We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Hotel Garden Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Garden Opera
Ranked #1,715 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 1 October 2013

For a first time traveler to the city of Paris, this was not what i envisioned. The place was just awful, the room was so small and with my two other friends there was little to no space to move. Not only that but there were patches on the ceiling like they were covering holes, the bathroom was moldy, there were stains on the sheets and the ceiling in the corridor outside our room was peeling off. The pictures of the hotel in no way reflected the room we were given. It should be a 1/2 a star at best. We paid for 3 nights but left by 7am the next morning, couldn't get out of the place fast enough. Oh and the neighborhood is not the best place, kinda scary, wouldn't go out alone for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheresaW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you want a cheap place to stay near the Train stations then ok. If your expectations are different suggest you stay clear. Receptionists friendly, good location and hot water but for the rest you pays your money and you takes your choice.
Some investment in the rooms and the review would be very different.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank rs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel earns its three stars from having put air conditioning in rooms, having a lift and having flat screen TVs, but frankly it's a dressed-up two stars in a not particularly pleasant part of Paris, albeit fairly centrally located. The hotel certainly has no garden, and is too far from the Opera to hear any over-loud choruses.
The welcome was fine, and the reception is open 24/24, but we were first allocated a room which had simply not been cleaned. Luckily they found another quite quickly.
The room was about as small as it is possible to be, with barely room on one side of the bed to squeeze round. The bathroom was similarly micro-sized with no room to swing a mouse, let alone a cat. The air-con was useful and effective, but the flat screen TV's connections were too short to reach it, so the hotel is clearly in mid-upgrade. The bed was comfortable and the double glazing fairly effective at keeping the noise out.
Breakfast, self-service, was in a particularly unpleasant room on the first floor. There was fruit juice, a good bread selection and a machine producing hot drinks, but it was one of those rooms you wanted to get out of as quickly as possible.
The location of the hotel is not bad, a minute or so's walk from a good metro station, but the whole ambience of the street is not pleasant - plenty of people just hanging around doing nothing, not that we experienced any difficulties.
So in summary, good if you want a basic, ordinary, central hotel, but don't raise your expectations

Room Tip: Get as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights with my family, it was really poor. all things in room was very old, from restroom to bedstead. the environment near the hotel was not good, it was such a poor down town. I don't like it, so I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fwithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Not only did we ask about the area when we checked in (it looked as dubious as the Gare du Nord) and were told it was perfectly safe, but was mugged at 6pm not 200 hundred metres from the door, went to the reception and was not believed!
Was then told that despite leaving early (paid for three days, stayed one) would need to pay Euro9.50 for the cup of disgusting coffee (which was supposed to be a part of an inclusive continental breakfast!) before I could check out.
After staying 4 days near the Champs Elysee in a hotel that was cheaper, nicer and in a much safer neighbourhood with pleasant staff, I don't know why I moved to this hotel.
My advise, do not stay here. Especially if you are a woman or aren't keen on fighting the gangs who roam about outside.
Shocking behaviour from the reception staff who also refused to call a taxi when I wanted to leave and not walk outside (after being mugged the night before!).

What an awful way to leave Paris - a place I had wanted to visit for many years and what a horrible experience with the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 203TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Weren't expecting much given the price we paid but was fine. The area is not too special, but its very near a metro station, so don't need to linger and its location in relation to Gard de Nord and attractions is handy. Inside was OK, wonky desk in the room and few marks here and there, but nothing that was a problem. Breakfast was basic and extra, not worth the price. Overall very reasonable.

Room Tip: Our "city view" wasn't much of one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

For the price you won't get anything fancy here, hotel seems to be a bit older, equipment is outdated but room was generally clean. Offers free wifi, breakfast room was really small and the breakfast itself was horrible, not worth to wake up if you can sleep in. There is lot of shops and restaurants around, busy area...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatyasS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Gerando
#1,413 of 1,803 in Paris
261 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Best Western Aulivia Opera
Best Western Aulivia Opera
#949 of 1,803 in Paris
263 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel de Savoy
Hotel de Savoy
#1,604 of 1,803 in Paris
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,622 of 1,803 in Paris
375 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hauteville Opera
Hotel Hauteville Opera
#1,581 of 1,803 in Paris
214 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
#972 of 1,803 in Paris
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Opera

Address: 65 rue du Chateau D Eau | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,715 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £54 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garden Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Paris, for business or for leisure, a stone's throw from the République square, the Opéra, the major boulevards and shops and only a few minutes from Sacré-Cœur, Montmartre Moulin Rouge, and the Folies Bergères.A 20min walk to Pompidou and Louvre Museums, and cathedral Notre-Dame.A direct metro line(9) to Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysees (15min). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garden Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abotel Garden Opera Paris
Abotel Garden Opera Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing