We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel, but i got bedbugs!!!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Garden Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garden Opera
Ranked #1,713 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Was on a trip with my classmates, when we stayed at this hotel.
It is an okay place for students. But the walls and the ceilings had holes in it.

The worst thing however, is that now, a week after returning in Denmark, both me and my friend have gotten bit by bedbugs! It is itchy, gives red spots and requires that we get our entire apartment back home cleaned by a bug exterminator now!

Do not spend the night at this hotel, because the bed bugs will bite!
We lived on the 6th floor and bedbugs spread their way into all rooms.

Room Tip: pick a room without bedbugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

I booked this in a hurry and foolishly did not look at Trip Advisor first. This is certainly the worst hotel I have stayed in in Paris and it still cost 91 euros for one night.! A grotty area, dirty looking entrance, my room had a corner of the ceiling literally falling down, there was bare plaster under the light fittings and all the furnishings and covers were shabby. The kitchen/breakfast room was tiny and weird with no staff and you had to go to the fridge to help yourself to milk (some of it off) and cheap cheese and plastic ham. To try to be positive the bed itself was comfortable with clean starched sheets and the man on reception was helpful. However this would barely make a one star, certainly nowhere near a three.

Room Tip: Just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A hugh disappointment - far away from 3 stars: Our three bedded room was in a terrible state: night lamps (cover) all broken, minibar was heating, the cupboard door of the desk missing, the back wall of the night table was standing against the building wall, the telephone wire was taken out of the wall socket (so out of order!), the curtain half coming down, a whole in the ceiling above the window, there was a description how to use the safe but no safe ... The bathroom full of mould, the hairdryer without a handle, the bathtub shower head broken, the mirror blind, the sink rusty.
Half of the breakfast room was with the chairs put on top of the tables ... Only one person at the desk - quite friendly as long as I spoke french with him - but he was not able to get us any improvement.
The location is in the middle of an African people's area, so my wife did not feel safe to go out on her own - however it is very near to Chateau d'Eaux Metro station
Never, never again !! Better to sleep under a Paris bridge ...

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bjørn Magne J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Friendly and helpful front desk service.The room was fine, good bed, but the bathroom was a little small. The breakfast room wasn't very nice (seemed more a kitchen, but everything needed for breakfast was present.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Willem Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on a two night stay in paris - my bf and I were on a fleeting two night trip and didn't spend more then 7 hours in the room.
The room was very run down, the shower and bathroom really quite seedy. We paid £100 for a night and it was close enough to Gare Du Nord which is was what we needed so it served it purpose. As others have stated, if you just need a place to rest your head and your budget won't allow for much else in this expensive city then this will do. But be warned it's pretty terrible!
I'm going to submit some pics so feel free to view them!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KtBards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

For a first time traveler to the city of Paris, this was not what i envisioned. The place was just awful, the room was so small and with my two other friends there was little to no space to move. Not only that but there were patches on the ceiling like they were covering holes, the bathroom was moldy, there were stains on the sheets and the ceiling in the corridor outside our room was peeling off. The pictures of the hotel in no way reflected the room we were given. It should be a 1/2 a star at best. We paid for 3 nights but left by 7am the next morning, couldn't get out of the place fast enough. Oh and the neighborhood is not the best place, kinda scary, wouldn't go out alone for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheresaW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Best Western Aulivia Opera
Best Western Aulivia Opera
#942 of 1,809 in Paris
277 reviews
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
#955 of 1,809 in Paris
604 reviews
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Cosmotel
Hotel Cosmotel
#821 of 1,809 in Paris
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gerando
#1,447 of 1,809 in Paris
264 reviews
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Jarry Hotel
Jarry Hotel
#1,603 of 1,809 in Paris
355 reviews
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#470 of 1,809 in Paris
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Opera

Address: 65 rue du Chateau D Eau | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,713 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £59 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garden Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Paris, for business or for leisure, a stone's throw from the République square, the Opéra, the major boulevards and shops and only a few minutes from Sacré-Cœur, Montmartre Moulin Rouge, and the Folies Bergères.A 20min walk to Pompidou and Louvre Museums, and cathedral Notre-Dame.A direct metro line(9) to Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysees (15min). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Garden Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abotel Garden Opera Paris
Abotel Garden Opera Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing