We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an elegant hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galileo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Galileo
Ranked #89 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“an elegant hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We chose this hotel having seen good reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Although we paid for a standard double we got upgraded to something called the Veranda deluxe, or something like that. We were on the top floor , our room had a bedroom area and then a raised annexe with a glass roof with a table and chairs, making it feel like a suite. The bedroom was well lit, with reading lights on an adjustable stem, and the bathroom lights were like daylight so not a shock to the eyes when half awake , like most hotels. The bed was comfortable , and although I like to have a bath-tub, the shower was adjustable to a comfortable temperature, so it was fine not to have a tub. On the first morning we had the breakfast buffet and just for a change had hot chocolate instead of tea or coffee. The buffet was the usual yoghurt, fruit salad, cereal and selection of breads and pastries. You could boil an egg but the water level was quite low so you had to turn the egg.
The staff at reception were welcoming, friendly and effecient . The decor in the reception is attractive and elegant
as are the staircases and bedrooms The hotel is very near the Arc de Triomphe end of the Champs Elysees and Metro stations, as well as being a short walk from the river.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the street on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babarandceleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your warm comment! It was a real pleasure to welcome you and to help you to discover Paris.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    257
    31
    9
    1
See reviews for
211
460
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel has great proximity to champs élysées and shopping (awesome). We arrived very early after an international flight and stopped there to store our bags. The concierge was very helpful with bag storage and other services (I.e booking a taxi back to the airport the following day).

Cons were that the room was very small and cramped. Since we were on the first floor it was also fairly noisy. Also, there we no fan in the bathroom, so the room was humid after showering (maybe I missed it). All cons are easy to overlook considering the hotel value!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txtravelgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Bonjour de Paris!

What a lovely comment! We thank you very much and are very pleased to know that you spent a nice time with us and in Paris!
For your information, you can find in all the bathrooms a towel driying heater.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

For our 10th anniversary, we booked two nights in this small, recently refurbished and very beautiful boutique hotel and to make a long story short: we were more than satisfied with everything except for the weather on this weekend in May (heavy rain…).
Hotel Galileo is very well situated near Champs-Elysee (metro George V) and a good base for all sightseeing trips you can imagine. La tour Eiffel and la place de la Concorde are 30 min hikes. Very nice shops and good restaurants nearby. And something which is unaffordable: good service! Christoph gave is best and made our stay most comfortable with very good recommendations for restaurants, etc.
My final conclusion: we have to return to Paris (this time with the kids) and - although I have stayed in many other hotels in paris on business trips - we will exactly return to this hotel and book the family room. Very good deal!
Malte, Germany

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan-Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Jan Malte,

All the team of the Galileo hotel and of course Christopher, our Concierge join me to thank you very much for your lovely comment!
It's so nice to know that you spent a nice time with us for your 10th anniversary!
We are looking forward to welcome you again with your family.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Awesome customer service, safe and central location, and clean and comfortable room. Overall great accommodation! We would recommend hotel Galileo to others and we hope to go back to Paris and stay there again in the future!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingpbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

All the team of the Galileo hotel join me to thank you for your lovely comment! It was so nice to help you during your stay to discover Paris.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

As with everyone else's comments, I have only good things to say about them. It's conveniently located from the Air France Bus stop. Smallish room, great bathroom. Service from staff is spot on. They checked us in even though we were a couple of hours early and that gets a double thumbs up from my end (especially after a 10 hour flight).

Excellent eating options around the hotel. Both Laudree and Pierre Herme are located close by if you are in the mood for some excellent macarons. The place feels safe at night. Once again, extremely helpful staff. There are several metro stops close by. Will certainly come back when in Paris next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KedarAngirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear KedarAngirus,

What a lovely comment! It's so nice to know that you spent a nice time with us.
It's true that the macarons of Ladurée or Pierre Hermé are so delicious!
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during my European vacation and it was fantastic. I was worried that the room would be tiny based on other reviews, but I actually thought the room was a good size, especially for central Paris. It had a large bed, a couch, dresser, chargers for any phone you can imagine, safe, iron/board, awesome bathroom. Some reviews have complained about air conditioning, I cannot comment on that since the weather was cool when we were in Paris. Found the room very comfortable.

The staff was certainly very helpful and answered all questions in great detail. I know that most reviews here mention Christopher, but I must say that every single person I interacted with demonstrated excellent customer service.

Overall a fantastic hotel, excellent value for money, great location and I would stay there every time I'm in Paris. (Don't let my 4 star rating make you think there is a negative, I reserve a 5 star review for hotels that have all of the above and take initiative to do things above and beyond what a guest would expect.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbbug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Bonjour de Paris!

We thank you very much for your warm comment! It was a real pleasure to welcome you and to help you during your stay.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a very nice boutique hotel near the Arc de' Triomphe. Very clean and comfortable. The staff was great and very helpful. It's located 2 blocks from Champs Elysees and near some very nice little restaurants and close to transportation.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 203 which faced the courtyard so we were able to open the windows at night and enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly R, Propriétaire at Hotel Galileo, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Vicki,

All the team of the Galileo hotel join me to thank you very much for your warm comment! it's so nice to know that you spent a nice time with us.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards
Delphine / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#41 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#28 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Splendid Etoile Hotel
#79 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#145 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Champs-Elysees
West-End Hotel
West-End Hotel
#66 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#78 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo

Property: Hotel Galileo
Address: 54 rue Galilee | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paris
#23 Business Hotel in Paris
#53 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galileo 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two steps away from the famous Champs-Elysees and George V avenues, Arc de Triomphe, haute couture boutiques of avenue Montaigne and major museums (Petit and Grand Palais), come and peacefully visit Paris by staying at the Hotel Galileo. A chic Parisian ambiance is combined with a homey atmosphere to create a new type of contemporary luxury. Heritage of the past (17th century fireplace) is flawlessly combined with a touch of Art Deco designed by our interior decorator, Natasha Stojkovic. You are sure to enjoy Les Jeux de Miroirs, a striking yet elegant work by Tamara de Lempicka, as well as the different walls and surfaces of this unique place. Located in the heart of the exciting Golden Triangle, the luxurious and peaceful 3*** Hotel Galileo is dedicated to elegance, sophistication and has become a true haven of peace with its beautiful patio in the centre of a metropolis rich in culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Galileo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Paris
Hotel Galileo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing