We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #88 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel has an excellent location, 2 minutes walk from Champs Elysee, 5 minutes walk from Charles de Gaulle station.
The room was charming.
Christopher in the front desk was very helpful and efficient - helped me in booking and organizing my tours and taxis.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Maria Theresa,

We thank you very much for your warm comment!
It's so nice to know that you spent a nice time with us.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    256
    31
    9
    1
See reviews for
210
460
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location and we easily walked from here to the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre even Notre Dame! (We are big on walking though!) Our room was on the top floor (501) and had a separate area for changing and doors that opened onto the street. The room was a lot nicer (and bigger) then expected and was very comfortable. We did only stay the one night but I would happily come back and stay here if I am in Paris again. All the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay with them enjoyable. There are a lot off great places around there to eat if you wander away from the main streets, which I highly recommend doing - you'll get so much more for your money. All in all a great stay and would definitely recommend the Hotel Galileo to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Rachel,

All the team of the Galileo hotel join me to thank you very much for your warm comment!
It was so nice to welcome you and to help you to discover Paris.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Background:
Couple, 1 night in late April 2014


Pros:
1) Good location in the middle of the Champs-Elysees. 5 minutes walk to the nearest metro station, George V (on M1). Easy walk to L'Arc de Triomphe. Maison Laduree is just down the street. Quieter side street so noise is not a problem

2) We stay in room 501. Top floor, with attached balcony (enclosed and air conditioned so you are sheltered from the elements while enjoying your view. View of the street Rue Galilee - nothing much, but it is not ugly. No view of the Arc or Champs-Elysees. Clean and cosy. Extra pillows and blankets in the cupboard, has a dressing table with mirror, coffee table and 2 cushy chairs, TV, kettle, mini-fridge. Enough hangers for 2 for a 1 night stay. Safe in cupboard. Free wifi.

3) Very friendly and funny staff welcomed us on our first day. Name is Christopher. Very helpful and offered to call us a cab when we were going out (which we didn't take in the end because of the price) and also explained to us the options for getting to the airport the next day.


Cons:
1) Room is slightly small but didn't bother us. Toilet is a little small but nothing else to fault.


Overall: I would recommend this hotel. There are many nice hotels in Paris and I have stayed at 3 different ones on 3 separate occasions. Which hotel you select at the end should fit your purpose, preference, plans, travelling companion and mood I guess. I chose to stay in Hotel Galileo this time because we were coming from the South of France and stopping at the Gare de Lyon and were flying off from CDG airport the next day so I wanted somewhere close to a metro station the service one of the lines that passes these ports of call and relatively near the city centre where we were having dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lester O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Lester,

What a lovely comment!!! All the team of the Galileo hotel join me to thank you very much.
For your information, we have only two Deluxe Veranda at the Hotel, and they are very very cosy.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Welcoming staff who are eager to please. Well located and just a few steps from the Champs Elysées - Arc de Triomph end. Plenty of places to eat and drink there and several smaller cafés and restaurants away from the main tourist area. Metro Georges V very near. Tour bus stop just a few minutes away.Plenty of taxis around all day. Hotel wifi has been fixed and works at a good speed but needed frequent re-login on some of our devices. Rooms are clean and comfortable if a little small (usual for most hotels in Paris). We had a junior suite which was good. We would have liked more wardrobe/drawer space. Overall a very good experience and we thoroughly recommend the Galileo and we shall visit them again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafikiphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Bonjour de Paris!

We thank you very much for your lovely comment! It was so nice to welcome you and your wife at the Galileo Hotel and to help you to find nice places to visit and to eat.
Do not hesitate to contact us direclty for your next visit.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I have never stayed at the Hotel Galileo, but after working with Christopher to surprise some friends of ours that were traveling for the 1st time to Paris, we will definitely be visiting soon just to meet Christopher. He was a pleasure to work with and took care of all the details of surprising our friends with Champagne and Chocolates in their room upon arrival. Thank you so much for helping us with our unique requests and making it surprisingly easy. They loved it!

Thanks,
Brian C.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Brian,

All the team of the Galileo hotel and of course our "Superstar" Christopher, join me to thank you for your warm comment! It was a real pleasure to help you to prepare the stay of your friends with us and it's really nice to know that they had a lovely stay in Paris.
We hope now to welcome you very soon!
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having used Tripadvisor for many years to choose hotels and restaurants, I finally registered after this trip so that I could post this review. We arrived at 10 a.m on the Saturday morning after a very early flight, Christopher, the concierge, could not have been more friendly or helpful, he managed to sort a room even at that early hour. The location of the hotel is fantastic, the room was large and comfortable, the breakfast was great and the service was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Lee,

What a lovely comment! We thank you very much and it was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Galileo hotel for your Rugby week end!
Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit because we have always some good promotions to propose you.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We've stayed in this hotel a dozen times over the last 16 years, and always found it ideal for our needs. It has evolved into a very good 'boutique'-quality hotel, with elegant decorative touches, excellent bedding and bathroom facilities, and a very welcoming, positive staff (especially Christopher, who is a great source of information and good humor!). One recent reviewer complained that rooms are small, but we had plenty of room for an adult couple with 4 large suitcases -- and seriously, what do you expect for a hotel this elegant literally steps away from the George V Metro stop (just below the Arc de Triomphe) on the Champs Elysees, and at this price? (We've stayed in some of Paris's best hotels, including notably Le Meurice, where we found the rooms were also smallish compared to American standards, but not at all surprising given that this is some of the most valuable real estate anywhere in the world!) For us the combination of comfort, quality of staff, and location, this is one of the best places we've stayed anywhere in Europe; we've often recommended it to our friends living in France, and can recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone looking for a good experience in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAlexander2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We do not find any word after your lovely comment except THANK YOU! THANK YOU!
It was so nice to welcome you again in our little Hotel and we are very pleased to know that you like the new decoration and ambiance!
We hope to see you again very soon and Take care!
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#39 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#26 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Splendid Etoile Hotel
#83 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#78 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Champs-Elysees
West-End Hotel
West-End Hotel
#64 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#159 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Property: Hotel Galileo
Address: 54 rue Galilee | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paris
#23 Business Hotel in Paris
#53 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galileo 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two steps away from the famous Champs-Elysees and George V avenues, Arc de Triomphe, haute couture boutiques of avenue Montaigne and major museums (Petit and Grand Palais), come and peacefully visit Paris by staying at the Hotel Galileo. A chic Parisian ambiance is combined with a homey atmosphere to create a new type of contemporary luxury. Heritage of the past (17th century fireplace) is flawlessly combined with a touch of Art Deco designed by our interior decorator, Natasha Stojkovic. You are sure to enjoy Les Jeux de Miroirs, a striking yet elegant work by Tamara de Lempicka, as well as the different walls and surfaces of this unique place. Located in the heart of the exciting Golden Triangle, the luxurious and peaceful 3*** Hotel Galileo is dedicated to elegance, sophistication and has become a true haven of peace with its beautiful patio in the centre of a metropolis rich in culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Paris
Hotel Galileo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing