a hotel where many of the great sites of Paris are an easy walk from your front door, this isn't the place. Nonetheless, there's plenty of nearby public transit. Almost at the front door is the stop for bus 95 which will take you to Gallerie Lafayette, the Opera, the Louvre (about 20 minutes) and St Germain de Pres. Next to it is the stop for bus 30 which passes by Parc Monceau and the Arch de Triomphe/Champs Elysees on its way to the Trocedero across the river from the Eiffel Tower. We'd also see bus 80(?) passing by which travels along the Seine past Nortre Dame on its way to Ville de Cite (close to the Pompideau Centre) but we never figured out where its stop was! Instead we took a short stroll to Place de Clichy where we had two subway lines to take us anywhere we wanted to go.
So in the end, if you book at a good price and if you're willing to forgo an element of Parisian charm you should have no problem with the Mercure Montmartre.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LouPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed there in June. The hotel itself was great - nice rooms, good service, friendly staff, great buffet breakfast. The problem was that the hotel is near A LOT of sex shops along one street (the street the Moulin Rouge is on) and the atmosphere was therefore not what we were expecting - i.e., boulangeries and patisseries!! Of course, there are a lot of other great streets in the area, but we've decided not to stay in this hotel again because of the seediness of this one street. Also, there was one patisserie on the same street - more of a Middle Eastern one, and the pastries were HORRIBLE!! The service was even worse.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WindsorRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#58 of 1,804 in Paris
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#77 of 1,804 in Paris
788 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#390 of 1,804 in Paris
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur

Address: 3 rue Caulaincourt, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paris
#258 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#288 Business Hotel in Paris
#344 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#421 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £91 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Sacré Coeur, close to the Moulin Rouge and the Haussmann-Opéra district's stores, the Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacré Coeur hotel offers spacious and modern rooms. Perfect for business travel or romantic weekends in Paris, the hotel is within easy reach of the Gare du Nord station, St Lazare train station, the metro and the main tourist attractions such as the Eiffel Tower, Champs Elysées, the La Défense business district, Carrefour Pleyel and the Stade de France ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Montmartre Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Montmartre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing