We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean in a good area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Ranked #433 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Frenkendorf
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice and clean in a good area”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had two adjoing rooms on the second floor. One room was quite small, faced the backyard and was therefore very quiet. The other room was bigger and faced the street. Everything was very clean and nice and the beds very comfortable. The only thing that disturbed us was the heat. The aircondition did not work (as I have now understood for a longer time) so after the first very hot (29°C) night we got fans which helped a lot. Opening the windows was not an option as the front room was facing the street (noicy) and in front of the window of the back room there was scaffolding and it was very dirty. We were there on a weekend so the construction site next door did not bother us. The area is nice, very close to the metrostation "Blanche" and Moulin Rouge and the Montmartre area. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I can imagine that they are having a hard time with all the complaints regarding the broken air-condition and regarding the construction site next door and I hope that the owners of the hotel will do something about the air condition soon and that the construction next door (which will be another hotel) will be finished soon. In the meantime I recommmend that they inform the guests when they arrive about the broken air condition and put a fan in every room so that you don't have to ask for it first. Maybe offer the breakfast for free would also be a nice treat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    246
    71
    35
    17
See reviews for
93
367
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were supposed to stay at the R Kipling hotel, but apparently it was experiencing 'technical difficulties' and was 'broken'? So we were moved to the Hotel Josephine. We stayed for four nights and had to move room three times. The first room leaked so very quickly we were moved to the room next door (half the size and since coming home and looking on the website, it must have been the smallest room in the hotel). It was so tiny it wasn't possible to walk around the bed and there was no room for our suitcases. After two nights cramped in this room, I was a bit fed up as I had paid extra for a superior room at the R Kipling with a bath - I asked if there were any other rooms available - the very bored and arrogant guy on reception handed out another key - and luckily, this room was 3 times the size. So for the last night at least, we had a decent room. However, during our stay the maid who cleaned (very nicely) for us when we were out, left the shower on full with the door wide open and flooded the floor (presumably by accident?!) The hotel also experienced other 'floods' and whilst we stayed there the reception ceiling had water leaking from many areas (which the staff pretended to ignore) but which meant that walking out of the hotel each day, you had to try to dodge where the water might be dripping down. Eventually after a couple of days big holes appeared in the ceiling but again, the staff appeared to pretend they weren't there! The breakfast area was nice, and the breakfasts were fine. Some of the reception staff were nice. One young guy in particular was really lovely and friendly, there was also a young dark haired guy and a lady who were all very polite - just the one older, arrogant and unfriendly guy who ALWAYS seemed to be manning reception let the hotel down by being rude. I am amazed that this hotel is deemed 4 star. I really didn't think there was much 4 star about a leaking hotel with problems in many rooms.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing the floor plans before booking a room. There are teeny tiny rooms that would pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Josephine in mid-July for 3 nights as part of my wife's 30th birthday celebrations. The location is excellent, just down the road from the metro (Blanche) and only 200m away from the Moulin Rouge. It's only a short walk away from the Sacre Coeur too which is well worth a visit.
The hotel itself is quite small and intimate. We stayed in room 105 on the first floor which was a good size with nice facilities. The staff were very friendly and all spoke English well, and the breakfast was excellent (downstairs in a cavern-style room, v nice).

However we experienced two major issues which sadly affected our whole stay. Firstly, when we arrived the temperatures were in their 30's and as we entered the hotel we spotted a sign saying that unfortunately the air conditioning was out of order. As we opened the front door it was like walking into a sauna! Sadly our room was stiflingly hot for all 3 nights of our stay. On the first night we spoke with staff who were very apologetic but couldn't do anything about it as they were waiting for an engineer (it would appear that the air-con had been out of action for at least 4 days before we arrived...). They only suggested we move to a different room on the fifth floor, but when I checked it out it was even hotter, so we declined and stayed in room 105. In any other situation we would have opened all the windows to try to cool the room down, but the noise from the traffic outside would have definitely meant a sleepless night, so we kept them shut. Therefore for the 3 nights of our stay the thermometer in the room registered above 28 degrees, too hot I'm afraid. For a 4* hotel we would expect them to do more to get the problem resolved, or at least offer us a discount on our stay, but this never happened.

Secondly, there is currently building work taking place on the adjoining building, and on two occasions we were woken up by banging and drilling from this. Very disappointing although we appreciate this isn't their fault!

So to conclude, all in all it's a decent hotel in which we would be happy to stay again if we could guarantee working air-con and no building works!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eppo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A little gem in the centre of Paris! great transport links to every area in Paris and a walk away from Opera! hotel was truly a lovely touch to our stay in Paris, beautifully decorated and room was quirky and fun! very clean with very friendly and helpful staff - definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 878vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonn
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here recently for a weekend and were happy with our stay, though the air con could have been more effective (useful in July heat for sleeping comfortably) and the room was very small. Overall though we found the rooms to be clean, we used the Senseo coffe machine and the bathroom had a super shower. A separate loo was also appreciated. Breakfast was generous, especially for France, with scrambled eggs and sausage as well as the usual yoghurt, compote, bread, crosissants jam etc, but in a downstairs room which was very hot.
We found the area to be better than expected, as there are the sex shops and massage parlours, of course, however just around the corner is also a Monoprix department store, open late and on Sundays, which sells detailed Paris maps. And if you go up the rue Lepic, there are good Chinese delicatessen, where you can have dim sum or if you walk 5 mins to place Clichy, there are several restaurants, including the classic Wepler brasserie or for an unbeatable lunch menu, Leon de Bruxelles.
All in all, a friendly place to stay in the city, with a garage (54 Euros for the weekend) 2 mins down the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I visited Paris for a romantic weekend, saw all the sights and had a wonderful two days. The highlight was undoubtedly the beautiful hotel Josephine. Don’t be deceived by the location, which is near the Moulin Rouge and actually only 10 minutes to the center on the metro. The hotel is amazing really well decorated and very stylish. We were fortunate enough to stay in room 603, which has a quirky balcony and roll top bath. The staff were amazing and made us feel really welcome, going beyond the normal expected level of service. Absolutely brilliant! My wife was VERY happy!!

Room Tip: room 603 is the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A funky, fun place to stay. We arrived by subway after dark and the risqué night life was in full swing in the area surrounding the train station. Sex shops galore with many neon lights. This was unnerving as we were traveling with our children(14,18). Anyway, we walked about two blocks to the hotel and what a difference two blocks made. Lovely, spacious rooms(by European standards) with very pleasant, helpful staff. Very convenient to public transportation. Delightful bakeries, Starbucks close by. Absolutely wonderful restaurants closeby. Try Le Chinon for dinner- it's up the hill on the walk towards Montmartre. There is also a little restaurant with fantastic pizza a few doors down from Moulin Rouge if walking towards Place de Clichy- sorry cannot remember the name. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask about construction. They were working on the building just outside our window. It wasn't rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel R. Kipling by HappyCulture
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#369 of 1,801 in Paris
442 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Timhotel Opera Blanche Fontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maison Nabis by HappyCulture
#306 of 1,801 in Paris
559 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
#460 of 1,801 in Paris
507 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel le Chat Noir
Hotel le Chat Noir
#378 of 1,801 in Paris
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture
Address: 67 rue Blanche, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#271 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#280 Business Hotel in Paris
#308 Family Hotel in Paris
#404 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the crazy years colorful and generous, you will be charmed by our floral decor reminiscent of a modern and revisited version of the cabaret. Come to enjoy a typical stay in an atmosphere Chic & Glamour signed by the artist and decorator Julie Gauthron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Grand Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing