We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, elegant rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse
Ranked #1,324 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We recently spent two nights at Best Western Montpasnasse and enjoyed it. Located in the heart of Montparnasse, close to the Gare de Montparnasse, Metro and Air France Coach service, this is at good choice for this part of Paris.
Rooms are well designed and elegant, bur rather small. Staff is friendly and helpful. Enjoyed it!

Room Tip: If you like, ask for a room at the back. Less noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

6:42 p.m. on the evening of Thursday, March 21, 2013. I had reserved and paid a roomat the Best Western Montparnasse for that night. At my arrival at the reception, the gentleman attending told me without giving me any explanation that my room is in the hotel next door because they had no available rooms at the Best Western. Before doing anything else I went to the hotel I was told to check it out. It turned out it was a 2 star hotel and not a 3 star. I felt cheated, they had sent me to another hotel of inferior category, with no explanation, for a room I had paid.

I immediately went back in the Montparnasse hotel Best Western because the service I paid it was a night in a three star hotel, the Best Western Montparnasse and not a two-star hotel. Once back at the reception, the treatment received by the gentleman taking care of it was absolutely deplorable. He literally told me I was annoying and he did not like my attitude. I certainly had an attitude of discontent after not receiving the service I had paid for, but never rude, inappropriate or impolite. To be told in such a situation that I was an annoying client is absolutely disrespectful.

I told him I'd pay a three star Best Western service and if that service wasn’t available, I had the right to go to a hotel with at least the same category, three stars. Again, at that moment he told me that he was not responsible and did not like my attitude. It was at that time he called the management of the hotel, you. At the end of the phone call with with the manager, he told me there were no hotels available, and I either did go the hotel next door or I canceled the paid reservation with the Best Western and on my own find another hotel for that night. What's worse, I had to deal with the refund from the travel website where I purchased the service.

At that moment I left the hotel with not an extra word and went to the hotel next door, humiliated, helpless and totally mad.

1. I paid for a room in the Best Western that I was never given
2. I was sent to a lower class hotel without any explanation
3. I was told that I was an annoying customer and received an inconceivable treatment from the person who was in the reception at the Best Western
4. Nobody apologized, nor the gentleman at the reception, neither you when you had the chance to do it over the phone

Once I had checked in at the other hotel, the receptionist received a call from your employee at the Best Western in which he offered me one free night hotel at the Best Western during my next visit to Paris. At that point it was too late, besides I don't often travel to Paris.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Aacastellarnau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013
Google Translation

Cher Alex,
Au nom de toute l’équipe de l’hôtel et bien sûr personnellement, je vous prie de bien vouloir accepter toutes nos excuses.
Vous aviez réservé une chambre dans notre établissement et suite à un problème technique de dernière minute, nous avons été dans l’obligation de vous reloger dans un autre hôtel. Notre choix sur l’hôtel était justifier sur notre volonté de vous reloger dans la même quartier que notre hôtel (Gare Montparnasse) dans le cas ou la proximité de cette gare était absolument nécessaire pour vous.
C’est vrai que cet hôtel n’est pas du même standing que le nôtre et à ce titre j’avais laissé pour consigne à la réception que votre nuité vous serait offerte. Malheureusement, le réceptionniste qui vous a accueilli était nouveau et ainsi ne vous a pas communiqué toutes les informations.

A nouveau je vous prie de croire en notre profond chagrin de n’avoir pu vous satisfaire.
Je vous renouvelle mon offre de revenir dans notre établissement à titre gracieux, même si vous ne voyagez pas souvent à paris cette offre sera toujours valable.

Cordialement.

Caroline Jeanbaptiste.
Directrice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed in Montparnasse for 4 nights In January. Best Western was situated in the heart of Montparnasse, with easy walk to many restuarants, public transport and within walking distance to the eiffel tower and other main attractions. We stepped off the metro and it was right there! The staff were were friendly and spoke good english which relly helped us. Rooms were smallish, but comfortable as we didnt spend a great deal of time in the rooms, and for the price they were great. One of the days we werent given any towels in our room by the staff, we received floor mats instead! We made do with them but would have been nice to have fresh towels after a long day of sightseeing!
We had breakfast in the hotel one morning, we were a little confused if we were having the express breakfast or the buffet breakfast, as it was not asked of us which one we wanted, we were just seated and served. Turns out it was buffet but didnt find out until later on, so it was more expensive. But a nice breakfast. The other mornings we ate out for breakfast. It was very cold the days we stayed in Paris, the hotel provided us with umbrellas which were very useful. We were a bit concerned about being a little bit away from everything, but if you are prepared to do some walking back and forth (30 min walk to Eiffel Tower), or pay for regular metro rides, its a great place to stay.
It is located right above the metro, so you could often hear the trains leaving the stations which was a little annoying, luckily it didnt go on into the night so didnt cause us to miss out on any sleep, but if you are looking for a quiet location, this may not be the one for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stay in Paris a lot and have experienced a huge diversity of service and quality over the years, this Best Western is tidy, friendly, way smaller than it makes out to be but adequate for a short weekend break. Friendly staff who try, very clean, well equipped but very small rooms and a basic continental breakfast which is a little over priced.

Much better hotels available a little closer to the river if you want some true French boutique chic.

Oh. And I got stuck in the lift, which apparently has 'issues' most weekends I was told. Did mean I took the 4 flights of steep, narrow stairs for most of the weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Location: This hotel is ideally located to visit places of attraction in central Paris. Metro Station Montparnasse Bienvenue is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. You can also take the bus from the bus stop nearby the hotel to Eiffel tower and the nearby attractions.

Hotel Room: The hotel room is very very small. If you are a couple and you have luggage, it will be difficult to move around the room. The room also does not have any storage space. However the room was quite clean. Bathroom too is quite small. Basic toiletries provided. In the room that i stayed, the glass panel to the shower did not shut completely and hence every time we took bath there was a pool of water on the floor.

Amenities: This is a very basic hotel. One issue that i had was that though they advertise/claim that they have coffee machine in the rooms, they do not have it in all rooms. I had to make my coffee in the lobby downstairs.

Staff: The staff really make the difference to the otherwise basic hotel. They are very friendly and helpful.

Conclusion: Location is great, staff very friendly, however would recommend only if you get this hotel at a deal price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KumarMallish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear MallishKumar,
Thank you for this very good review.
We have nespresso machine in all the room but sometimes we nedd to fixe them.
Best regards.
Caroline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

If you have read any of my other reviews, I am HUGE on hotel cleanliness. Well, this hotel was very clean, AND a huge bonus was that this was our first time in Paris and we were concerned about the hospitality of the locals, but didn't have to be. The staff was wonderful to us and even gave us some pointers on speaking to people around the city. I knew the neighborhood would be great due to the reviews, but it was SO close to EVERYTHING. Don't be afraid to walk (you will miss out on the charm of Paris if you are). The rooms and the elevator, of course, are small, but everything we needed was there and it wasn't a big deal. And take the stairs for some exercise :-)

Room Tip: City view rooms are great. And if the room description says it can only fit 2 people, believe it (e...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Team P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Team,
Many thanks for your comment !
All the staff wish you again a happy new year for 2013 !
Regards.
Caroline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I rarely am stunned by the politeness of people in the service industry in France, but the woman at the front desk here was super nice. She rushed the preparation of our room since we were early, made us espressos on the house while we waited and stored our extra bags. She also arranged a shuttle to cdg and retrieved our forgotten camera from the shuttle. The rooms are nice, very clean, and small - but not annoyingly so. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mvk422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Aurore
Best Western Aurore
#1,270 of 1,804 in Paris
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera
Champs-Elysees
Best Western Plus Elysee Secret
Best Western Plus Elysee Secret
#1,344 of 1,804 in Paris
215 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Best Western Tour Eiffel Invalides
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse

Address: 37 Boulevard du Montparnasse | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,324 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £79 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Boulevard du Montparnasse, just a short walk from the Montparnasse TGV (high-speed train) station and the legendary Saint Germain des Pres, within a district bursting with history, discover the BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Montparnasse! At the Hotel, you can enjoy designer decoration and high-end services: individual air-conditioning, free Wifi throughout the hotel, soft quilts for a refreshing night's sleep. You will also find those "little extras": Espresso machine, I-podTM dock, 32" LED TV and safe. The bathrooms have relaxing "rain" showers, handy hairdryers and anti-steam mirrors to save time. The Hotel Le Montparnasse is a 5-minute walk from the Air France terminal, with direct links to the Roissy Charles de Gaulle and Orly airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Montparnasse Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Montparnasse
Comfort Inn Paris
Paris Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing