We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money at this location”
Review of Opera Cadet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Opera Cadet Hotel
Ranked #292 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good value for money at this location”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel was a bit difficult to find with the car and the entrance of the parking almost to small for a normal car ; very friendly staff at the reception, rooms were ready at 14h30 during high season which is ok ; the rooms are very small and equipped with just the necessary, quite disappointing for a 4* ; rooms at the backside are very quite ; the breakfastroom looks more like a cafetaria but the breakfast was ok ; not muhc choice but everything was available ; compared with the other 4* hotels in the area, the price was ok but don't stay more than a few days.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the backside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manu443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    633
    141
    35
    12
See reviews for
622
399
30
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

AAA Travel made the reservation for the 5 days we spent in Paris. Great location & good neighborhood to walk around. Close to awesome shops & restaurants. Loved the avenue the hotel was located on- open air fruit stands, hair salon, bars, stationery/ book store, pastry shop. The hotel offered a continental breakfast bar each morning. The only draw back was the room was small with twin beds. Still worth the while to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gasjoliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hi, have just arrived back in the UK from Paris after staying for 2 nights at the Opera Cadet Hotel. The hotel location is very very good, over the road from Cadet Metropolitan line and within 10 minutes walk of he Gare du Nor main railway station. The room that we stayed in (412) was a double room but very small, just enough room for a double bed, small chair and the thing you put your suitcase on to unpack. The room was very clean, could not fault the chamber maids efforts at all. There is a mini bar in the room which is obviously chargeable, there is however no tea or coffee making facilities which we found odd, perhaps its normal in Paris but as it was our 1st visit we cannot be sure. We were recommended by the hotel, various restaurants close by and based on TripAdvisor scores we went to the Bistrot Pappilon which was OK, the service was targeted towards the local clientele rather than towards those pesky tourists even if you do your best in French but the food was good. We also found a bar on the corner of Rue Pappilon by the traffic lights which does welcome tourists so its well worth going for a beer or glass of wine, we met a few locals including their dogs, the bar is run by 2 brothers and the beer and wine selection is good. Sorry got carried away with the bar, back to the hotel....in summary small, clean, great selection at breakfast, great location,friendly staff and not too expensive. Perfect for seeing Paris via the Metro, get a 1 day pass and just hop on and off where you want, one note of advice regarding the Metro, when the doors open get off and on quick because they are only open for about 10 seconds, at one station we almost got pulled out of the carriage as someone wanted to get on, take no prisoners. Enjoy, we did

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T0ttenhamSpurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Opera Cadet is on Rue Cadet off the bustling Rue La Fayette. In the heart of Paris but walking distance from major attractions including Madelene, Opera, Galleries La Fayette and even the Champs. We spent 8 nights during Christmas and loved every moment. Newly furbished rooms and so we didn't have the usual problem of creaky fittings like in run down four stars. Room faced the garden - not much of a garden but walls covered with Ivy were a green feast for the eye. Bathroom very small and room small as in most 3/4 stars in Paris. Tv perched on table should be wall mounted.The street made up for it with many pastry shops, restaurants, creperies, chocolatiers etc... Welcoming food smells lingered on.... Groceries, pharmacy, stationery and office supplies shops close by.
Break fast was served in the room and included only a bread basket , coffee, tea and one fruit juice. Could have added an egg, bacon etc Missed a peep hole on the door. Small room hence warm in spite of the cold and incessant rain. We found our door open several times when we got back to the room - nothing was missing though. Must be to do with the locking system we didn't figure out. Corridoor smelled of cigarette smoke all the time but rooms were smell free. Staff ok - no concierge or fringe facilities but receptionists knowledgeable and friendly. Avoid the Giovanni pizzeria nearby on Rue la Fayette - pushy, pricey and predictable.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the garden it was quiet and safe. I spent several nights alone - not used to it. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swapna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our room faced the street but it was mainly pedestrian noise, and died down after about 11 p.m. Not a problem for us but could see how it might bother some, especially those adjusting after a trans-Atlantic flight. Location very close to the Cadet Metro stop, and several great restaurants. Bathroom was small but the toilet area was separate which was nice. Shower - challenging to stand in the right spot to avoid getting water on the floor. Breakfast was good - enough choices to please most. Liked the location & the staff was very helpful during our stay, especially getting us a room at 8 a.m. in the morning. On a future visit, will probably check into hotels closer to the Seine - where we spent most of our Paris visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and two teenage daughters stayed at the Opera Cadet for 4 nights in July 2013. We had a room on upper floor near the front of the hotel despite my repeated requests to be near the back. We didn't get much sleep due to loud noise out front from late night partiers most nights and/or or the poor air conditioning. I think the location was also less than ideal as there were gangs of uncontrolled "youth" running the streets a block away and one teenager actually knocked me off my feet (I was ok) as my family ran for cover. Despite this hotel and location, we had a great time in Paris as I refused to let the hotel ruin the vacation. Only positive I can say about the hotel is close proximity to the Metro to facilitate a quick escape. I would try and stay closer to the Champs-Elysees next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrJets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iradj C, General Manager at Opera Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Monsieur,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at the Opera Cadet.
We regret that you did not enjoy some aspects of the hotel but we would like to offer you a few explanations concerning the comments you made.
As you have seen, we are limited in the number of rooms that are suitable to accommodate a family of 4 such as yours, and very few are facing the garden.
The hotel is located in the 9th district of Paris, considered a safe neighborhood and quite lively with lots of locals, especially in July.
We are very sorry that you encountered a bad experience near the Hotel, but we know that in Paris, like in any major capitals, things beyond our control can happen.
Finally, we are pleased to see that you did not let this ruin your vacation in the City of Lights!
Best regards,
Iradj Champs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Good:
good location
metro station just across the street
plenty of restaurants and bars near by
nice breakfast

The Bad:
thiny room
Horrible bathroom
Ugly furniture
Staff not helpful

Next time in Paris we will look for something different.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Les Plumes Hotel
Les Plumes Hotel
#181 of 1,800 in Paris
771 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
Monsieur Cadet Hotel & Spa
#231 of 1,800 in Paris
492 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Pax Opera
Hotel Pax Opera
#365 of 1,800 in Paris
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint-Marc
Hotel Saint-Marc
#17 of 1,800 in Paris
324 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#265 of 1,800 in Paris
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Cadet Hotel

Property: Opera Cadet Hotel
Address: 24 rue Cadet, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#221 Family Hotel in Paris
#261 Business Hotel in Paris
#373 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera Cadet is located in a charming, typically Parisian side street within walking distance of the Opera, the Galeries Lafayette and the excellent shopping area. The hotel is decorated with a touch of class and has spacious public rooms, bar, lounge, a delightful conservatory and a pretty garden. All the rooms and suites are sound-proofed, air-conditioned and have full bath, satellite TV (CNN-BBC-TVEI), safe, mini-bar and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Opera Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Cadet
Opera Cadet Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing