We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, simple place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abotel Transcontinental
Ranked #1,072 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“clean, simple place to stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

nice little boutique hotel, in a quiet safe area of Montparnasse.
metro is 5 minutes away walking.
polite and helpful staff.
rooms are clean, beds are comfortable
Wifi is free
no english tv.
breakfast is poor (bread, deli meat, bad coffee). It's what I would expect for a free continental at a north american hotel. We ate it a couple times because it was included in our package, but generally ventured nearby for good coffee and fresh choices.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FineIGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    91
    39
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
87
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Gaite metro station and within walking distance of the Boulevard Montparnasse where there are lots of restaurants and cafes. They hotel room and bathroom were a decent size and the bed was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good too - bread, pastries, yoghurt, tea coffee, juice, etc. Criticism? The lift was very slow so we had to use the stairs a few times (although thankfully not with our luggage!) and the hairdryer in the bathroom wasn't much use. Overall it was a great budget choice and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jellyfishkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Highly reccommend. Great deal in Paris, convenient access to multiple train stations, clean, comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff. No English channels on TV, but I wasn't in my room much, and having French TV was great for getting more accustomed to French!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Stayed for 5 nights at the Transcontinental. This place is about a 7 minute walk to the Metro station and about 5-7 metro stops to the tourist areas. With that being said, the hotel is very well priced for Paris and is very clean and comfortable. We opted not to have the breakfast package there as we never woke up earlier than 10am and it's Paris... there are cafes at every corner! I highly recommend learning the Metro system as it truly is the easiest and most affordable way to get around Paris. Get the day passes and you're set.

Cheers,
V & K

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The cute little hotel has a boutique feel about it, from the moment you arrive to check in and are greeted by the friendly receptionist. I was not expecting all this from a two-star B&B! Our room was spotless, with a flat-screen plasma TV, a balcony with a superb view of Paris (from the 6th floor), a large bathroom and extra comfy bed. Breakfast is typically French with a choice of pastries, hams, and cheeses plus coffee/ tea/ juice. Such good value for money! A short ten-minute walk from the Bienvenue Montparnasse metro/ rail station and an even shorter five-minute walk from Gaiete metro.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilicaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Neat room, friendly staff, tasty breakfast. Location is also nice - less than 10 min walk from metro, avenue du Maine is a quiet nice street with some restaurants and brasseries. I think it might be very difficult to find something better for such a small money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dashuccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

great hotel - our room was cleaned daily and the staff were friendly. We had breakfast included in our price which was good and the staff were helpful even if they didnt speak english and we spoke little french! Gentleman on reception spoke perfect english and recommended a few places to go - if you get chance definately go to the tour montparnasse (its about a 10min walk from the hotel) and has spectacular views of the city. You can also use your ticket again and go up at night time or another day. The hotel is convieniently placed with great restaurants close by and the metro a 5 minute walk away. (visit the chocolate shop that you have to pass on the way to the metro!)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel du Lion
Hotel du Lion
#588 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
#1,387 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#773 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Patio Brancion
#1,170 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#419 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abotel Transcontinental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abotel Transcontinental

Property: Abotel Transcontinental
Address: 155 avenue du Maine | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Abotel Transcontinental 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abotel Transcontinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abotel Transcontinental Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing