We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and good location”
Review of Vintage Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintage Hostel
Ranked #14 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in the 4 bed dorm with private bathroom. Room was clean, a little small but it's okay coz you're just there to sleep. Breakfast was complimentary and very good. Fresh yummy croissants, juice, tea and coffee, muffins and some breads. The people at the reception were really helpful and very friendly. Location is good as it is about a 5-10 walk to metro Anvers and Gard du Nord terminal. It is also very close to Montmatre. There's a super market just around the corner and a few restaurants nearby. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jolanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure to read that you had a nice experience at le Vintage Hostel in Paris.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at two hostels in my stay in Paris (not for a bad reason), and comparing them the other one was better. This hostel was modern looking however the rooms looked very worn and could've been cleaner - not saying they were so dirty it bothered me though!
I paid for a 4 bed room but got into my room to find only 3 beds which was good; quite a small room, which was badly lit, and and even smaller bathroom. The shower goes a bit crazy so you do end up soaking the whole bathroom, the size is partly the problem.
There is free wifi which lasts for 4 days, however only really works in the communal area downstairs, and in some parts of the room temperamentally. The breakfast was simple but sufficient, a croissant or a roll (but this is everywhere in Paris) and a hot drink.
Close enough to the metro station, maybe a 5 minute walk, and right next door to a small supermarket which has a good selection.
The hostel was good enough for the job, but staying elsewhere in the same trip, I feel biased towards the alternative.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanospatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the prime location of the Hostel and the quality of the breakfast.
Regarding the size of the room and the bathroom, it is because we are located in a typical Parisian style building which are very small and narrow. Also we pride ourselves with the efficiency of our staff, especially the cleaning crew that makes sure that the facility is always clean. We are sorry for this particular incident.
We hope to have the opportunity to show you how good le Vintage Hostel truly is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here Feb '11. Great location with the Anvers Metro being a short stroll away. No complaints. Food was pretty good for breakfast and rooms were comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zzelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at le Vintage Hostel.
We hope to see you soon in Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hostel located in between Anvers and Gare du Nord station, Strategy location. Near the Sacre coeur. The hostel provide free breakfast (pastry and hot drink). Kitchen is available if you need to cook. The staff are nice and friendly. Importantly, they speak English. I stayed in a 3 beds room, with toilet. overall is ok for me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiwawa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I recently stayed here for 1 night with my sister and grandmother for a quick trip to Paris. NEVER AGAIN!!!

First of all the receptionist that was on when we checked in was so rude, all she cared about was taking our payment! We know you want our money, but trust me if we had seen the room ahead of time we would not have given any kind of payment and would have gone else where.

Second of all, the room was COVERED IN MOLD and MILDEW!!! It was absolutely disgusting! When I say covered, it was all over the bathroom ceiling, walls.. the room walls and ceiling as well as the carpet! I was so uncomfortable sleeping in there that I moved the bed away from the wall and sat in the middle of the bed all night without sleep. I also refused to shower the following morning because it was just nasty. The only reason I didnt leave was because my grandmother told me to suck it up.

Third, it would have been nice to know that there were going to be workers right outside your room window when you woke up! It wasn't a pleasant surprise to open the curtains and to your surprise there are 3 men standing there.

The ONLY good thing about our stay with the nice man that was at reception when we left.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kaylee1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amiel C, Guest relation assistant at Vintage Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Kaylee1987,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor, it is thanks to feedback like yours that we can improve our service. We apologize for the bad experience you had at Vintage Hostel. We tried contacting you to get more details and make the necessary changes, but we didn't hear anything back from you.
So I just want to update about the recent changes that we made based on your feedback.
First, we thoroughly train our staff to give our customers the most enjoyable and friendly stay at Vintage Hostel. A staff meeting was held and let me assure you that we are going to do our best to always welcome you in the most friendly way and be attentive to all our customer.
Regarding the mold, it is an unacceptable situation, and I can tell you now that the matter has been taking care of by our maintenance crew.
I hope that we will see you soon in Paris and you will give us another chance to show you how good and friendly Vintage Hostel truly is.
Please feel free to contact me directly at amiel@hiphophostels.com.

Best regards,

Amiel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I had to be at CDG airport really early so I needed somewhere, cheap and close to Paris Nord Train Station... this place was perfect!

It was about €25 for the night and included breakfast and a late checkout of 11am. The only issue I had was that towels weren't provided and I didn't bring one. Yes the paint was a little flakey, and there was no towels or wi-fi in the room, but it was perfect for what I needed and cheap! Plus, its easy to meet people as my room was a 3-person dorm with a private bathroom for the room.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank MFC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vintage_Manager, Directeur général at Vintage Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hello,

We are glad to hear that your stay with us went well.
Your encouragement will be sent to all teams and be assured that the Vintage Hostel is now your home in Paris!

We hope to have soon the pleasure to welcome you again!

Sincerely,

Yan GIlly
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hi There,I was staying at this hostel 9-11 October 2013. I would like say that the location of this hostel was extremely excellent, pretty close to Gare du Nord, the train terminal to every part of Paris. Furthermore, it was also really close to Sacre-Coeu, just right behind walkable about 10 minutes. The condition of the room was fairly clean and comfortable. However, the size of the elevator was quite small, not convenient for a traveler with plenty of stuff to carry in and up their luggage. The worst part of this hostel was a man staff (can't really remember his name and don't wish to remember) who was really unhelpful, obnoxious, rude and really disgusting. He treated the customer like me such a prisoner. I will never forget it until the end of my life.Whenever I tried to ask or approach him, he would show a very unpleasant attitude and language. This was really spoiled my stay at this hostel. I hoped that he should take some action to change his attitude. Overall, it is still OK.

Room Tip: Try the best to get the room at lower floor since the elevator was quite tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pateepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Regent Hostel
#11 of 181 in Paris
1,020 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 181 in Paris
798 reviews
Arty Paris
#10 of 181 in Paris
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Hostel

Address: 73 rue de Dunkerque, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range: £18 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vintage Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vintage Hostel, located in the famous Montmartre, close to Gare du Nord and the Sacré-Coeur welcomes you to live a typical parisian experience, Ideal to share a amazing moment with your beloved one, your friends or your family, choose between our dormitories or between single, double, triple private room. Share a meal in the kitchen, stay fit at the gym, relax in the lobby, where you will enjoy the wifi, games and travelers from all around the globe. Before exploring Paris, start your day with a french breakfast and do not hesitate to ask advices to our lovely and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vintage Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Hotel Paris
Prelude Gare Du Nord Paris
Prelude Hotel Gare Du Nord
Prelude Gare Du Nord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing