We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mugged and the reception didn't believe us!!”
Review of Hotel Garden Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Garden Opera
Ranked #1,716 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Not only did we ask about the area when we checked in (it looked as dubious as the Gare du Nord) and were told it was perfectly safe, but was mugged at 6pm not 200 hundred metres from the door, went to the reception and was not believed!
Was then told that despite leaving early (paid for three days, stayed one) would need to pay Euro9.50 for the cup of disgusting coffee (which was supposed to be a part of an inclusive continental breakfast!) before I could check out.
After staying 4 days near the Champs Elysee in a hotel that was cheaper, nicer and in a much safer neighbourhood with pleasant staff, I don't know why I moved to this hotel.
My advise, do not stay here. Especially if you are a woman or aren't keen on fighting the gangs who roam about outside.
Shocking behaviour from the reception staff who also refused to call a taxi when I wanted to leave and not walk outside (after being mugged the night before!).

What an awful way to leave Paris - a place I had wanted to visit for many years and what a horrible experience with the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 203TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

Weren't expecting much given the price we paid but was fine. The area is not too special, but its very near a metro station, so don't need to linger and its location in relation to Gard de Nord and attractions is handy. Inside was OK, wonky desk in the room and few marks here and there, but nothing that was a problem. Breakfast was basic and extra, not worth the price. Overall very reasonable.

Room Tip: Our "city view" wasn't much of one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

For the price you won't get anything fancy here, hotel seems to be a bit older, equipment is outdated but room was generally clean. Offers free wifi, breakfast room was really small and the breakfast itself was horrible, not worth to wake up if you can sleep in. There is lot of shops and restaurants around, busy area...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatyasS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I recently (November 2012) stayed here for three nights with a small group (three rooms total), and we all felt the same way: for the money we paid, it was very nice.

Firstly, the bathrooms are just fine. The hot water and the overall water pressure in the shower was excellent, and the 'rainwater' shower heads are a delight, plus there was a hand sprayer. If you are not a clutz or a slob, the half-open bath/shower door should not be a problem for you.

Secondly, yes, of course the rooms are small (check the bill again!) but the beds were very comfortable.

Third, breakfast was a standard Continental breakfast with fine, fresh croissants, pain au chocolats, and baguettes, plus all the coffee, tea, hot chocolate, lattes, etc you could drink, plus orange and apple juice. What else would you expect? It was a delight, and when we needed to leave well before the 7am start of breakfast, the manager allowed us to head into the kitchen and fix ourselves up completely.

Speaking of management, we found the staff to be friendly, helpful, and very kind.

Finally, location: the hotel is less than a block from the nearest Metro station, and that station is mere stops away from every important sight you want to see in Paris. Additionally, there is a charming pub just two doors way, and other emergency shopping right around the corner.

In short, this extremely affordable hotel absolutely got the job done for our group.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HollywoodRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights at the end if November. The rooms are old a bit dirty and small. The breakfast is really poor thus I would definately try to avoid it if possible.
The area, although is well located a few metro stations from the centre, feels quite insecure the
Moment the light falls.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stam_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

we booked this last minute.com for birthday gift.Big mistake it was not like pictues online.Room was dark dull and shower room old fashioned and not clean.Very Basic booked room for 2 nights but left next day as husband was fuming they could send us to such a dump.This hotel neeed revamped.Let down for paris the city of romance,Nearly a divorce was on the cards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kats37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We found the hotel missing even basic amentities like a full door on the shower! The reception area was small and the receptionist was curt. we were not told any details about breakfast etc. The room was cramped wih a double bed, small desk and a frige although this was not even plugged in. The bathroom was the size of a cupboard, you had to stand carefully to even shiut the door.

In the morning we went down and attempted to find the breakfast room which we found was actually on the first floor. The breakfast consisted of one glass of orange juice, one cup of coffee and a bowl of pastries placed on your table. However to be fair it did all taste fine.

The one good thing about the hotel was it is only a couple of hundred metres from the metro which easily gets you to all the attractions. If you are happy with very basic accomodation in a good location then I suppose this would eb a good option. However if you would like some comfort i would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlouisew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Gerando
#1,409 of 1,803 in Paris
261 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Best Western Aulivia Opera
Best Western Aulivia Opera
#942 of 1,803 in Paris
263 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de Savoy
Hotel de Savoy
#1,605 of 1,803 in Paris
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,622 of 1,803 in Paris
374 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hauteville Opera
Hotel Hauteville Opera
#1,581 of 1,803 in Paris
214 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
#968 of 1,803 in Paris
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Opera

Address: 65 rue du Chateau D Eau | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,716 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £56 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garden Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Paris, for business or for leisure, a stone's throw from the République square, the Opéra, the major boulevards and shops and only a few minutes from Sacré-Cœur, Montmartre Moulin Rouge, and the Folies Bergères.A 20min walk to Pompidou and Louvre Museums, and cathedral Notre-Dame.A direct metro line(9) to Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysees (15min). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garden Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abotel Garden Opera Paris
Abotel Garden Opera Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing