We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #246 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

After moving to the Hotel Scribe from another Paris hotel, we nearly had everything we wanted. Fantastic service, gorgeous comfortable room and ammenities. Only problem was the bar/restaurant seemed to be grossly expensive. We had "reasonable" drink prices in the bar across the street at the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: I imagine any room would be fine here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    607
    158
    54
    32
See reviews for
411
859
107
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 April 2011

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by warm and friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. The check-in service was rather straight forward and our room was ready shortly after an early "am" arrival. The room was amazing and had all the amenities you would expect from a 5 Star Luxury hotel. What really made this hotel unique was the friendly staff who may i say spoke fluent English and furthermore were happy to assist with any request. The location of the hotel is ideal for travellers wanting to stay out of the hustle and bustle of tourist zones yet close enough to walk to any major tourist location. i highly recommend to all and sure to stay here again on my next visit. Thank you “Scribe hotel” for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Very good hotel, quiet rooms, very central location between Place de la Madeleine and Opéra with Louvre and Musée d'Orsay at 15mins walking distance. Everything super. Extremely friendly staff. Bar is too expensive though.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

The service was great here. The first room they showed us to smelled a little of cigarette smoke, the bell boy called down to reception and they moved us immediately to another room just down the corridor. The room was very small but luxurious. Perfect location, very close to shopping, restaurants and some bars. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We loved the hotel! I had made a mistake with the dates. We needed an extr night and they immediately accomodated us. No hassel at all. The Concierge Marie was incredibly helpful and friendly along with the entire staff. I speak no French and they made my stay so easy for me and my daughter. We did upgrade to be able to use the minibar for soft drinks and get a treat each day. I thought that was a nice luxury because the treats are first class Parisian goodies from shops you'll want to go to. The rose macaroons are the best! The room was fine and the decor is very tasteful. I must stress that the staff realy makes this hotel.I lliked the bathroom with the separate water closet. Hermes toiletries are always nice! The beds are devine! If you have stayed at a Sofitel before you know what I mean. You must try the desserts! We will definately be back again. The location is close to 2 Metros; Opera and Madeline which makes life easier because you can choose which way to go depending on your final destination. One is sometimes more direct than the other. Also there are many currency exchanges close by. The area has good restaurants and great shopping too! Try the chocolates at a few of the chocolatiers they will raise your standard, and you'll be spoiled forever! Great staff and a perfect location!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnailP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jock in Brum
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Hmmm, we stayed here previously and enjoyed a great experience. This time was similar but we found some small issues worth noting.

On this occasion we booked through Eurostar and got a great price deal. However this brought us to a much smaller room (quite tiny) with an inside view. Unfortunately, after the first night I was ready to leave - the bed was awful, lumpy and tipping down at one corner and the bathroom full of black hairs. I presented myself at reception and explained about the bed problem. The young man looked surprised, suggested that this was not the case, and asked me what I thought he might do????

I was a little surprised at this as it really wasn't my problem to solve. Either fix the bed or move us - not rocket science. He said he could not make that decision and would have to look into it, could we come back later to find out? Rather than "get into it" in reception we agreed to come back at 6 for a decision, breaking up our day unnecessarily.

We were moved, packing up our own bags, to a new room with a suitable bed. Sad though, we shouldn't have to faff around like that in this class of hotel.

Also, we found the bar staff exceptionally slow in comming to our table - they seemed more intent in chatting to each other, rearranging the bar area and shuffling chairs than taking an order. We walked out on two occasions.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Three nights. Checkin smooth, good English command. Courteous and professional. Warm and helpful. Room was a delight, small, queen bed only but very luxurious nonetheless. Feels new and recently renovated. Somewhat obviously, esp bathroom, not using the best fittings available (cheap marble etc) but the bedroom itself absolutely no complaints. Loved the design. Bed luxurious comfortable. Concierge also extremely helpful 10/10. Helped booked several hard to get restaurants despite getting nowhere after a few. Walking distance to Printemps, Hermes St Honore and Chanel etc. Walked to Musee d'Orsay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kowkowzeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#218 of 1,798 in Paris
607 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#153 of 1,798 in Paris
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#343 of 1,798 in Paris
948 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Paris
#113 Business Hotel in Paris
#120 Family Hotel in Paris
#158 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#183 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing