We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Havre
Ranked #1,683 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The location is good. Price for one night 150 eur in the single room was way too high for the quality you get. Breakfast is limited. Coffee was bad, no fresh items at all. Baguette was ok. Awful noice from the street during the night. So if you decide on this hotel you should make sure that the room is not the the rue dÁmsterdam.

Room Tip: Room facing the street are awfully noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScandinavianHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel du Havre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

What a terrible place to stay!! The grumpy old man at the desk needs a lesson in customer service and just plain manners as he yelled at us as soon as we walked in the door and got irate at the most straightforward questions. The location is ok but the noise from the traffic is so loud it is difficult to sleep in due to the walls not being thick enough and there is no air con which on 30 degree days isnt acceptable. The elevator at most fits in two people which makes it most difficult when travelling in a big group!! Never again would I stay here!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed there 2 weeks ago, the room, towels and bedding were clean and quite comfortable. I suggest you take your own pillow with you, as the one provided by the hotel is good for one night only. Seriously, we expected it to be quite bad after reading all the reviews, but it was amazing, we left early in the mornings and came back late in the evenings so it was a perfect place to just sleep. Our room was facing the street, and we could hear the train during the day but I did not hear anything during nights. Our room wasn't big but it really served its purpose.
Across the street from the hotel is a metro/train station, there is also Starbucks, and there is a little grocery shop in the shopping mall. We didn't have the breakfast at hotel due to the reviews we read and its cost, we just went to Starbucks in the morning.
Another thing, we were driving to Paris and we left our car in the shopping mall car park (which is just across the street).. we booked it online so we got a really good deal on it.

I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A shame cannot post the photo...
A room say 4 to 5m2 standing up below the roof. No shutter so waiking up at 6am. Breakfast choice awful, milk even mixed with water to optimize !
Cost : 140€
Only good point:reception staff charming (surely not responsible of such nightmare)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamyleyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I enjoyed the hotel. It's clean and the room is quite big, with a good bathroom. Very well located, few meters from subway station and Stores. Restaurant with reasonable breakfast. A little bit noisy, because it's near to the subway. Nice for travelling alone or business.

Room Tip: nice, clean, cheap
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scancissu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Pro: staff is friendly; position is quite central; bathroom was clean.

Cons: the floor is quite noisy while walking (old parquet + moquette). WC was extremely noisy too. I could hear every metro passing (I guess it is built just above the metro station). It is possible to hear everything happens in neighbor rooms. The mattress was definitely asymmetric and the pillow was stick to the bet sheets (is this common in Paris? I find it weird). Bathroom had broken tiles and scratches. The breakfast is expensive compared to the little things offered. The guy bringing the clean placemats licked his finger for taking every single one. IMHO The overall price is slightly higher than the average for a lower service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugenio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week,as part of a school trip through Italy and France. Before arriving I was very apprehensive, having read many poor reviews. The good news, is that it was not as bad as I feared. I had actually packed pillowcases after reading that they don't provide them. Pillowcases were provided (although a bit nobbly) and I really can't complain about this hotel. The rooms, beds (and elevator) are small, but that seems to be the norm in France and Italy. Wifi was free and easy to use. The location is very good, continental breakfast was decent. Our room was clean. There was a fair bit of noise from the road outside, through the night, and the pillows could use upgrading (they are a bit tired), but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21OccasionalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
#1,077 of 1,804 in Paris
682 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Calvados
Grand Hotel Du Calvados
#1,619 of 1,804 in Paris
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
#866 of 1,804 in Paris
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Hotel Opera
New Hotel Opera
#1,283 of 1,804 in Paris
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Opera Deauville Hotel
Opera Deauville Hotel
#1,196 of 1,804 in Paris
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
#875 of 1,804 in Paris
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Havre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Havre

Address: 9th Arr 18 rue d Amsterdam, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,683 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £69 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel du Havre 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel du Havre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing