We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #563 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel is very well decorated and the location is fantastic. There are about 4 or 5 metro stops all within 10 minutes walking distance serving various lines. We could also walk to the Rue de Martyrs area, Montmartre, the Louvre and of course much closer than all this was the Opera building. The only minor issue was that they were redecorating the area just in front of the lifts and the noise of drilling through marble floors was incredibly loud; it would have been nice to have been offered some compensation such as access to the club floor since the communal areas were not really comfortable to be in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFunmiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille G, Responsable relations clients at Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear JFunmiB,
I thank you for your comment on your recent stay at the Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador.
I am glad you fully enjoyed our location and your Parisian experience.
I do apologize for the inconvenience you have met with the facelift of the lobby. We were not aware that the work would be that noisy as it was a matter of decoration but. I am pleased to inform you that the work is done and we are glad to offer to our guest a brand new design lobby.
I hope to have the chance to welcoming you back soon to experience our Great Room Concept
I remain at your disposal.
Best regards
Camille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

As this was mine and my partners first visit to Paris we were a little unsure on location. Having studied Google maps we decided that the Opera district was a good bet, providing easy access links throughout Paris.

The hotel, being a Marriott, we figured would hold a fairly decent standard and be just what we were looking for. The hotel clean, quiet and decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast was delicious and the bar was also pretty nice. The rooms were spacious, quiet and extremely clean. So we were very happy.

My only gripe is the prices at the bar. I made the mistake of ordering a couple of waters for the room. Which cost around €8 for a small bottle.

In terms of location, the Marriott is located on the main Boulevard, which goes all the way to the Champs Elysees. There are tonnes of delicious restaurants on the hotels doorstep, a Starbucks or two and some of the best shops Paris has to offer.

If you like to walk and see the sights, this hotel is probably just right for you. Originally we intended to take the metro around Paris but felt the walk (whilst around 20 min) to the Louvre was really enjoyable. We walked to both the Louvre/Notre Dame and also over to the Eiffel Tower fairly easily.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you like the sights and sounds of paris upgrade to an outside view. The inside courtyard rooms (l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkRossSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Location is prime, Staff is welcoming , efficient , very professional. definitely my prime choice when in Paris. Rooms are very comfortable and all services deserved recognition.
Gym is well equipped and I really appreciated the executive lounge which offers a great gateway at any time ( specially loved the quiet atmosphere at breakfast, perfect before a busy working day). Kudos to the management for a job well done during all those years. my 5th visit and looking forward to the next one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ariitea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent location, excellent staff and good room. We called the concierge a few days before we went to recommend and to book several dinners and the Moulin Rouge. they were excellent - made all the reservations and got us excellent seats at all of these. they responded best with email rather than phone. When we arrived all was set. Concierge lounge had an excellent breakfast 9never made it there for hors d'oeuvres) and the staff was "over the top". Front desk staff very attentive and helpful as well. Room was nice. gave us extra towels when we asked. Only complaint was slow elevators, but I can live with that. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights - December 30 and 31 of 2013. Lovely hotel, fantastic club (upgrade) room BUT had issues with reservations. Booked online and once arrived in Europe received a message from the manager saying we needed to book another room to accommodate our 3rd occupant - which was our 11 year old daughter... Little more stress than you want when you are on your way into Paris... Had to get Marriott US Res involved - they sorted it out but, it took a while - and we didn't have to get an extra room. Marriott Club and entire hotel staff was great. Once back in the US had to pull the receipt because naturally no rewards points were credited... While that may not seem like a big deal to most, it just shows that seamless integration does not really exist within the brand.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasTimes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel was booked for a work celebration trip. After booking we were told that the hotel was being renovated and the private room booked for the celebratory dinner was also unavailable. Lobby was being drilled to remove the tile while we were there meaning no way to get from the lobby to the upper floors without getting a manager involved. An employee came to our room to ask if we had seen a missing purple suitcase in our room, the day after we had checked in, together with a further call to the room asking if we had ordered room service...
The fan in the room was out of alignment so that it made the sound of metal on metal when it was on. I purposely left it on when I left the room for the day so that the cleaners could at least bring this to management's attention and they could then fix the problem, but it had just been turned off when we got back, and still made the same noise when we turned it on.
Unfortunately for 350 Euro per night, on a large group booking, the standard was unacceptable. Location and Paris as a city were wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille G, Responsable relations clients at Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear James W,
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor.
It is important for us at all time to give a constant and professional service. We have failed on this occasion and we will take the appropriate actions to correct this. We always strive for excellence and we are eager to meet your expectations. I am pleased to inform you that the renovation work is finished and we are glad to offer to our guest a brand new design lobby.
I remain at your disposal and please feel free to contact us directly for any future stay you might plan. We will do our best to deliver the service you will expect and organize a special treatment for you.
Kind regards
Camille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It is an easy walk to the hotel from the CDG Roissy Bus which connects the airport to central Paris for 10 €/person. Two of the three large department stores (Printemps and Galeries Lafayette) are also nearby, as is Opera Garnier. However, the area lacks outstanding, reasonably-priced restaurants within walking distance, so the access to several metro and bus lines within one block is appreciated.

Our room was pleasantly sized, though not large by US standards, with a view of a small inner courtyard (which pleased my husband as he is an extremely light sleeper) and located on a small hallway, eliminating the noise inherent from the main walkway. The room had obviously been recently renovated and the hardwood floors were nice, except when our upstairs neighbor arose early and awakened us walking around in high heels.

The hotel graciously removed the mini-bar items from the small refrigerator so we could chill our own wine, cheese and pate. The Wi-Fi in our room was reliable, though I wouldn't characterize it as fast.

The front desk staff was most pleasant (though we found the evening shift to be less accommodating).

The Concierge Lounge on the top floor is nicely furnished, though not large enough, nor with enough provisions, to accommodate a heavily booked hotel. The lounge was overwhelmed during the holiday season when more guests, many with children, were in-house. The attendant would refresh the snacks with one plate of 16 1"-square pizza pieces and another plate of 16 1"-square quiche pieces and four children would finish them off in less than five minutes, leaving nothing for the other guests. Breakfast fared a bit better, though one might expect the hotel to anticipate a heavier usage and have more staff for the lounge at times of higher demand.

For those with a short time in the city who want convenience to shopping and central Paris, the hotel is ideally located.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel
Hilton Paris Opera
#304 of 1,803 in Paris
1,752 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Renaissance Paris Republique Hotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel

Address: 16 Boulevard Haussmann, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Radisson Blu Ambassador Hotel, Paris Opera)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#351 Business Hotel in Paris
#390 Family Hotel in Paris
#446 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £196 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paris and luxury like never before at the Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel. Our perfectly located Paris hotel sits nestled in the heart of the Opera District, the Galeries Lafayette and Palais Garnier are just steps away. Enjoy 4-star accommodations and amenities here, along with elegant French cuisine at 16 Haussmann and a state-of-the-art fitness center all within our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Ambassador Hotel, Paris Opera Hotel Paris
Hotel Ambassador Paris
Radisson Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing