We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jennifer the best lobby staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Ranked #522 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jennifer the best lobby staff”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel after a very bad experience at other hotel in Paris and after desperately searching for a whole day for a hotel, there Jennifer was. Thanks Jennifer for saving our trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luymol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    252
    94
    32
    26
See reviews for
108
212
42
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

They are still "modernizing" the Hotel so I guess your experience depends on your room! #50 on 5th flr as someone else said the rooms at the ends of the corridor seem to be roomier. Hardwood floor in my room but was not bothered much by noise from other rooms..just other guests occasionally a bit too noisy in the hallway!

Had requested a bath tub rather than just shower..asked again when given key...no tub for 44 so given 50. Flat screen TV, electronic safe, minibar, CNN, very good breakfast room and variety of foods totally self service so no waiting for one harried person to bring your cafe and it was included in room rate!

Construction ongoing in hotel and a major site next door at the Hotel Sully..began work faithfully every day but Sun at 8 until about 5 but not a problem. One day room was still being cleaned when returned at about 4 but 5 mins and he was done, after taking a moment to provide more rolls of tp and box of tissues!

If you are looking for French country decor or Louis 14, 15 or 16..this is not your place.

But very good location, didn't require anything of the staff but they were all pleasent, remembering the room number to hand over the key.,.you are asked to leave key with reception when out.

I'd stay again but fear once the work is complete..prices will rise!

Room Tip: end of corridor rooms larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The really good thing about this hotel is the location. The rooms are small - even for Paris standards (exception: room 12!). Last time my wife and I stayed there they gave us a room in the second floor where it was almost impossible to circulate, and there was also a problem with the water: sometimes, no hot water in the morning. In addition, as some fellow said bellow, the room service is very slow.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danpeaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, WA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel is very close to the Maubert Mutualite station on Metro line 10. It's cheap and central. Luckily we didn't get bedbugs like other reviewers reported.

Why is it cheap? The walls and floors are paper thin. I could hear my upstairs neighbors and next door neighbors. They were just talking, opening and closing the closet, and walking around. I stayed at a more expensive hotel in Paris, and it was not that noisy.

So if you're one of those who can fall asleep instantly like a log, this hotel is for you. Otherwise, you need to look elsewhere.

On Saturday morning, there's a farmer's market a the Metro station.

Room Tip: The staff was helpful and moved us to 3 different rooms during our stay, but they are all noisy. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Great location (1 mins walk from the metro), good value for money, love the check in counter, sitting area and a computer with printer such that you can prebook your tickets and print them out.

We got a large room (no 12), but our friends got a room that is half our size. And the decor is very old and dark, so it seems that all the nice rooms are full (as we booked last min). The mattress was disappointing and the walls between rooms are so thin, you can hear every move & conversation next door.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorochoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed here on whilst on business got bitten by bed bugs all over. Stayed in room 48 will never return rubbish experience. I complained via e mail but got no reply. Ooooohhhh hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G10R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#304 of 1,801 in Paris
982 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain
Quartier Latin
Agora Saint Germain
Agora Saint Germain
#557 of 1,801 in Paris
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#265 of 1,801 in Paris
796 reviews
Quartier Latin
Villa Pantheon
Villa Pantheon
#562 of 1,801 in Paris
752 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#422 of 1,801 in Paris
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne St-Germain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne St-Germain Hotel

Property: Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Address: 33 rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#235 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderne St-Germain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moderne St-Germain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne St Germain Hotel
Hotel Moderne St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing