We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good location, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse
Ranked #1,315 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good location, lovely staff”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed in Montparnasse for 4 nights In January. Best Western was situated in the heart of Montparnasse, with easy walk to many restuarants, public transport and within walking distance to the eiffel tower and other main attractions. We stepped off the metro and it was right there! The staff were were friendly and spoke good english which relly helped us. Rooms were smallish, but comfortable as we didnt spend a great deal of time in the rooms, and for the price they were great. One of the days we werent given any towels in our room by the staff, we received floor mats instead! We made do with them but would have been nice to have fresh towels after a long day of sightseeing!
We had breakfast in the hotel one morning, we were a little confused if we were having the express breakfast or the buffet breakfast, as it was not asked of us which one we wanted, we were just seated and served. Turns out it was buffet but didnt find out until later on, so it was more expensive. But a nice breakfast. The other mornings we ate out for breakfast. It was very cold the days we stayed in Paris, the hotel provided us with umbrellas which were very useful. We were a bit concerned about being a little bit away from everything, but if you are prepared to do some walking back and forth (30 min walk to Eiffel Tower), or pay for regular metro rides, its a great place to stay.
It is located right above the metro, so you could often hear the trains leaving the stations which was a little annoying, luckily it didnt go on into the night so didnt cause us to miss out on any sleep, but if you are looking for a quiet location, this may not be the one for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    124
    74
    31
    22
See reviews for
43
137
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gypsy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stay in Paris a lot and have experienced a huge diversity of service and quality over the years, this Best Western is tidy, friendly, way smaller than it makes out to be but adequate for a short weekend break. Friendly staff who try, very clean, well equipped but very small rooms and a basic continental breakfast which is a little over priced.

Much better hotels available a little closer to the river if you want some true French boutique chic.

Oh. And I got stuck in the lift, which apparently has 'issues' most weekends I was told. Did mean I took the 4 flights of steep, narrow stairs for most of the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Location: This hotel is ideally located to visit places of attraction in central Paris. Metro Station Montparnasse Bienvenue is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. You can also take the bus from the bus stop nearby the hotel to Eiffel tower and the nearby attractions.

Hotel Room: The hotel room is very very small. If you are a couple and you have luggage, it will be difficult to move around the room. The room also does not have any storage space. However the room was quite clean. Bathroom too is quite small. Basic toiletries provided. In the room that i stayed, the glass panel to the shower did not shut completely and hence every time we took bath there was a pool of water on the floor.

Amenities: This is a very basic hotel. One issue that i had was that though they advertise/claim that they have coffee machine in the rooms, they do not have it in all rooms. I had to make my coffee in the lobby downstairs.

Staff: The staff really make the difference to the otherwise basic hotel. They are very friendly and helpful.

Conclusion: Location is great, staff very friendly, however would recommend only if you get this hotel at a deal price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KumarMallish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear MallishKumar,
Thank you for this very good review.
We have nespresso machine in all the room but sometimes we nedd to fixe them.
Best regards.
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

If you have read any of my other reviews, I am HUGE on hotel cleanliness. Well, this hotel was very clean, AND a huge bonus was that this was our first time in Paris and we were concerned about the hospitality of the locals, but didn't have to be. The staff was wonderful to us and even gave us some pointers on speaking to people around the city. I knew the neighborhood would be great due to the reviews, but it was SO close to EVERYTHING. Don't be afraid to walk (you will miss out on the charm of Paris if you are). The rooms and the elevator, of course, are small, but everything we needed was there and it wasn't a big deal. And take the stairs for some exercise :-)

Room Tip: City view rooms are great. And if the room description says it can only fit 2 people, believe it (e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Team P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Team,
Many thanks for your comment !
All the staff wish you again a happy new year for 2013 !
Regards.
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I rarely am stunned by the politeness of people in the service industry in France, but the woman at the front desk here was super nice. She rushed the preparation of our room since we were early, made us espressos on the house while we waited and stored our extra bags. She also arranged a shuttle to cdg and retrieved our forgotten camera from the shuttle. The rooms are nice, very clean, and small - but not annoyingly so. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mvk422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The hotel was very modern and clean, lift and room were small but comfortable with all new decor and bedding, also the window opened out to street which was great.
I would recommend this hotel and location, advantage was the open top bus stop is right out side our door which was a great way to see Paris.

Room Tip: Room is a little small but new and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Barbie,
Many thanks for your review !
I hope I have the pleasure of seeing you again for your next trip in Paris.
Best regards.
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Ok.. On paper this hotel has everything going for it..
Lovely rooms
Great location
Friendly staff

But my stay was unfortunately marred by the fact there was no hot water... at all. I could have been camping. The management should have been all over this problem as this is a primary function of a city hotel. They appeared invisible! Even for an apology. Not only this buy there were also several Mosquitos in my fresh room.. And it was cold September. additionally, 20 minutes before I was due to check out, with my things still in my room.. I return to find it being cleaned?! A little cheeky no?
For 199euros this was a a bit much (i was on business), I got 30euros off for the inconvenience. If i had been paying myself I would have demanded much more.
I could have been unlucky.. and probably was, but I would not risk it again. Sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for all the inconvenient during your stay.
This problem does not happen often in the hotel but It is not comfortable having a cold shower.
If I can do something more do not hesitate to contact me.
Regards.
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Aurore
Best Western Aurore
#1,292 of 1,802 in Paris
281 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera
Champs-Elysees
Best Western Plus Elysee Secret
Best Western Plus Elysee Secret
#1,334 of 1,802 in Paris
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse

Property: Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse
Address: 37 Boulevard du Montparnasse | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,315 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Boulevard du Montparnasse, just a short walk from the Montparnasse TGV (high-speed train) station and the legendary Saint Germain des Pres, within a district bursting with history, discover the BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Montparnasse! At the Hotel, you can enjoy designer decoration and high-end services: individual air-conditioning, free Wifi throughout the hotel, soft quilts for a refreshing night's sleep. You will also find those "little extras": Espresso machine, I-podTM dock, 32" LED TV and safe. The bathrooms have relaxing "rain" showers, handy hairdryers and anti-steam mirrors to save time. The Hotel Le Montparnasse is a 5-minute walk from the Air France terminal, with direct links to the Roissy Charles de Gaulle and Orly airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western FR, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Montparnasse Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Montparnasse
Comfort Inn Paris
Paris Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing