We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Anniverary in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambassade Hotel
Ranked #1,224 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniverary in Paris”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here on 25 September for 7 nights. The hotel is clean, well-furnished and in good order. It is centrally situated between the Arc du Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower, only a short walk on foot or by Bus or Metro from the adjoining Avenue Kleber. There is also a bus from Ave Kleber to Gare du Nord and Gare de L'Est. We always use the buses to and from the railway stations as there is a lack of escalators in the Paris Metro and if you have to change metro stations this can be very difficult with suitcases.
We had room 24 on the second floor over the front door and reception area which had a mini bar and courtesy tray. The size of the room was about what we expected for Paris (small but manageable for two people and suitcases), but could have done with a drawer in the desk/dressing table for make-up and toiletries, and a small wall mirror. The bathroom, although small (but big enough for one person at a time), was immaculate with plenty of white fluffy towels, replenished daily. A good shower inside the bath and plenty of hot water.
The only drawback was the noisy refuse wagon emptying the bins all along the street early every morning!
We did not breakfast in the hotel as we thought 15 Euros each too expensive. There is a boulangerie café just up the street where you can get coffee and pastries for about 8 Euros for two people. On Ave Kleber towards the Arc du Triomphe is a delightful high quality deli-café which serves breakfasts, hot and cold lunches and evening meals (wine is also available). There are plenty of other restaurants nearby.
This hotel is ideal for business people or travellers who like to get up early. We would consider this hotel again if we could have a room like No 24 but in a quieter part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a large quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margareth700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    86
    53
    9
    7
See reviews for
20
91
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here on 18th August for 3 nights, it was fabulous, the rooms were very small and basic, but at the end of the day you don't go to Paris to stay in your room, so it was perfect. The staff behind reception were very nice and really made you feel welcome, very polite. The lady in the kitchen was very nice too, the breakfast was lovely quite a lot of choice. If you are going to Paris and want to stay cheap I would really recommend this hotel, it's very central.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joannelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Ambassed hotel is centrally located for the Eifel Tower, A De T and river cruises.
I would describe it as a place to lay your head with continental breakfast, no more, no less. Try and get a room at the front as some sort of boiler?? kicks in every ten minutes through the night and if you don't get to sleep before the mozzies get you, hard luck. TAKE MOSQUITO REPELLENT WITH YOU.I ended up with quite serious infection. This is of course not the fault of the hotel but be warned.
The hotel is clean but basic. The staff are very very helpful.

Room Tip: Front rooms are better I would imagine..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesingingdecorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trebla4, Responsable relations publiques at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Sir ,

Many thanks for taking time to post this very nice comment .

Hope to welcome you back again for your next visit of Paris.

Kind regards,

Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great location, between Eiffel Tower and Triumph Arc, 2 minutes to metro. Good service. The guy let us use his phone to make a call (even local calls from the room are not free), gave us directions around and explanation when we asked, called us a cab. The room is tiny but modern and clean. Bathroom and standing shower are rather small too but we could handle it. AC was working well. Free Wi-fi in the room works well after entering the password in a browser. Did not use their breakfast though - 15 euro seemed a bit steep. Used local cafes and also filled the minibar fridge with yogurt. It was a pleasant stay for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trebla4, Responsable relations publiques at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Sir ,

We thank you very much for the time you took to leave a comment. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, in Paris, and in our Hotel. Our team try the best to satisfy our guests. It is a reward for all to read such comments.
Awaiting the pleasure of welcoming you to a future stay;

Kind regards,

Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife stayed here while visiting friends, who live just a few blocks away (they had no room for her). She says the room was very clean, modern, with a great bathroom. She did hear hallway noise at night from people opening/closing their doors. Very quiet otherwise, especially if you have a room facing the courtyard and not the street. This hotel is in a very upscale residential neighborhood close to the Seine and the Eiffel Tower. She had breakfast with our friends, so she did not participate in their breakfast offerings. Kind of pricey, but that was because of location and the fact that it was high season.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Toner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trebla4, Responsable relations publiques at Ambassade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Sir ,

Thank you for your very nice feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
Your comments are greatly appreciated in helping us to estimate our guest's satisfation.

I will share with all team your nice words.

Kind regards

Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I had selected this hotel based on the reviews on location but I do not feel it is as good a location for first timers.

No doubt it is near from Eiffel Tower and Champs-Elysées but you are not in Paris just for these 2 places. To be honest, the whole 'Paris Thing" from this location was not as enjoyable. The sun sets at 10 PM and shop closes at 8 PM so when you think about dinner - the shops are already closed. The way from Champs-Elysees to hotel is completely secluded at night with people breaking cars in front of us.

Though metro station is nearby but I guess Paris is not bothered about their metro as starting from the Airport metro there is no escalators or elevators so if you are tourist with luggage then it is a punishment using metro.

Even at Champs-Elysees the restaurant closes as 12 pm so the whole scenario of a metropolitan city is not applicable to this area.

The hotel also had a very cold reception with some old men trying to play the role. The room were the tiniest we had during whole stay in Europe. They also did not provided us with a way of reaching hotel from the Airport. Overall not a stay that I would like to repeat.

Room Tip: Our room was terrible - Room 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Second visit to Paris.
Positive points:
- Great location - 10 minute walk to attractions
- Breakfast - good choice
- Good service
- Quiet
- Mini supermarket near by
- Close to metro stations

Negative points:
- Very small rooms (Typical of hotels in Paris though)
- Breakfast room is very small, so it is luck as to whether you get a seat or have to wait

I would return to this hotel, good price for a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Trocadero
Hotel D'angleterre Etoile
Hotel D'angleterre Etoile
#1,486 of 1,798 in Paris
82 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Victor Hugo Paris Kleber
Trocadero
Hotel Palais de Chaillot
Hotel Palais de Chaillot
#512 of 1,798 in Paris
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trocadero
Hotel Elysees Union
Hotel Elysees Union
#409 of 1,798 in Paris
1,129 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Waldorf Trocadero
Hotel Waldorf Trocadero
#245 of 1,798 in Paris
671 reviews
Trocadero
Citadines Trocadero Paris
Citadines Trocadero Paris
#943 of 1,798 in Paris
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Property: Ambassade Hotel
Address: 79 rue Lauriston | 16th Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,224 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in hotel << Ambassade>> ... Discover our 38 rooms air-conditioned and equipped with granite bathrooms.They combine the invaluable fabric refinement, of a furniture "Art nouveau" conceived by Masters cabinetmakers ... And modern comfort offering hair drier, Free Internet WIFI, Satellite TV, Canal+...Begin the day with a buffet breakfast been useful in the charming room nicely decorated with photographs of Paris. Benefit then from the peace of this residential district ... Ideally located at only a few steps from Champs-Elysees, gardens of Trocadero and Eiffel Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing