We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel, good location if you like shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #232 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had wanted to stay in similarly branded hotels for this European trip and we chose Accor.

First on the list was Scribe, managed by Sofitel.

Pros:
Location - Upon leaving the hotel, turning left takes you to the Grand Magasins - Galeries Lafayette, & Printemps. Turning right leads you down to Rue Cambon & Rue St Honore.

Bathroom - The toilet and shower were in 2 separate rooms so, useful if you're a couple!

Bed - It was a nice comfy, large bed (actually 2 single beds pushed together but it didn't feel like it) with very nice down pillows.

Others - You also get 2 bottles of Evian daily. But water from the tap is potable anyway. Free wifi, although a bit slow.

Cons: (just teeny comments)

Bathroom - The shower was very hard to manage as it wouldn't stay at the angle I wanted (the hinge seemed to be broken) plus the glass door witht he rubber stopper wasn't enough to stop water from flowing over and getting part of the bathroom floor wet.

Room size - a bit small, but I guess expected since we were in Paris

TV - For some reason it takes AGES to change channels.

No parking at the hotel but there is a garage right behind it and it's pretty easy to get to. Expensive though at Eur 31/day.

Overall, would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belly2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are keen on coming back to the Hotel Scribe Paris.

The Hotel is indeed very well located, close to public transportation and many touristic places.

We are happy to read that you have appreciated the comfort of your room, but disappointed to hear that the a few things were not to your convenience.
As you mentioned it yourself, Parisian hotels in the city center are compelled to provide rooms a certain size, due to the beautiful ancient buildings they are implanted in, as is ours. However, all our rooms have different layout.

We insist on providing the best bedding comfort and are pleased to know that the Sofitel Mybed was a memorable experience to you.

As regard to the bathroom, I would be very happy if you could email us (H0663-DM2@sofitel.com) the room number you stayed in so we could have a look into it to avoid this kind of situation in the future.

For further journeys to Paris do not hesitate to mention your preferences to our reservations department, so we can accommodate you in the best way possible.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future, and thank you for the pleasure you gave us by sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

Beatrice Schopflin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,047)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Scribe for 3 nights, as we were in Paris for Roland Garros (the French Open). When staying in cities, I tend to prefer smaller/boutique hotels to chains, with accessible but not overbearing staff. Hotel Scribe was perfect in that regard. Everyone spoke humblingly good English, and appreciated our attempts at French. Our room was decent-sized and comfortable, with a view over Rue Scribe and windows that actually opened (though the weather was lousy). The neighborhood was very convenient -- an easy walk to the Metro and to many attractions, dining and shopping. The tea room/bar in the hotel served a delicious Croque Madame for dinner, and featured gorgeous pastries, for the night we decided we didn't want to go out to dinner (and much more reasonably priced than room service). It may not be the most "Parisian" of hotels, but it offers plenty of French flavor to go with international style.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedSabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is very nice to read your lovely comment!
The Hotel is indeed very well located, close to public transportation and many touristic places.

I am happy to read that the room was to your convenience and that our staff was able to easily communicate in English with you!

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future, and thank you for the pleasure you gave us by sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

Beatrice Schopflin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A great location with comfortable general areas and an efficient reception. We asked for a quiet room (R160) for our 5 day stay in Paris. The room was quiet and adequate but looked out over an internal roof space surrounded by other parts of the hotel. The air conditioning was poor and we needed to open the window to be able to sleep and, consequently, were bitten by mosquitoes. The hotel's restaurant is expensive but there are a number of good restaurants and cafes close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Take a mosquito repellant with you and/or query the aircon in advance.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dewi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear valued guests,

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We are very sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with your room. Indeed this room has a court view which makes it a very quiet room. As regard to the air conditioning, please accept our sincere apologies, we will approch the concerned department in order to avoid this kind of issues.
For your future stay, please do not hesitate to tell us your room preferences so we can, together, see what would suit you the most.

We are very pleased to know that you appreciated the location of the hotel, close to many touristic places, museums and shops.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

Beatrice Schopflin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed as 2 couples, and the other couple were having their 14th wedding anniversary. We had 2 rooms overlooking the Intercontinental Le Grand. Rooms very comfortable and clean and no street noise. I thought the club room would have let you into a "club" where there would be some drinks and maybe breakfast - this does not exist but you get all the soft drinks in the mini bar (which are refilled) and the room is meant to be a big bigger. We got a half bottle of champagne on arrival and the four of us had a glass each before dinner. The other couple got a half bottle on their anniversary and we shared it that night before dinner. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mctay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always very pleasant to read some nice comments.

I am happy to see that the room was to your convenience and that our staff was able to live up to your expectations.

As regard to the Club room, it's true that here at the Hotel Scribe, we do not have a Club lounge as many hotels do. But as you said, the room are spacious, with bathtub and shower, we do offer the soft drinks from the mini-bar (replenished once a day), you also have the possibility of having an early check-in and/or late check-out (depending on availibilities) and newspapers in the room.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future, and thank you for the pleasure you gave us by sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

Beatrice Schopflin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and i wanted to spend some quiet time in Paris, and the Hotel was the perfect place! We arrived from cdg airport early in the morning, and hopped on the Roissy bus which stopped nearby the hotel. Just 4 minutes walk.
Had to wait for the room to be ready ( i requested for higher floor facing the road) ..and got what i wanted! We were allowed to freshen up at the spa while waiting.
The room was very comfortable and clean and looks exactly like in the photos.

Location was excellent . Will definitely stay here again for our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dyg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Madam,

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Hotel is indeed very well located, close to public transportation and many touristic places.

I am happy to read that the room was to your convenience and that our staff was able to help you with your requests.
I am also glad to hear that you appreciated the fact that we invited you to freshen up at the spa before visiting our beautiful city as your room wasn't ready when you arrived.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future, and thank you for the pleasure you gave us by sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

Beatrice Schopflin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After a debacle booking through a third party, the hotel staff did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. The room was excellent. We were walking distance to the louvre and many other sights. There were great restaurants close by. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to spend a nice weekend in Paris.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MLTWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent A, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear valued guests,

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We are pleased to know our staff was able to live up to your expectations. The well-being and loyalty of our clientele is our priority.

We also appreciate that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel, which is very central and close to a lot of touristic places.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future, and thank you for the pleasure you gave us by sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

Vincent Arnaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great location. Extremely friendly and competent staff.
A light airy room with good sound proofing for a good nights rest.
Lobby , lounge ,bar and cafe cosy places to meet friends.
Only one negative a collection of smokers at the hotel entry!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent A, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We are pleased to know that our staff was able to live up to your expectations. The well-being and loyalty of our clientele is our priority.

As regard to the smokers at the entry of the hotel, unfortunately, there isn't much we could do as they are only allowed to smoke outside... I understand that this isn't very welcoming!
Also, we appreciate that you have enjoyed your room and had a good rest.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future, and thank you for the pleasure you gave us by sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

Vincent Arnaud
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#220 of 1,804 in Paris
699 reviews
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#372 of 1,804 in Paris
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#251 of 1,804 in Paris
371 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#240 of 1,804 in Paris
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Paris
#113 Business Hotel in Paris
#119 Family Hotel in Paris
#162 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#182 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £225 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing