We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Paris(Paris)
US$1,227
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$629
US$415
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$269
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$209
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fred Hotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$265
US$189
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$232
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$225
US$200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
US$292
US$247
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Duo(Paris)
US$319
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,212)
Filter reviews
2,212 results
Traveller rating
1,264
669
180
59
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,264
669
180
59
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshermes toiletriesluxury roomopera houseopera metro stationguest relationsclub roomturn down serviceconcierge staffgaleries lafayetteplace vendomestar hotelroissy busopera areabeautiful hotelwalking distancebreakfast buffetexcellent location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 2,212 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you like history, desire a stellar location, enjoy lavish architecture topped with class service and a touch of romance.....this may be the place for you! Easy access from Orly airport we arrived at the hotel in the evening -- real candles gracing the entryway along and excellent bellmen who quickly brought our luggage to our room while we had an excellent dinner at the on-site restaurant (rated 4.6) Google Reviews. In addition to an excellent meal, the wine list was exceptional (ordered a wonderful bottle of Sancerre). Upon entering our room we were delighted by the Bose system playing beautiful symphonic classical music/opera. We loved the high ceiling in the room and the ability to swing open the double windows overlooking the picturesque courtyard swathed in red light, window boxes and total silence outside. The location was excellent. We walked to brassieres, high end stores, flower and wine vendors as well as easy access to public (as well as on-site private) pick-up to visit everything from the Eiffel Tower to the Palace of Versailles, Moulin Rouge and more. We stayed for 4 nights, during which time the Prime Minister of France, Manuel Valls arrived for a meeting at the hotel. The consierge was fluent in English and arranged the best of everything --- from reservations at the best restaurants to getting last minute tickets at the Opéra Bastille led by conductor Philippe Jordan. A note to the ladies..... if you want to get your hair done the hotel is close to international salons. Note: skip Jacques Dessange (hard sell on products and rates dependent upon their assessment of your ability to pay). Very special thanks to the hotel for re-chilling our $350 wine from Maxims upon our departure back to Atlanta, GA. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybug2659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive comment on Trip Advisor after your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and we will pass your kind comments along to our team. It is always really nice to read such a positive review!

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Scribe the next time you visit Paris.

Kind regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I've been to Paris many times and have always stayed in different 4 and 5 star hotels. So far, none has truly impressed me until Hotel Scribe Paris. Located in one of my favorite areas in Opera Paris, this 5 star hotel is sized just about right, not too small like a boutique hotel and not too big and commercial. The amount of attention each staff gave to us has made our stay in Paris much more comfortable and happy. The rooms are good sized and have plenty of luggage space. There is also a spa with steam, jacuzzi and a fitness center all guests can use, this is especially nice after a full day of walking in Paris or a day's worth of work.

Love this hotel!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank LauraThedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply touched to read that you consider the Hotel Scribe Paris as your favourite hotel in Paris.
We are happy to learn you appreciated the professionnalism and kindness of our Ambassadors such as the comfort and location of the hotel.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here as it is advertised as a Sofitel managed hotel. Very true, but it is not a Sofitel Hotel, so Accor Club members should not expect the advantages of Accor membership. When we booked into a club room we expected a club lounge but this was not so. We had a minibar where all soft drinks were free, but nothing alcoholic and not the nibbles. We did get free bottles of water most days and the toiletries, towels etc were top notch.
A sign in the room indicated that tea, coffee etc would be replaced if you contacted housekeeping, which we did when necessary plus we asked for a jug of milk as we did not like the sachets of Lait concentre supplied ( 2 at a time ). We certainly did not expect to be charged 5 euros for the milk. Even the smallest motels in Australia provide fresh milk free of charge. Some days dirty mugs were washed, other days they were not washed. Some days tea and coffee were replaced without us asking, some days they were not replaced.
Our room was of acceptable size, with refurbished bathroom and toilet which were excellent, except that a person with physical disabilities would have trouble using either the bath or shower ( which is over the bath ) due to the height of the bath. The bed was excellent and sheets etc were changed every day! Lovely big fluffy towels and limitless hot water.
Having said all that, without a doubt, the best thing about this hotel is the staff. With one notable exception, all staff we had dealings with we're polite, friendly and professional. This is especially so for the staff at concierge - top marks.
Meals in the hotel restaurants were universally excellent.
Would I stay there again? No, there are other good hotels in Paris without the taint of misrepresentation and where club room means club lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

We are saddened that some aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations, especially as we strive to offer to our guests a "Magnifique" Parisian experience.

We understand that you were disappointed with the category of room you booked.
Here at the Hotel Scribe, we do not have a Club lounge.
For a club room we mean a spacious room (28 to 37m2), bathtub and shower, free soft drinks from the mini-bar (replenished once a day), early check-in and/or late check-out (depending on availibilities) and newspapers in the room as we describe it on our website.
We of course accept the Le Club loyalty card as we are Sofitel so you can enjoy all the advantages of the Accor Membership Program.

Please accept our sincerest apologies as regard to the mugs that were not replaced every day in your room as it should have been. That doesn't reflect the level of service we are used to deliver to our guests.

Also we would like to thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our Ambassadors as they strive to make our guest's stay memorable.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future althought you are not convinced to come back, we would like to have the opportunity to satisfy you better.
Please do not hesitate to contact us at h0663-dm2@sofitel.com should you wish to discuss further.

Best Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I visited Scribe last year after a long break of not visiting Paris. It is still a magical hotel in a great position and was as good as it ever was when I visited with my wife some twenty years ago. Staff very friendly, position great, rooms super. We always stay there when in Paris. Rooms, restaurant and service are all 'plus grande'. It has a magical stmosphere.

Room Tip: Try not to limit your spend when staying and ask for a room overlooking Rue Scribe.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Seymour M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Sir,


We would like to thank you for posting such a lovely comment on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris like it was the case twenty years ago.
We always strive to give everlasting moments to all our guests and it is a pleasure to know you felt that the Scribe Hotel has a magical atmosphere.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.


Best Regards,

Beatrice Schopflin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked the Scribe for my Wife's Birthday celebrations. The location of the Hotel is absolutely perfect with many landmarks within easy reach and Metro, Bus, Taxi and Tour-bus stops only minutes away. Excellent restaurants and shops are a pleasant stroll away

The plentiful staff are all friendly, approachable and multi-lingual. The service we received was exemplary.

The room was small but absolutely fine with a clean modern bathroom with wonderful Hermes toiletries and the bed was large and very comfortable. Both my wife and I would have no hesitation to recommend the Scribe to anyone looking to visit Paris for the first time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Sir,

We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed your parisian stay with us, and we would like to thank you for posting such a positive review of the Hotel Scribe Paris on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely thankful to you for pointing out the kindness of our Ambassadors, our ideal location and the comfort of your room.
We are also very pleased to read that you would recommend our hotel!

We certainly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near future,

Best Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews