We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right by the metro but a few quirks that should be mentioned” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Ranked #580 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Right by the metro but a few quirks that should be mentioned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Great location-right by montparnasse metro station-one of the biggest in Paris so it was very easy to get to other places-we used it daily! A lot of eateries around, hard to find a market that had baguettes :) one thing that made us a little irked was that on 2 occasions, we got to the front door and it was locked and had to wait for someone to come open it once they got off their break--and of course it was raining both times! Another thig was that the walls were paper thin--like so much so that I could here someone in the bathroom..ahem.. But overall, I liked the fact that it was close to the metro since we have friends that live here and it was an easy was to get around the city! Also, take advantage of the hotel shuttle to the airport because the cost of a taxi is ridiculous! Just allow enough time because it makes other stops!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmnop715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    163
    49
    9
    5
See reviews for
43
134
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked here for a short break after our wedding in July. Looking at so many options of hotels in Paris we chose this due to the good reviews and value for money for a short 2 night stay. Overall would say its 3/4 star. Bedroom was very clean with fresh sheets , safe was included in room which was great. Bathroom again neat and tidy and basic. TV in room and full air con. Was around the corner from one the main train lines with access to airport and all other metro lines.

Free wifi a bonus also for anyone who takes work with them! Would certainly use it again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leedalziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal/quebec
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

All staff were so welcoming although Karim was giving an outstanding service. He was chatty,fun and friendly and always willing to go that extra mile to make sure we felt welcome and had everything we could need. He simply love being of service and helping you create a memorable stay. (among the many staff, you will recognise him by his nice smile) The rooms are clean and extremely comfortable. They have great restaurants close by like Bebert, la Coupole or you can go to a super market Monoprix down the street..Location is great close to metro, gare Montparnasse.I went there with my mom 75 and my two kids 14 and 10 and we walked to la tour Effeil, le Louvre, les invalids, le jardin du Luxembourg...we had a great time!

Room Tip: higher you get the less noise you'll hear from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myriam0877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was our first time at this hotel and we were very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of the room. We stayed in a double room (for 2 persons), the bed was a little small for us but perfectly comfortable after a full day of walking (as in, when you're dead tired, any flat surface will do :). The bathroom was larger than we expected with a great shower, very bright and clean. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, even though their English was not great. The accomodations are on average with other small Paris hotels. The hotel is in a really good location for those taking the metro - close to Gare Montparnasse (across the street), and to many restaurants and cafes. There are also small fresh food (fruits/veggies/drinks) stores and a Monoprix down the street which is convenient, Try the Creperie around the corner (Le Petit Josselin). All in all, we had a good experience and we would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itravel82376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The location is rigt next to Galeries Lafayette and (street) Montparnasse. Has 2 metro stations a couple of minutes away, lots of restaurants, stores and bars around.
Great personnel, also know english.
Safe box in the room.
Amazing shower:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InbZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I have been in this hotel at least 3 times in the last 5 years and is and is an excellent option to visit Paris using the public transportation, Montparnasse Benvenieu metro station is just 3 minutes walking from hotel. From this Metro station you can reach the Eiffel tower,Sacre Cour, Notre Dame, Champs Elysees, with one metro line.
Close to the hotel , around the block in Odessa street, there is a small convenience store. In the same street there is a very good French bakery, Le Parisienne. You have a pharmacy right in the corner. For the kids you have a small restaurant next door where you can get crepes, sandwiches, fries and other snacks. In case you need it for the kids, after several days of French cuisine, there is a McDonalds 3 blocks from hotel .
The family room is comfortable for 2 adults and 1 kid, very good internet free of charge for ALL your devices. , good shower . The breakfast is small and not that good, the hotel charge 9 Euros per person including children. I would recommend to avoid it and spend your 9 Euros outside, there is plenty of options in the neighborhood.
The elevator is small and there is room just for two persons and two small suitcases.
In summary a great option to visit Paris, just keep in mind that the maximum number of persons per room is 3 , in our case we have 2 kids and we need to book two rooms.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids pick the family room , is little bit more expensive but is much bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dante_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse is clean and urban. It is very near Montparnasse Avenue and the Montparnasse train station, a metro stop and good restaurants.
The rooms are small but about on average with other small Paris hotels. The furniture was sturdy but worn, as was the carpet which had some stains. The bathroom was modern and had a shower.
The lift was VERY small... only room for two people. I was in a wheelchair due to a breathing difficulty, and the chair with me in it and my husband made a tight fit but it served us to get up and down from the 3rd floor. Until the day we left. We had to return the wheelchair the night before and my husband was going to help support me in the lift to get down stairs as I could not walk and breathe at the same time. We had to leave for the airport at 5am to catch our flight. I knew something was wrong when my husband came back from taking the bags down. His face was grey. It seems that the night staff turns off the lift at 2am and doesn't restart it until 8:30am. There were no exceptions, and no notification was given the guests of this...not even when they KNEW we had to descend by 5 am. It took me 45 minutes of moving one step at a time in a sitting position, all the while gasping for breath in the stuffy hot stairwell, to get down the four flights of stairs. I was in emergency mode by the time I got to the ground floor. Only stay here if you are completely able bodied and not likely to suffer an accident or unforeseen emergency while in Paris. You could be taking your life in your hands if you need the lift before 8:30 am!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#534 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#759 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#364 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#276 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Montparnasse
Patio Brancion
Patio Brancion
#1,206 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
#1,143 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse

Property: Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse
Address: 17 rue du Depart, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#505 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Montparnasse Hotel
Waldorf Montparnasse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing