We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, lousy attitude from front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
Ranked #751 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Braunschweig, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, lousy attitude from front desk staff”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

For the price I paid (EUR 452 for 3 nights in a triple room), I was disappointed with the room condition and amenities. This may still be acceptable if the front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the male staff on duty in the evening of 17 Oct 2013 (did not catch his name) was very unhelpful and unpleasant. I do not know if enquiring about nearby self-service laundry or asking if I can borrow extra clothes hanger are too much, but he certainly thought it is a fussy and ridiculous demand. To be fair, the front desk staff I encountered in the morning and the night before were friendly and acceptably helpful. I hope the hotel management pay more attention on customer service and considers renovating the hotel. Our room window was faulty and would not close/ be locked. But we did not ask for repair/ room change to avoid any more unpleasant encounter with the said staff. There was no facial tissue, no glass for water, no fridge/minibar. No value for money. The only good thing is the location, if you need to be very near the Gare de L'Est train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    419
    259
    70
    47
See reviews for
232
327
94
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The area is not nice. Good if you need to be near a station or prostitutes but not if you want to experience the center of Paris. Hotel is expensive for what it is. Small over heated room, with windows you cannot open and no aircon. Generally it was more a hostel type room than a hotel but at Hotel prices. Bathroom was not clean as it had someone else hair on the floor.

My colleague was staying in another IBIS 10 minutes away by Gare de Nord and was not a lot happier. IBIS is generally a good chain but not in Paris from this experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Augusta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel was recommended to my by a travel agent and I was very pleased with it. We took the train to Paris and this hotel is a 5 minute walk from the train station. The front desk clerk Samuel was VERY VERY nice and went out of his way to help me find things to do last minute in a city where everything is booked. Rooms were very clean. Very good shower pressure. Free breakfast daily is a BIG plus. Free WiFi and a bar in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendalikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is located in a very convenient location, within a couple of minutes walk of Paris' Gare de L'Est train station. The rooms were very clean and tidy, if a little over priced. Due to the seasonal price changes, on our second night, we paid €30 more for an inferior room compared to the first night. The staff, however, were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Nice clean room, huge shower. Room had a bit of an echo but not too bad. We arrived after midnight and checked out early - the staff were very friendly and everything went smoothly. Hotel is a few minutes from Gare de l'Est so it is excellently situated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dawn4270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Styles Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord La Fayette 10eme
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Mercure Paris Gare de L'Est Magenta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV

Property: Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
Address: 6 Rue Saint-Laurent, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #751 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Paris Gare De l`Est 10eme Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing