We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #246 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The fact that this hotel has an absolute fantastic position as it is just one minute walk from the stop of the roissy bus that will take you to and from charles da gaulle airport, it is of walking distance from most of the places in paris and has a really close metro stop (place de l'operà) would justify the costs for the room. It has however great rooms, very spacey for paris' standars and really clean.
Only black spot would be the bathroom, since the toilet seat is located in a separate "room": the reason why i'm placing quotes is that the "room", is actually a door that leads in a very small recess where you find the toilet seat and that's it; no sink, no washing cloth, no nothing... everything else is in the real bathroom.
Also room-to-room soundproofing wasn't optimal: once our neighbors came we could hear every single word they were saying.
We did not try the breakfast since it came out at 40€ per person and for that price you could easly buy 20 croissants and 20 cups of coffee to drink along the day. Also prices for mini-bar were out of this word ( bottle of water came at 8 euros)... and in every other 5 star hotel i've stayed they have the courtesy to put out complimentary water each day. It can be the best hotel in the world but no matter what water should be complimentary everywhere.
Staff was nice.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a street view, they are way more spacey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorpeppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent A, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hotel Scribe Paris.

Our establishment has an enviable situation, as it is located in the very heart of Paris.

We are pleased to know you found your room to be spacious and comfortable.
As for the separated toilet seat, kindly be informed that the layout changes from one room to another. If you prefer to have toilets inside the bathroom, please let us know for further reservations to help us better identify your preferences.

We are deeply sorry to hear you were bothered by your neighbors due to insufficient soundproofing, in such case do not hesitate to contact the Front Desk to help you find a better fitting room.

Our buffet breakfast is of 35 euros per person, and we offer a large choice of quality products such as hot and cold meals and beverages, pastries, delicatessen, dairy, fruits, health-conscious as well as gluten-free products. However, if you would rather have a lighter meal, you can enjoy an “A la Carte” breakfast at our Café Lumière.

We acknowledge you complaint regarding the minibar fees, they are however similar to other hotels in the same range. Although we do offer complimentary water bottles to our clients, we would like to apologize as it seems you did not have the information.

We are delighted to know that our staff met your expectations, and thank you for helping us improve our guest services!

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Scribe Paris!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    625
    166
    57
    34
See reviews for
428
903
112
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and hotel location was very convenient, close to CDG airport bus transfer stop. Walking distance to Tuileries park and Louvew.
Hotel restaurant has a star in Micheling guide, and we had a very good dinner there one evening.
We stayed in a superior room, which was comfy and quite spacious.
Bathroom equipped with Hermes products :-)

Room Tip: Very close to bus airport transport to CDG.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bislett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent A, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you for having chosen the Hotel Scribe Paris, and for taking the time to share your feedback.

The Hotel Scribe is located in the heart of Paris, close to every public transportation form and at walking distance from shopping areas as well as museums.

We are pleased to know you have had an enjoyable experience in our gastronomic restaurant Le Lumière.

All our rooms are equipped with Hermes products and Mybed bedding specially designed by Sofitel to provide the utmost comfort.

We thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Scribe Paris!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nice quiet room on the 5th floor, rooms not huge but typical Paris size. Bed very comfortable. Didn't eat breakfast in the hotel due to the cost 35 Euros per person. There are a number of excellent cafes and restaurants nearby for breakfast and dinner.

The hotel is in great location near a number of Metro stations and close to the Opera house

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DealSouthWales1_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent A, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

As you have mentioned yourselves, Parisian hotels in the city center are compelled to provide rooms a certain size, due to the beautiful ancient buildings they are implanted in, as is ours.

We insist on providing the best bedding comfort, and are pleased to know that the Sofitel Mybed was a memorable experience to you.

Although there are several cafés and restaurants close to the hotel, our buffet breakfast offers a very large choice of fresh products for a tasteful and consistant meal.

We thank you again for your helpful comments, and are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked a “luxury room” on the sixth floor; stayed there with my wife and a three-year-old. Room is very spacious, extremely quiet, lots of light, all necessary amenities and very safe for the child. Breakfast buffet is very abundant and can fit any taste, including such fancies a morning cup of miso soup and gohan for those coming from the Far East.
The location is just around the corner from Opera Garnier, about 10 minute walk from the Louvre / Tuileries and several minutes from the main shopping street / key department stores. Taxis, metro are all within immediate reach.
All members of staff were very helpful and nice, hotel superbly clean, everything working without fault.
I’ve stayed in other locations in Paris, but to my mind, Scribe is a perfect place for enjoying Paris with family and worth every cent paid for the room rate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anatoly_Kairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent A, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for considering the Hotel Scribe Paris and for sharing your feedback through Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed our location, indeed, the Hotel is very well located with a lot of walking distance activities such as museums, shopping malls, luxury avenues.

It is even more enjoyable to read that you have spent a wonderful family moment at the Hotel Scribe Paris. Your comfort and safety is at the heart of our daily tasks and we strive to go beyond your expectations therefore, it is the best reward to read your comment.

We remain at your disposal for your future stays in Paris and we are very looking forward to welcoming you back very shortly.

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed overnight at Hotel Scribe in Paris for a business trip. On the positive side, the hotel is very well located close to Opera and Place Madeleine. However, the "superior" rooms (the lowest category) are very small indeed but perfectly fine. I would say that the staff in the bar were not particularly friendly and told us to drink up as the bar was closing. However, worse was to come. They completely forgot my wake up call and I missed breakfast and was very close to missing my eurostar. This hotel is not terrible, it's just that there are better hotels for E280/night.

Room Tip: Dont choose a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnesLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent A, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor, although I would like to express my sincerest apologies regarding your experience at the Bar and your wake up call that has been missed. There will be a full investigation and the necessary actions will be taken in order to avoid such occurence.

We would be very keen to offer you a great experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris, please feel free to revert to us at your earliest convenience, we will manage to offer you a VIP treatment and a beautiful stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon in our parisian mansion.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#207 of 1,800 in Paris
679 reviews
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#381 of 1,800 in Paris
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#291 of 1,800 in Paris
361 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#236 of 1,800 in Paris
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Paris
#113 Business Hotel in Paris
#119 Family Hotel in Paris
#169 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#182 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing