We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bit far from attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans
Ranked #535 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I spent 5 days with my family (2 + 2 Young sons) for Easter holidays. The hotel is above the average for Novotel standards. The space in the room was sufficient considering the standard in Paris. The room was at 3rd floor and it was sound proof.
We take the breakfast included formula. Actually, we did not like that there was dried milk instead dairy milk. Also the croissants seemed to be deep frozen.
To reach the hotel from the airport De Gaulle you need at least 40 min (RER B till Denfert-Rochereau then metro line 4).
It was just a bit far from the attractions. By the way, the stop "Port d'Orleans" of metro line 4 (purple) is at walking distance. I suggest to use the exit No. 1 since it is along a more populated block. If you need you can stop at Alèsia station and walking toward the hotel: there are stores and supermarkets (i.e. Carrefour) and fast food as well.

Room Tip: The higher the better
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank frengoesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

This Novotel gets my perfect score. Excellent location, underground parking, perfect check-in and check-out, friendly staff, various breakfast formulas (box, bar, room, restaurant), mineral water and coffee maker in the room, free wifi, clean and modern.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzalo_de_Berceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, General Manager at Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Paris Porte d’Orleans and thank you for your very nice comments. We are very proud and extremely satisfied that you spent a great stay with us and that you were satisfied of our staff involvement. Our main goal is to give you satisfaction, and we feel great when we achieve this goal.

Waiting for the pleasure of your next visit,.

Sincerely,

J.BONOMO
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first ever visit to France. We arrived late and our kids were hungry. The room service was not available. So no food available! I got quite upset. The man at reception didn't have any takeaway or delivery numbers that we could call. He suggested we go out to local places to eat. So we went out it was dark and late I had 2 small kids. Tried to look for food and there were places to eat but I would have rather not been out this late with kids. It was not a good start. How can any hotel have no food? Not even a machine? Or a pizza /delivery number. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty but breakfast staff lacked any social skills and no smiles at all. Normally I wouldn't care but when it's your first time in foriegn country these small things mean so much. Hotel was very near to metro so had lovely time travelling and doing all touristy things. Reception staff were exceptionally professional as was the cafe/ bar man. But the rest seemed cold and distant. The hotel is not walking distance to any of the landmarks but metro is near. We came via Charles de Ghaul airport, it was 1 hours journey by car so it was perhaps not the best location for us personally. But all in all had a great time in Paris due to easy access to all landmarks via closeness of Metro. Really appreciated the area of Porte d'Leon it energy and I loved all the and hussle and bustle.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radha786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, General Manager at Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Paris. I am disappointed that you did not totally enjoy your stay with us and I shared all your comments with our teams. We propose a food service 24 hours a day, I deeply regret that you didn’t take advantage of this service. I read your comments carefully and took good notice of them, it is always constructive for us to have the feedback of our guests and we appreciate you took the time to give it.

Sincerely,

J.BONOMO
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

A solid hotel this - ideally located for a weekend in Paris. The metro is super-close so you can get to all the sights really easily.

Rooms are clean with all the normal things you expect, pretty modern too - a very pleasant hotel all round.

Staff were friendly and everything was very efficient, and there are plenty of good restaurants and cafes nearby if you want to eat outside of the hotel.

Would stay here again and strongly recommend it if you want a convenient location without the cost of a central Paris hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittymaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, General Manager at Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased that you spent a great moment at Novotel Paris Porte d’Orleans and in the fabulous city of Paris. I will forward your comment to the hotel personnel who will be very happy to read it.

We hope to welcome you again at Novotel Paris Porte d’Orleans.

Sincerely,

J.BONOMO
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a budget hotel when travelling to Paris. The property is nice and clean. As with most budget hotels across Europe, the rooms are bit small, although it is OK for a family of 4 with 2 adults and 2 kids. The room is really meant for 2 adults. We took the breakfast package before we left, but this was one of the mistakes, as the breakfast is really limited and the food did not taste good at all. On top of it they consistently ran out of plates, and the staff was very rude when we asked for them. But that may be because we were there in end of December when they were quite busy. Still I think the staff should be more courteous.

The plus point of the hotel is the location. It is very close to Metro to travel to destinations of your choice. 30-45 minutes to most destinations like Louvre, Eiffel Tower, etc. 5-10 minutes to walk to Metro.

Also near the metro station you will find restaurants, bakery, convenience shops, etc.

If you are travelling with luggage, it is bit difficult on the metro especially the station has quite a few steps that you have to lift your luggage through.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lparsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nppo, Directeur général at Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay in our hotel.
Firstly, please allow me to say how sorry I am that the breakfast time affected your satisfaction during your stay in my hotel.
Please be assured, that I will do my utmost to provide an appropriate follow up to your comments.
I do hope that, despite these issues, we will be able to welcome you again as a client of Novotel.

Sincerely,


Bruno LEMOINE

Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Ideal base for me. Near the Paris head office. About 180 € per night including a reasonable breakfast. Nice reataurants nearby - see my other reviews about them. Metro nearby. Taxi from charles de gaul 40 mins - 2 hrs depending on traffic. 50 - 110 €.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank livingonaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nppo, Directeur général at Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay in our hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Paris Porte D'Orleans.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Bruno LEMOINE

Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank carmel d
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
Batignolles-Monceau
Novotel Paris 17
Novotel Paris 17
#522 of 1,803 in Paris
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Paris Alesia
#609 of 1,803 in Paris
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans

Address: 15/17/21 boulevard Romain Rolland, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#342 Family Hotel in Paris
#621 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £84 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans is a 4 star hotel located at the gateway of the 14th district and Gare Montparnasse, 3 minutes from the metro and trams 4 T3 Porte d'Orleans which will lead you to the Parc des Expositions Porte de Versailles, and 5 minutes from RER B Denfert Rochereau. The hotel with free WIFI offers spacious, soundproofed and air conditioned rooms, restaurant, bar, fitness room and private parking. Ideal hotel for a business trip or family. The spacious rooms, entirely renovated in 2017, are equipped with satellite TV and tea / coffee. Each has a private bathroom and most have a bathtub. Up to 2 children under 16 stay free when sharing their parents' room. The Novotel Cafe restaurant and bar are available for breakfast, lunch, dinner or for a tasty little snack and offers a balanced menu and service 24H / 24 card. From the metro station Porte d'Orleans, you directly the Latin Quarter and Notre Dame Saint-Michel and the Luxembourg Gardens. You can get to the Eiffel Tower in 20 minutes by Metro. The Parc des Expositions Porte de Versailles is itself only a few tram stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Paris 14 Porte d'Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Porte d`Orleans Hotel Paris
Paris Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing