We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but shower floods whole bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Ranked #530 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice location but shower floods whole bathroom”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is in a nice area and good location to all sites. It is close to Notre Dame, shopping and to a metro station. I did not think the staff was friendly or helpful what so ever. We were only in our room to sleep so if you are here to only sleep than I would stay here but if you want luxury I wouldn't stay here. The rooms are small and do not look like the pictures that they show. The shower curtain is horrible and floods the whole bathroom leaving everything in your bathroom wet and the whole room moist. But just to sleep here is fine.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor and it was quiet. We got a double room and they gave us 2 twin beds which was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedix_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    253
    94
    32
    26
See reviews for
108
213
42
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We just returned from a six-night stay at this hotel. And yes, the rooms are small, but get a grip and learn how to pack and how to hang multiple items on one hanger. The rooms are very clean and have a nice large tub/shower combo, free Wi-Fi, and you get a wonderful (with lots of choices) French Continental breakfast. The staff (everybody at the front desk spoke English) is simply the best as they all strive to help you.

And talk about location, step outside the hotel door and, within one block, you have fantastic cafes and restaurants (the menus in most cafes and restaurants in Paris are in French and English), all sorts of shops, a pharmacy, wine stores and small grocery stores. My wife even had her hair done at “Alter Ego Coiffure” just a half a block away. Everyone seems to speak at least a little English and quite a few are fully proficient in English. A big smile and a few words in French go a long way. Forget about what you heard about the French people being rude, everyone everywhere were simply nice to deal with.

Notre Dame is a short five-minute walk; the Louvre is about a twenty-minute walk. The metro station is blocks away and those “hop on and off” tour buses stop at Notre Dame. Plenty of souvenir shops are within the area. What we liked is that we had everything we needed without the congestion of being in so many other parts of Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diego31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Hotel was clean, had free wifi, and is in a perfect location to walk or hop on the nearby metro to see all of Paris. We had a lovely terrace (french doors!) where we would enjoy our [free!] morning coffee.
The front desk person knew 3 or 4 languages and was very helpful.
It was great for our budget travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights - but it was just too small and too noisy, you just don't get a good nights sleep, couple that with cost per night its not worth a visit.

Whilst they gave us one of their newly renovated rooms overlooking Rue des Ecoles, the place just has no heart! You can see it was an old hotel that's had a huge makeover but its now cold and somewhat basic as a result, despite the colourful walls and lighting... I was really expecting something a little more boutique and cute and its not - pity. The staff don't enhance the experience either.

In addition not everything functions properly unfortunately. All our lights went on the 2nd night - but the following morning the reception had them back working more or less straight away. You hear absolutely everything (everything!) through the walls!!!! The radiators also sounds like there's a tap running constantly. So unfortunately combine that with the smallest room ever it was not the best night's sleep.

The only redeeming factor is the location - lovely cafes and restaurants nearby and so close to Notre Dame, etc... Value for money at €160 per night is poor - there are better hotels in Paris!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exploring365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Eight of have just stayed at this hotel for three nights and have had a wonderful time. We stayed here a few years ago and it has now been refurbished and updated. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Definitely the place to stay in the Latin Quarter

Room Tip: We had four double rooms on different floors and they were all good so it is really impossible to gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bripen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is rated as a 3 star motel but I found that it was better than some of the 5 star motels I have stayed in. The room we had was small, 2 twin beds, but I wasn't there to stay in the room. It had ample space for 2 people with 4 suitcases and the built in wardrobe was great. The breakfast was wonderful. Great selection of breads, spreads, cheeses, fruits, yogurts, cold meats, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cereals, milk. The staff was very helpful with any needs we had and the housekeeping staff was very efficient, even if you didn't need their services. Note: Face cloths (wash rags) are not part of bath linens in many hotels in Paris so if you want one, bring your own. The location is perfect. 2 blocks from the Pantheon and 4 blocks to Notre Dame and the Saint Germain Metro. Rue des Ecole is a great little street with lots of places to eat everything from Italian, French, pizza and American at Breakfast In America, just 3 blocks down the street. Great eclairs at the patisserie close to the post office located at 2 Rue des Ecole. We were on the first floor, one level above the street, right next to the elevator and were never bothered by noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stayed here with 2 of my girl friends for 5 nights. The triple room was renovated, and SPACIOUS, which is almost unheard of in Paris, let alone one of the best neighborhoods. The front desk employees were so helpful, from Yves making a reservation at a restaurant for us before we even arrived, to Bryce answering every question we had, and to Jennifer who gave us great tips for where to go and how to get there. I would definitely stay there again, and will recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 38 is a triple with a large bathroom and cool multi-color batik tie-dye wallpaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMRNYCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#357 of 1,801 in Paris
989 reviews
Quartier Latin
Agora Saint Germain
Agora Saint Germain
#560 of 1,801 in Paris
946 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Villa Pantheon
Villa Pantheon
#562 of 1,801 in Paris
758 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
#261 of 1,801 in Paris
800 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Les Bulles de Paris
Hotel Les Bulles de Paris
#696 of 1,801 in Paris
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne St-Germain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne St-Germain Hotel

Property: Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Address: 33 rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#235 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderne St-Germain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Moderne St-Germain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne St Germain Hotel
Hotel Moderne St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing