We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victor Masse”
Review of Hotel Victor Masse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victor Masse
Ranked #1,069 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice clean tidy facilities, well presented rooms. Centrally located to Lafayette, Opera, Moulin Rouge, Montmartre.
Good customer service. Typical small rooms well priced. All the music and guitar shops also are in this district. Two excellent restaurants within 200m. Le petit Cunard and caffe Jadis. Both excellent.

Room Tip: Sorry no pool or fitness centre. I couldn't unstick the items on my iPad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyleChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were in Paris last week - we arrived at the hotel and spent one hour trying to find another hotel - it was nothing like the pictures, it was very very dirty. We checked out within the hour. The manager didn't ask why or if he could do anything, he simply called a taxi for us as per my request. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

too noisy ,whenever some body walking you can count the steps!wi fi speed is terrible.there is no air conditioning in my room....we are close to the sex shop and bars....a little bit not so safe to walk around 11pm.....but the location is not so bad... near to metro station....breakfast was good...i don't recommend it....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bahar-arian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

the Victor Masse is located in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in Paris, is a small hotel but the service is excellent, the breakfast small but delicious an the rooms have a perfect size and very clean. The view from the room is great, the famous Paris´chimneys

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mein p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend just came back from out Paris holiday and we couldn't be happier with the choice of hotel. Staff are very helpful, rooms clean and are cleaned every morning. Location is just perfect: a short walk from Pigalle metro station although we rarely used it and walked everywhere to enjoy Paris to the full. From hotel to Louvre would take approximately 30 minutes. At first I thought the area (next to the Moulin Rouge) would be a problem due to the many 'gentlemen's clubs' and sex shops in the vicinity, however, unless you have small children who might ask uncomfortable questions, we never felt unsafe in any way, even when we were walking back to the hotel late at night.

The only downside I could mention is the lack of air conditioning in the room (which we happened to need since the weather was hot in the week we stayed there) and the noise from the street (which affected us most since we had to sleep with the window open due to the heat in the room at night).

Other than that, it is just perfect for those who are not looking for any luxury but a cheap place to stay which is in a good location and is cosy and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS21284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From metro station Pigalle is just a short walk. Easy to find and convenient to visit Paris from/to by walk, by bus or by metro. The area is very characteristic, although you really need to watch out for pick-pockets, as all around the city anyway. The hotel is small, but well kept and clean.
There is a small elevator which comes handy, especially when you travel with luggage.
The room is also very small, but it is not something that bothers me at all. The bathroom seems newly renovated and all got cleaned every day. The room was facing an internal street, so no external noise, but if you are unlucky to get some noisy neighbour guests, it will be like having them in your room. Wi-Fi works well and is a cheap extra 2 euros for 10 hours (which don't have to be consecutive), although having to log in every time is a bit annoying. The personnel was kind and did not have any issues. We had no breakfast here, but nearby you have lots of awesome bakeries from Brioche Dorée to the one elected best bakery in Paris, where the president shops: Au Levain d'Antan.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francy_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

As probably most of tripadvisor users, I did normal, rather precise research, before deciding. It seemed that Victor Masse would be a good solution for us.
For us, hotel is mainly a base and headquarters to have some rest, to sleep, hopefully to have a reasonable breakfast and to plan the day´s program and not the least for searching for the place to have dinner using fluently working wifi connection. Of course location should enable smooth going, transition where ever your point of interests are.
Also important features are tidiness, rather precisely adjustable warm shower and nice, helpful, professional staff with good knowledge about how´s the city´s working and where´s what.

Victor Masse was nearly exactly as it was described at tripadvisor (if you have learned to read, decode it) and as I described above. Price was even less than expected, if thinking of it afterwards.

For a Scandinavian, "continental" breakfast is always a disappointment because of the lack of sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs etc. but when you know what to expect and especially if you are an enthusiast of bun, cake and croissants, Victor Masse´s was just fine.

Location near Pigalle was optimal also if thinking of going back to Roissy. Only few steps to Pigalle metro station and then one stations (three minutes) and next straight to Gare du Nord.

Can´t figure out anything relevant bad about Victor Masse, room was big ebough and quiet. ..... Maybe just a tiny thing. It felt a little bit strange that wifi wasn´t all free. Didn´t cost nearly anything but still? Would it be easier to add maybe 5 € to the whole price and to avoid kind of stupid; counting hours -system?

If someone says that French aren´t so extreme polite to foreigners... Well, you can´t notice it here. We got all the help needed with a friendly smile.
We were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Risto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,138 of 1,803 in Paris
401 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera Frochot
Hotel Opera Frochot
#700 of 1,803 in Paris
306 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#413 of 1,803 in Paris
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Villa Margaux Opera Montmartre
Opera / Bourse
Royal Mansart
Royal Mansart
#1,416 of 1,803 in Paris
168 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#981 of 1,803 in Paris
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor Masse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor Masse

Address: 32 B rue Victor Masse, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#174 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £66 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victor Masse 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in a typically Parisian area where artists as Monet, Pissarro, Cezanne, famous painters of the impressionist period daily met. Close to the Sacre-Coeur, the Bal du Moulin Rouge, the Opera Garnier and large department stores. Metro and buses at 200 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Victor Masse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Masse Hotel
Victor Masse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing