We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victor Masse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victor Masse
Ranked #1,045 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I've read a lot if criticisms regarding the location of Victor Masse initially worrying me. I found the location convenient and safe. I never felt uncomfortable with my surroundings and as a solo traveller walked through the streets late at night numerous times. The hotel is located amongst numerous cafes, restaurants, supermarkets, bakeries and the lot. It's only a short walk to multiple metro train stations

The staff are incredibly friendly and are available at all hours to give you your key which they insist on holding until you get back to the hotel. The free breakfast was very simple but I didn't find anything wrong with that.

The room was very basic but didn't exclude any real necessity. The bathroom was extremely small and cramped however. Like many reviewers mentioned the walls between rooms are not sound proofed but I didn't find it too disturbing.

Although initially underwhelmed, the Victor Masse serves as a good budget hotel with great, friendly staff

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    262
    165
    34
    28
See reviews for
61
344
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuw Vennep, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We read a lot of reviews on this hotel, including someone saying it was a horrible place to stay. Bathrooms were supposed to be bad and do not stay in room 206! You can imagine the feeling we had when we were issued the key to room number... yes... 206.

We were pleasantly surprised actually about the room! They have been doing renovations. The room was clean, the bathroom very stylish but all in all very small. The room was dark and the bed was squeeking with every move, and we woke up with backpains. Ofcourse we know, most hotelroooms (at least the budget ones..) are small and noisy, but this was pushing it a bit to the limits. However, we made no complaints about this. It's not like they can soundproof and expand our room upon our request. Small things that they can improve on easily, are a list of phonenumbers with the telephone (like.. how to contact the front desk, emergency numbers etc.) and perhaps coffee and tea making facilities. Also, in our opinion. they should offer a bit more with the breakfast. There is a small buffet with pain au chocolat, croissant, petit pain, cereals and coffee and tea. For the bread, they just have jam, butter and some creamcheese. We were defenitly missing some eggs... :)

All in all, it is obvious this hotel is trying really hard to improve the hotel (compared to older pictures here on tripadvisor and what we have seen). Purely decorative, they are doing well. But the beds and sound should improve. A major plus to the hotel is the staff. They are very friendly, accomodating and understand the concept of service.

I'm not sure if I'd stay in this hotel again, because of the beds and sound. If this would improve, I would think it's worth going back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeanutH_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grüningen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Victor Masse Hotel is just a little walk away from Moulin Rouge. The Room was quite bit with 3 beds for 2 People. Rooms was fashioned in dark colours, but was clean so far. Wifi was free for 1st hour and then you have to pay to use it further, but for very reasonable price. Sleep was not that pelasant, believe I felt the Metro passing under the Hotel, even we stayed on 6th floor. Breakfast was OK, even some Joghurt to the standard Croissants/bread. OK for the price paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The room was very dated but was clean enough and was very quiet and dark so help us get some good sleeps close to the trains witch are very good staff were nice and the breakfast had a good range of stuff good value

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This place was very friendly, good service and great location. Bathroom smelled off on arrival and despite two cleans stayed that way. Room reasonably sized, bed ok, just lacking in air con! Very noisy at night too even after midnight. Lovely staff though and breakfast standard. Excellent cheap wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisiennelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced location to stay then this may suit you. The rooms are nothing exceptional but are cleaned to the highest standard (absolutely amazingly so when we stayed). Hotel reception staff were friendly and of assistance whenever approached with some staff being exceptional while others were more average. We arrived earlier than check-in time and were asked to store bags in a storage room across a passage. Ask if you can store more valuable small items behind the desk - the staff are obliging in helping you do this if asked. The breakfasts are basic and the pastries are good, although the dining area is small, just coping when busy with the number of guests.
Despite what some other reviews say about the area we never felt unsafe. There is a small supermarket around the corner (100 metres) with an excellent selection of food, etc. if you do not want to eat out. There are many bakeries in the area also so acquiring something affordable to eat is not a problem. Up the hill about 400m is an area with souvenir shops and some cafes although they were not that great. If you want to do some washing you can do this quite close to the hotel (also about 400m away).
Our 6 day stay was pleasant and the staff always trying to accommodate any requests. An economical place to stay that was very clean.

Room Tip: We had a back room which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The best things about the hotel: the lady who works at reception is very helpful and friendly; there's a free continental breakfast; the metro and bus station is only a few minutes walk away. The not so desirable things: the young man who was in reception when we arrived was very unfriendly and unhelpful; the room had no air conditioning and was unbearably stuffy unless the window was open; with the window open it was extremely noisy due to the neighbouring night clubs, bars and construction work directly outside (it was late June so this may have finished by now). If you want a budget hotel and are happy to either put up with the noise (or join the party!) then it's worth staying. If you're on the road for a long time like us and want some peace then it may not suit you.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - not sure if they have any but it would help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzkiwicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#927 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#378 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#989 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Grand Hotel de Turin
Grand Hotel de Turin
#1,114 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera Frochot
Hotel Opera Frochot
#864 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Styles Paris Pigalle Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor Masse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor Masse

Property: Hotel Victor Masse
Address: 32 B rue Victor Masse, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victor Masse 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in a typically Parisian area where artists as Monet, Pissarro, Cezanne, famous painters of the impressionist period daily met. Close to the Sacre-Coeur, the Bal du Moulin Rouge, the Opera Garnier and large department stores. Metro and buses at 200 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Victor Masse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Masse Hotel
Victor Masse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing