We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Apollinaire
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Paris(Paris)
US$1,220
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$480
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Muguet(Paris)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grand Hotel Francais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$543
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$527
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Duquesne Eiffel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$502
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$444
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
37
133
52
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
133
52
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgare montparnasseminute easy walksingle roomwalking distancestreet sidelots of restaurantsquiet streetcontinental breakfastsupermarketneighborhoodmetrofranceeurodeskliftproscons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location for transport but also for many of the great sites of Paris. We arrived at CDG airport and took the AirFrance car/bus direct to Montparnasse station (the station for excellent travel to the west of France). The bus costs 30 Euro return (cheaper if you book and print your ticket online) but it is so convenient as your luggage is loaded and the bus travels direct (with a stop at another main station). It takes about 1hr 15min. You reach the hotel in 10mins on foot. I've done that journey by RER and is was a nightmare - totally packed, our luggage was trapped and then its a much further walk from the RER station to Apollinaire. Hotel totally great - very helpful staff and very clean. The room (32) was ok but rather shabby in places - some pealing paper and stained walls. But I previously stayed in room 43 or 44 and that was much smarter, new shower area and very well decorated. I think they are probably refurbishing the rooms over time. Wifi was great and contrary to what we were told by one of the receptionists, we were able to use more than one device to access it. We loved the fact you could open the windows and gaze out - Rue Delambre is busy but in an everyday French way and so you see a lot of life just from the window. If you want green and quiet space the Cemetery of Montparnasse - just across the road - is wonderful. Simone de Beauvoir, the great French feminist, philosopher and writer is buried there with philosopher Jean Paul Satre. The markets on Edgar Quinet Boulevard (right at the end of the street where the hotel is) are great and I think there Saturdays, Sundays (more an artist markets) and Wednesday - absolutely delicious high-quality food. Restaurants abound - we really enjoyed the Petit Brioc - just down the road and on Bvld Montparnasse. The wine and champagne shop diagonally across from the hotel is a real treasure house - very knowledgeable owner who speaks very good English too. His Champagnes are not the well known brands but from small houses and so you get to try some really lovely distinctive small batch bubblies. I like this hotel so much I am returning for the third time in two months - I have a late train from the west arriving at Montparnasse and then an early bus to the airport. I know that the Apollinaire will be clean, welcoming, quiet and safe. Perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floors have slightly less street noise. The little lift is rather noisy opening and closing. I had two rooms on the street side and I sleep lightly but as the windows are double glazed noise wasn't a problem at all.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollinaire14, Gérant at Hotel Apollinaire, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hey Tracey S,
Thanks so much for your review.
You seem to stay in one of our non renovated room.
Because we perform regularly renovation of our facility to ensure you the best comfort to our customers, do no hesitate to ask for a renovated room next time.
Although this matter of fact, we are glad to notice that you enjoy our hotel and services.
We would be delighted to see you next time in Paris.
See you after a while in Paris !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and were really pleased with our choice of hotel. Although only really a 3*, it offered everything we needed for our stay: friendly reception staff, a nice clean, quiet room with a comfy bed and very modern bathroom, windows (that actually opened!) onto a pretty view, free wifi. The lift was absolutely tiny, so I felt better taking the stairs but I should think it's the same with all Parisian townhouse hotels! We didn't buy breakfast as we felt it was quite expensive, but actually it's about the same as the set breakfast deal you get at a lot of nearby cafes.

We chose this hotel because of its location near to Montpannasse train station, as we had to leave very early on the last day (6am train). I was a little worried that being so near too the train station would mean it wasn't a good area, but actually it's a bustling, touristy area with loads of cafes and restaurants and felt very safe. The actual road the hotel is on is smaller so we didn't have any issue with noise. There is a little supermarket a few doors away.

The hotel is less than a minute from metro station Edgar Quinet, on line 6. From there you can easily navigate Paris, including directly to the Eiffel Tower. For the French metro, you need to look for the line number and the final destination of the train (that will tell you the direction the train is going in, compared to London where it will say "Northbound" etc.) You can buy a single journey ticket or a pass for the day (or longer). All the ticket machines we used had an English button straight away, so were very easy to use. Paris is of course, best discovered on foot. On the first day we walked from our hotel to the Louvre and the Eiffel Tower - but if you are less mobile (or tired on the third day!) the metro really is very easy.

I was very pleased with the hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollinaire14, Gérant at Hotel Apollinaire, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hello cathw66,
Thank you for your review.
We were happy to meet you during your stay in Paris.
Yes, the hotel's location is ideal to explore Paris. Because you can easily discover the french capital walking as well as by subway or train.
See you very soon amongst us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I know this is a late review, we stayed there in June of 2012, for our wedding honeymoon. Great little hotel, close to metro, shopping, restaurants. Very fair price at the time, quiet and clean. We had no complaints. I read before people complained about the size of the rooms. This is Europe not North America, rooms are smaller, deal with it! Your in Paris to explore and take in the culture not stay in your room!! would stay here again if I were to ever return to Paris! Recommended if you are on a budget and want to extend your dollar for a clean safe night sleep!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tthomas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollinaire14, Gérant at Hotel Apollinaire, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hey tthomas84,
Thank you for your comment about our hotel.
Even late, your review let us know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel !
We were glad to meet you. Tell us if you come back in a while !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel was lovely. Small room but have heard this is usual for Paris. Apparently we had a "Superior" room- not sure how it was "Superior" seemed fairly standard to me. Reasonable price for location. Staff very pleasant. Walls are thin though so if you are unlucky to have noisy neighbours this could be a problem, we had no issues though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_hepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollinaire14, Gérant at Hotel Apollinaire, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello john_hepburn,
Thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor.
Yes, that's true that Paris the room size - even superior one - is seriously impacted by the general problem of free surfaces.
We payed a strong attention about your general comfort though.
See you very soon in France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

can't fault this hotel apart from the size, it was literally just a bed with a bathroom, we was lucky enough to have the room right next to the lift, so we heard every move it made which was annoying. the staff spoke okay English so that was a bit of help.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank NatalieH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand D, Gérant at Hotel Apollinaire, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hello NatalieH94 ,
Thanks for this comment about our hotel.
We are sorry that no one warned you about standard size rooms in Paris in a 3*** NL Hotel.
Yes, Paris is one of the european capitals where the room size in hotel is seriously impacted by the general problem of free surfaces.
Be sure that we will consider your comments about the lift noise.
We would be happy to see you again next time in Paris
Cependant, grâce à votre regard critique, nous allons procéder à une petite enquête et résoudre rapidement ces désagréments pour nos futurs hôtes.
En vos remerciant pour eux et pour notre démarche qualité
Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt à Paris !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews