We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended place to stay in Paris”
Review of Hotel des Comedies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Comedies
Ranked #233 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended place to stay in Paris”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I would certainly recommend this hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms (small but so are most in Paris). Very helpful staff. Good breakfast croissants, cheeses, fruit and endless cafe au lait! Convent location, especially if you use the on off bus!

Room Tip: Room 205 and 305 were both pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    217
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
216
126
53
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Des Comedies is a very nice small hotel with a very good location! Wearing the right shoes, you can walk to basically all sights in Paris. Around the hotel you'll find a lot of really nice cafes and bistros.We stayed for 3 nights in a very wellappointed tripleroom, that even though it had the view of the Rue Hauteville was quite, with good beds,( also the " sofa-bed").The room even had a small fridge. I'll assume that the room can get very hot during the summer, however we had no ploblems with the temperature and the room does have AC. Cleaning was perfect. The staff in reception was very helpfull and arranged limoservice for us upon arrival.( if you are 3 persons or more, you should consider this option to local transport). We did not have breakfast included, but tried it the first morning. We found it too expensive compared to what was offered and the empty trays was not replaced, even though there where to ladies working at the buffet, but its a minor thing, which easily can be fixed. All in all a very pleasant stay at a very nice little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikosmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent perfect small Hotel with free wifi and a wonderful buffet breakfast (well worth doing this than spending the same amount outside the hotel for just a coffee and croissant) smokers can sit outside the back or the front of the hotel which is on a small side road off the main road - Bonne-nouvelle. We had the attic room as we were travelling with 2 small children but had separate bedroom's and enabled us to have space. TV, mini-safe, which was free. Hairdryer, mini-bar and bathroom. Nikki was wonderful and spoke lots of languages, which really helped. She was so informative and friendly. The hotel is in a good location with the Metro just up the road and a various restaurants and bars around from great french cuisine to KFC if you needed it, like me with a fussy 6 year old. The hotel itself was perfect, really cosy and very clean. I have been in the travel industry for over 25 years so highly recommend this hotel for a short trip to Paris

Room Tip: Attic was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 153Mtravel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guests,
First of all a huge thank you for your kind message. Of course we were very happy to read your wonderful message especially Nicci had a big smile on her face. We try very much to do our best that our guests are happy with their stay with us. I agree with you that we ware well situated in a very central location of Paris. From our hotel you can go out and start in every direction north, south, east and west to discover all Paris.
Of course I was very happy to read that you enjoyed our large buffet breakfast. As previous messages noted that it was not worth I am glad that you mentionned that in many brasseries outside you get for the same rate just a few things and in the meantime in our hotel there is a large buffet proposed.
We would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future for your next little trip to Paris. Until this happy day we wish you all the best and good luck.
Kind regards from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Samira - Reception
Matthew and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We recently travelled to Paris with our family of four and mother-in-law so finding a room for five people was a challenge. Although we didn't have a lot of choices, in the end we couldn't have been happier with this hotel and would definitely stay here again. The rooms are clean, modern and attractive and the beds are very comfortable. We even had a heated towel rack in the bathroom, which was a nice touch. The location is great as well - very close to the Metro and lots of cafes and restaurants. As mentioned by others, the front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful message about our little hotel and our staff. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help you. We try very much to give a special family feeling to our guests. We love to help them with any personal suggestions and ideas that they visit Paris the best they can.

We would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future for your next trip to Paris. Until this day we wish you all the best and of course a wonderful rest of 2014.

Kind regards from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My sister, mother and I were celebrating my sister's birthday in Paris, and Hotel des Comedies was highly recommended by Tripadvisor. What a good value. The hotel is small, updated and very clean, the breakfast was perfect for 13 euro (you could refill the coffee), the staff could not be nicer or more helpful, and the location was great in the 10th; we could walk almost everywhere (there is a metro stop at the corner, too).

We had a superior triple, which was very comfortable. The towels were large and fresh, and the towel warmer was a real treat.

I highly recommend Hotel des Comedies.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel. Of course it gives us a smile on our face to read that our guests enjoy their stay with us. We try very much to do our best every single day that there is nothing missing our guests need in a 3 star hotel. Also of course we are happy to read that you enjoyed our large buffet breakfast where we propose a big choice of fresh food as fruits, juices, cakes ect.
We hope you enjoyed this special occasion in Paris and you brought many wonderful souvenirs back home from you stay in our beautiful city.

We would be happy to welcome you back once again. But for the moment we wish you all the best and a wonderful rest of 2014.

Kind regards from sunny Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Refreshingly good service from the start.

The hotel receptionist helped us plan our stay and travel routes which was greatly appreciated.

Hotel decoration was in a boutique style, well finished and set within a lovely quirky building.

Lift to fifth floor and stairs to the final floor where the family rooms were.

Unfortunately our request for two rooms together did materialise and we were three floors apart which was a shame but not the end of the world.

Wifi was excellent- a real plus.

Parking was tight but really close to the hotel- again a real plus in a busy city.

Recommend.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank H67bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay in this lovely hotel. We had a triple room (sometimes hard to find) but this was just right for us. Tea & Coffee in room a nice added touch. Reception desk staff could not have been better, nothing was a problem and they provided every request with a smile ! Breakfast was lovely and very freshly prepared. Only slight problem was the coffee machine at times very slow.However staff soon helped to resolve any issue. Will certainly return to this very good value friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 403 really quiet & big enough for 3 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBreak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
#281 of 1,801 in Paris
394 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#415 of 1,801 in Paris
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Adele & Jules
Hotel Adele & Jules
#51 of 1,801 in Paris
167 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#235 of 1,801 in Paris
510 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#449 of 1,801 in Paris
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Comedies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Comedies

Property: Hotel des Comedies
Address: 8 rue d Hauteville | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Comedies 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Comedies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing