We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Ranked #250 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Wonderful hotel in an excellent location. All the staff were very welcoming and efficient. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the deep bathtub was superb. The restaurant here is fabulous and the food is amazing. Of course, the history of this building is so interesting too and is told well...the lumiere brothers used this building...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to know that you overall enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
It is always very pleasant to read such comments.

We do hope to have the oppportunity to welcome you back very soon.

With Warm Regards

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    612
    158
    55
    33
See reviews for
415
866
109
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Excellent hotel in every way. The staff was very accommodating and courteous. We were able to walk to the Saint Honore' and many other areas in Paris. Many restaurants and shopping are nearby. Our only challenge was competing with tour groups at breakfast time. The room was a bit tight but I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livoniagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
We are sorry to read that your breakfast experience wasn't the best. Just so you know, the Lumière restaurant and the Obscur bar also offer breakfast, not buffet but A la Carte.
In the future you could maybe try to see if this option suits you better.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back.
With Warm Regards

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hotel in a historic building, that means that means the rooms are odd shaped which is fine. Also historic means the building is not tall so no view from the rooms.
Location is Fantastic! steps from the Opera, two different subway lines, tour bus depots, shopping , restaurant and we easily walked to major landmark like Eglise Madeline, Place de la Concorde, Champ Elisee, even the Eiffel tower. The staff was well trained, fluent in English - thanks Linda the conceirge for all your help
Their main floor dining room has fantastic french food and a beautiful roof (photo included)
Their breakfast buffet while good , with a large variety of options for all is in the basement
My main gripe was the lumpy uncomfortable beds.Photos included. and yes we tried different rooms so it wasnt just that bed.
they sell honey made by bees on their rooftop which mad a great last minute gift item grab
Overall we had a good time in Paris but will be trying a different hotel next time

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drneblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
It is very important to get your feedback.
We are very glad to know that you appreciated the location of the hotel, the professionalism of our Ambassadors and the food in our restaurants.
We are however saddened to read that your bed wasn't in good condition. We would very much appreciate if you could get in touch with us by email on H0663-DM2@sofitel.com to tell us what was your room number. Also we would love to discuss about your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris, hoping to make you change your mind and welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel Scribe is pricey, but you get what you pay for. The hotel is top-notch and conveniently located in the Opera district with Galleries Lafayette and Printemps within walking distance. If your trip to Paris includes spending beaucoup euros on designer handbags and clothing, this hotel is just what you're looking for. Besides that, the bed is like sleeping on a cloud. And you're going to need a cloud to sleep on after all that shopping. We ate at the tea room of the hotel and it was very nice. The staff are very professional and helpful. The Roissy bus stop is just around the corner (10.50 euros to CDG airport). If you can afford it, you can't go wrong with Hotel Scribe.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank creature62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely comment on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

It is great to learn that you appreciated our perfect location in the heart of our capital, also as the professionalism of our Ambassadors.
We are happy to know that you had a good experience with the Sofitel MyBed, which is a bed especially designed for Sofitel. Indeed very welcoming after a long day of shopping!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Hotel Scribe Paris in a near future.

With Warm Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is not only a hotel, Scribe a part of the history of Paris. Fantastic hotel in a very nice neighborhood facing The Opera. Upon arrival we were told that we have been upgraded to a larger suite. Our booking was for a junior. The staff, as you can guess, were very friendly and they gave us a great welcome. Our suite was located on the second floor which is called the Josephine Baker floor, named after Josephine, herself a legend at her time. As I said, the hotel looks like a 19th century museum with the nice bar, restaurant and a "salon de the". The name of the themed bar/restaurant is Le Lumiere which is where Lumiere Brothers showed their first film over there. Opera Metro is very close. We took advantage of the proximity of the hotel to Cafe de La Paix and had most our breakfasts over there. WIFI was free with an acceptable bandwidth. Only like all other Sofitel hotels in Europe, you have to log in every 24 hours. No sweat! In short, very nice hotel in a very nice area! Recommended.

Room Tip: We loved Suite # 272.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmirMohsen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

It is great to learn that you appreciated not only our perfect location in the heart of Paris, but also the kindness of our Ambassadors. Be assured that your warm words were shared with our entire team.
We are deeply touched to read that you would recommend our beautiful and historical hotel and that you consider it being one of the best Parisian hotel you ever stayed in.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back again very soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

With Warm Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Staff was courteous ,beds great, room had plenty of space, location near opera, restaurants and shopping. Breakfast provided was,excellent. The only non-positive was the tub/shower entrance and exit were a challenge. Enjoyed our 5 nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

We are happy to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
We would also like to thank you for your comment about the bathroom, it is always good to have this kind of feedback to improve our level of service and amenities. We are terribly sorry it did disturb you. For further reservation, we do recommend you to book a room with a shower, as it still remains easier to get in and out than the bathtub.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#220 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#126 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#347 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Castille Paris
Castille Paris
#266 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Paris
#113 Business Hotel in Paris
#119 Family Hotel in Paris
#166 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#182 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing