We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$216
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Hotels.com
US$216
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Agoda.com
US$183
View deal
Expedia.comUS$216
PricelineUS$216
eDreamsUS$216
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveller rating
461
332
99
49
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
461
332
99
49
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moulin rouge boutique hotel breakfast was excellent busy street clean hotel central paris montmartre metro foyer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 972 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel and would stay here again.
The hotel is in monmartre , and is a 2 minute walk from the moulin rouge and monmartre area which is worth a visit . Lovely food and cafes round here. Metro near by i would recommend buying at pass it's easy to get around .
The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. Reception staff helpful , rooms
Cleaned daily always gave us fresh towels. We used room service once and they were great .
Rooms small quirky and cute. Beds very comfy , lovely shower and wi fi always worked .
Breakfast in the cellar is lovely choice of eggs sausages parries coffee tea and great range of food , but to be honest breakfast in that cheap in Paris it's not essential to get it there in my opinion just a tip :)
Stay here yon won't be disappointed

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank miss_phonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OumakhloufRachid, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear miss_phonics,

We have read your comment with great interest and we thank you for sharing it. You mention the great location of out hotel, indeed it is very easy to get around from here and you have all sorts choice transport wise, with buses and foot distance sightseeing too.
We are proud you have found our staff friendly and helpful! the clean rooms and confortable beds as well as the showers and the many other services that can be provided here to our customers every day. You have also enjoyed our breakfast!
Best of all, you recommend our hotel and would come back next time! Feel welcome!! We will continue our efforts to bring you the best!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This is a lovely hotel, in a great location. The two ladies at reception went out of their way to help us, providing great customer service.
The hotel is modern in design but still feels like a part of old Paris. Breakfast is served in the basement, and I really liked the interior design. WiFi is available, as a plentiful supply of books!
I have three reasons for dropping a star of this review.
1) I had e-mailed ahead with our booking to say that it was our 10th wedding anniversary, but nothing was made of it. I wasn't expecting champagne, but something to mark the occasion would have been nice.
2) The streets outside are noisy at night-time. I suppose that is the pay-off for being in such a good, atmospheric location.
3) They didn't replenish our coffee in the room when they brought clean towels.
But these points are just meant for feedback, rather than to criticise.

All in all, it was a really lovely place to stay and we had a wonderful weekend.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank upforalaugh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OumakhloufRachid, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear upforalaugh77,

Thank you for your sincere comment. We are uneasy to hear that nothing was made of your Wedding celebration, specially since our team enjoys participating in all of our customers's special occasions! It is a pity we missed this opportunity to do so. Please also be aware, our team prepares with great care anything that our customers demand. We have special packages too that can be arranged in advance, and we always try to satisfy all needs so our customers have a terrific experience.
You also saw that we were very well located and how easy it is to get around, it is difficult to have better transport options and be away from all noise. We hope you will understand this.
As for room service be assured we will talk about the coffee incident to our staff. We don't like to overlook things and your comment will help to improve ourselves.
Finally, thank you for noting us so generously. We hope you'll give us another chance to gain the star you dropped sometime soon!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for an extended weekend, and the hotel was a pleasant experience. I booked thru British Airways, and didn't really know what to expect.

The location is perfect, with Montmartre next door, and Louvre, Tuillerie, The Seine, Champ's Elysee etc within easy walking distance, we didn't really need the metro. But, if you do, it's just two minutes walk away.

The staff was very friendly and eager to make sure that you got the service and help need.

The rooms are nicely decorated, our's a bit small, but then again, we didn't come to stay in the room. The only negative was that the AC didn't work, which would have been great with 35 degrees outside.

And the breakfast was great, with freshly baked bread, fresh fruit salad made on the premises and everything else very good, all served in a cosy basement.

If I'm going to Paris again, I'll stay here!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 914geirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OumakhloufRachid, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Dear Geir,

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to post your opinion. We are greatly honoured to learn that your experience was an overall very positive one! Please be assured, all your comments concerning AC troubles are taken seriously.
We are happy that you found our location suitable for all sightseeing by foot, and that you found our team professional as well as kind and helpful! You also pointed out our very complete breakfast with fresh bread and fresh fruits as well as a big choice of other things.
You will find many other great reasons to come and discover our establishment while visiting Paris.
Thank you again for recommending so favorably our hotel, we will be delighted to host you again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Staff are amazing!! rooms, don't get me wrong, are not luxurious by some big posh hotels standards BUT this hotel gives you the whole French Experience!! To start with The Moulin Rouge is at the top of the street! Easy access from metro. Staff can't do enough to help. The hotel itself is chic, retro and totally fabulous. Quirky in decor. The breakfast is held in the basement cellar and has something for everyone!! Can't fault it xx

Room tip: Affordable excellence, without the snobbery!!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eggnog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OumakhloufRachid, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear martinlewis1968,

We are so pleased to hear your enthusiasm concerning our Hotel Josephine! Indeed we aspire to always offer the very best of "The French Experience" to all! We are happy you enjoyed the decor, the unique style of Hotel Josephine, as well as the great geographical situation in Paris. If our staff can't so enough to help is because they want everyone to be HAPPY during their stay. Fantastic you enjoyed breakfast as well, thank you for pointing it out.
Don't hesitate to repeat your experience!! We'll be delighted to have you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Just minutes away from the Moulin Rouge and based in the heart of the Artisan area Montmarte, easily accessible by Metro, Bus and plenty of taxis. 25 mins from the CDG Airport. Perfect typical little french rooms (the family room we stayed in was in fact two smaller rooms with their own WC and shower facilities, and looking out onto a lovely courtyard).
Reception staff friendly and accommodating, and had good enough English to inform us of what we needed. (Although, make sure you're not lounging in the heat in your birthday suit in the morning... the cleaner never knocked and walked right in on me... what a sight to be greeted with... but she knocked in future! oops!)
Clean, bright and quirky.
The Continental Breakfast was certainly filling and the food was lovely, fresh and very tasty. The Breakfast is served in a bright stone cellar and the wait staff were so lovely, friendly and very very hardworking.
We were there for a wedding and a good few of the party were staying too, and everyone enjoyed their stay.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Osibhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OumakhloufRachid, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Osibhi,

Hello and thankyou for taking the time to write this review of your stay. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you chose our hotel in order to celebrate this very special occasion! a Family gathering and a wedding!
It is fantastic that you were able to get around easily, as you have seen we are well located and getting to all sightseeing monuments in Paris is very easy and practical.

I do apologize that the cleaning lady did not knock on the door. This does not reflect our service! We have informed the cleaning staff of this incident so proper measures are taken to continue respecting customer's privacy.
You have also mentioned you liked the friendly staff, be assured they are always willing to help, and also the tasty breakfast! Thankyou for mentioning our teams' efforts. We hope we'll remain your special hotel in Paris for some other special family occasion.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews