We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris!”
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #127 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Newaygo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paris!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We ended a business trip to Germany with a few days in Paris. Our first time! Celine was wonderful and we didn't have a problem with communication as she speaks English very well. Had requested a balcony room, and we got it! Great location. I do not like elevators so took the stairway but my husband had no problem as some have stated. We were so close to everything. Great restaurants within 2 blocks. We only had breakfast there one morning but it was very nice. We walked everywhere we wanted to go. The last day we took the double decker bus, which would definitely do more next time. Hope to go back and would definitely stay at Hotel Galileo again. Loved the convenience of being within walking distance to the places we wanted to see. Hotel Galileo is the perfect hotel to stay if you like the hustle and bustle of the Champs Elysees, but want a quiet place to stay two blocks away.

Room Tip: Balcony room was perfect. Fresh air and could walk out outside. We were in 201. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrylm2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Directeur général at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Madam,

Celine and all the Galileo Team were very pleased to welcome you and very happy to notice that you enjoyed your stay

the emplacement of the Galileo Hotel is great but we do the maximum to make the stay of our guests in Paris as pleasant and comfortable as possible especially for the first Time !!!

Don't hesitate to come back and we wstill have a lot of things to recommend you to do in Paris
see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    280
    40
    10
    1
See reviews for
233
491
55
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with the Hotel Galileo. From check in to check out the service from the entire staff was exceptional. We were made to feel very welcome. It really was comforting for being in a unfamiliar environment. The room was quite adequate with plenty of room for both of us. There was more than enough closet space. The bath room was modern with plenty of hot water and great water pressure. The hotel itself is located two minutes of the Champs Elysees on a very quiet street. The George V metro station was just around the corner serving Metro Line 1. There were also several bus stops within a three minute walk. The Arc de Triomphe, RER A, Metro line 2 and Metro line 6 are just a five minute walk. The Eiffel Tower is a leisurely 20 minute stroll. We highly recommend the Hotel Galileo to singles and couples visiting Paris.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor facing the street and it was very quiet. There is a very small balcony b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcotocdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Directeur général at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Sir,

we are Happy to notice that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Galileo and your comment is the best award for us and help us to do more efforts for the satisfaction of our guests.
the hotel has wonderful and clean rooms and the emplacement of the hotel will make your trip to Paris very pleasant and comfortable
we hope to see you soon at the hotel Galileo
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here over the Easter Holiday and were delighted with the hotel. The elevator, as noted by other travelers was tiny, but we expected it from the reviews and it is not unusual for some Paris hotels. Our room was small, but very clean and adequate for our needs. Windows opened onto a small green area and provided the room with fresh air and sunlight. Staff is bilingual, friendly and efficient. The hotel is on a quiet street just off the Champs-Elysee, close to the metro and within a nice walk to the Arc, Notre Dame, Eiffel Tower and lots of museums. Really a perfect location. Would definitely stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbpbbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Directeur général at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your wonderfull review.
We hope you had a nice trip-back !

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Galileo.
It was really a pleasure to welcome you and we would like always friendly and smiling guests like you ...

see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Location is excellent - you couldn't ask for better, but you pay for this.

My first impression after catching the lift to my floor: open the elevator and there is the vacuum cleaner lying on the carpet with nobody around. Not a nice view and a health and safety hazard as well.

The room was quite small, but functional. the bed was old and not very comfortable and also VERY SMALL - both width and length!

The bathroom sink did not drain properly (had to remove the stopper thingy), and the paint/finishes were faded and needed attention.

The breakfast was excellent, but in a small pokey room. Again, getting out of the lift to the basement opens directly into a service area and the staff do not like to close doors so you are left looking at the working areas of the hotel which are not pleasant.

During breakfast the staff on attendance leave the kitchen door open, so you are left eating your nice croissant while staring at a bucket and mop.

Overall an expensive hotel for a mediocre experience. I'll try and find something better for the price next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Directeur général at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your stay and it has been a real pleasure for us to receive you.

We are sorry that the room wasn't at the level of your expectations and we are sorry because we were unable to give you another room to sleep few hours after your check-out (the hotel was fully booked and the others guests were waiting for their rooms).

I am glad to notice that you were satisfied with the cleanliness, the breakfast and the service in the hotel. Your room was large, quite with nice balcony and nice street view. The bed of 150x190 is large and very convenient according to the European standard.

We did the best to let you check-in very early that is why you did see the cleaning materials (harmless for the health of course) on the corridor but we will do more efforts to be discrete and close the doors of the service areas.

Finally we are proud to offer the best value for the money on the champs Elysées area and all our guests are happy for that.

We hope that you had a nice trip back and we will be very happy to see you again in Paris

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just came back from Easter weekend at the Galileo and I must say I was very happy with this hotel. The room they gave us was for a double bed and it had a nice balcony area which allowed a lot of light and air in. The hotel is on a quiet street minutes walk away from the Champs Elysee and two metro stations. The staff were fantastically friendly and helpful when required. The lift was small but aren't all lifts in Paris small?

My only slight reservation is that the breakfast was very overpriced they charged us 14 euros and the breakfast included bitter tasting coffee, a selection of muffins and buns, a few slices of ham and some fruit - we only did this once to try it out - the rest of the days we had breakfast outside.

Overall I would definitely use this hotel again if I went back to Paris -

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohawk1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Directeur général at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your stay and we are happy to notice that you enjoyed the hotel.

We also insist to offer a good value for the money and that includes the room and the breakfast rates.
Our breakfast is very rich with a variety of breads and pastries, juices, jams, fruit and salad fuits, cereals, ham and eggs (omelette on request)
For a quarter as expensive as the Champs Elysees we offer the best quality / price ratio.

We will be always happy to welcome you again at the Hotel Galileo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The location is excellent, quiet yet central, in a side street just a few paces from the Champs Elysees. If you want to be close to the most famous shopping street, the arc de Triomphe and the metro without paying a fortune then this hotel is hard to beat. The hotel has a cozy atmosphere with friendly, efficient staff and decent sized rooms. The price is favourable for the 8th arondissement.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duntiblaesnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Directeur général at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Sir,

we are very happy to notice that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we are really grateful for choosing the Galileo Hotel

we offer to all our guests nice rooms, clean, an excellent service with good prices.

we remain at your disposal for your next vist to Paris
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

the hotel is so nice, helpful staff , perfect location , surrounded by lots of samll resturants and a lively area but I still prefer the latin quarter area

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia_Ghaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Directeur général at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Dalia,

Thank you very much again for your stay and it has been a pleasure for us to receive you.
I am glad to notice that you enjoyed the hotel and we reamain always at your service if you decide to come back to Paris.
the Champs Elysées has his owen charm and character with shops, restaurants, lifely 24Hours a day with lot of Monuments: Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tour, Concorde....

see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#55 of 1,801 in Paris
421 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#29 of 1,801 in Paris
1,072 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Splendid Etoile Hotel
#92 of 1,801 in Paris
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#194 of 1,801 in Paris
593 reviews
Hotel Residence Foch
#72 of 1,801 in Paris
2,254 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
Chambiges Elysees Hotel
#185 of 1,801 in Paris
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Property: Hotel Galileo
Address: 54 rue Galilee | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paris
#23 Business Hotel in Paris
#53 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galileo 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two steps away from the famous Champs-Elysees and George V avenues, Arc de Triomphe, haute couture boutiques of avenue Montaigne and major museums (Petit and Grand Palais), come and peacefully visit Paris by staying at the Hotel Galileo. A chic Parisian ambiance is combined with a homey atmosphere to create a new type of contemporary luxury. Heritage of the past (17th century fireplace) is flawlessly combined with a touch of Art Deco designed by our interior decorator, Natasha Stojkovic. You are sure to enjoy Les Jeux de Miroirs, a striking yet elegant work by Tamara de Lempicka, as well as the different walls and surfaces of this unique place. Located in the heart of the exciting Golden Triangle, the luxurious and peaceful 3*** Hotel Galileo is dedicated to elegance, sophistication and has become a true haven of peace with its beautiful patio in the centre of a metropolis rich in culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Paris
Hotel Galileo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing