We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Ranked #383 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

A little gem in the centre of Paris! great transport links to every area in Paris and a walk away from Opera! hotel was truly a lovely touch to our stay in Paris, beautifully decorated and room was quirky and fun! very clean with very friendly and helpful staff - definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 878vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    238
    69
    32
    12
See reviews for
88
346
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bonn
Level Contributor
302 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here recently for a weekend and were happy with our stay, though the air con could have been more effective (useful in July heat for sleeping comfortably) and the room was very small. Overall though we found the rooms to be clean, we used the Senseo coffe machine and the bathroom had a super shower. A separate loo was also appreciated. Breakfast was generous, especially for France, with scrambled eggs and sausage as well as the usual yoghurt, compote, bread, crosissants jam etc, but in a downstairs room which was very hot.
We found the area to be better than expected, as there are the sex shops and massage parlours, of course, however just around the corner is also a Monoprix department store, open late and on Sundays, which sells detailed Paris maps. And if you go up the rue Lepic, there are good Chinese delicatessen, where you can have dim sum or if you walk 5 mins to place Clichy, there are several restaurants, including the classic Wepler brasserie or for an unbeatable lunch menu, Leon de Bruxelles.
All in all, a friendly place to stay in the city, with a garage (54 Euros for the weekend) 2 mins down the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I visited Paris for a romantic weekend, saw all the sights and had a wonderful two days. The highlight was undoubtedly the beautiful hotel Josephine. Don’t be deceived by the location, which is near the Moulin Rouge and actually only 10 minutes to the center on the metro. The hotel is amazing really well decorated and very stylish. We were fortunate enough to stay in room 603, which has a quirky balcony and roll top bath. The staff were amazing and made us feel really welcome, going beyond the normal expected level of service. Absolutely brilliant! My wife was VERY happy!!

Room Tip: room 603 is the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

A funky, fun place to stay. We arrived by subway after dark and the risqué night life was in full swing in the area surrounding the train station. Sex shops galore with many neon lights. This was unnerving as we were traveling with our children(14,18). Anyway, we walked about two blocks to the hotel and what a difference two blocks made. Lovely, spacious rooms(by European standards) with very pleasant, helpful staff. Very convenient to public transportation. Delightful bakeries, Starbucks close by. Absolutely wonderful restaurants closeby. Try Le Chinon for dinner- it's up the hill on the walk towards Montmartre. There is also a little restaurant with fantastic pizza a few doors down from Moulin Rouge if walking towards Place de Clichy- sorry cannot remember the name. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask about construction. They were working on the building just outside our window. It wasn't rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family stayed here at end of June / July 2014....very funky style, clean and overall not bad. Very good continental breakfast but slow to replenish. Air conditioner did not work in either of our 2 rooms all week which sucked. The area was a little risque....up a block from the Moulin Rouge which we thought was fine thinking it to be a historic old burlesque which it is however every second shop was sex shop so not very family friendly. Bad advice from our travel agent on that one.
Again, clean hotel, pleasant staff, breakfast good

Room Tip: Make sure it has air conditioning as it is noisy if you have to have your window open....no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuggs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was a wonderful combination of classic Parisian charm and modernity. Elevators, good wifi connection and big TV and lots of plugs (sorry, we travel with a lot of electronics due to work so that's important) and spacious, comfortable bathrooms. The decor was amazing, though the room was a bit small. We also really enjoy the complimentary breakfasts - you can make your own fresh squeezed orange juice and they have hot foods, so like a combo-English and Continental breakfast. Very close to a pharmacy and Monoprix and a good metro. We took a fantastic walking tour (by Sandman's Free Europe) that started just two blocks away and learned a ton about Paris during the belle epoque.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picotin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

A chic place, that my wife and I both loved. Staff is super attentive, and its amazingly close to the Moulin Rouge (200m).

Even if not planning to visit the Moulin Rouge, the hotel is worth the visit. Rooms are great (try to get a corner or balcony room), very clean, spacious enough to not feel cramped when taking a shower.

Will stay here again on future visits!

Room Tip: 5th floor corner room, or room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles-M-SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel R. Kipling by HappyCulture
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#343 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Timhotel Opera Blanche Fontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Trinite Haussmann
Hotel Trinite Haussmann
#817 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Magenta 38 by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Address: 67 rue Blanche, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#232 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#280 Business Hotel in Paris
#308 Family Hotel in Paris
#404 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the crazy years colorful and generous, you will be charmed by our floral decor reminiscent of a modern and revisited version of the cabaret. Come to enjoy a typical stay in an atmosphere Chic & Glamour signed by the artist and decorator Julie Gauthron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Grand Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing