We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Garden Elysee Hotel
Ranked #556 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is situated very near to the tourist spots. Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower, River Seine boat rides and Champs-Élysées are all within walking distance. Coupled with the all-encompassing Metro system of Paris, you can reach pretty much anywhere you want by purchasing a multi-day Paris Visite pass, which can be used for the Metro, trains and buses. There are also a lot of cafes, bars and restaurants around the area, so you are never too far from a drink or food.

Of course the hotel itself is also of a high standard, well it has to be considering the room rates you have to pay. The hotel is nestled quietly behind the façade of a row of shops, one of which is a convenient store just outside the hotel. The room was spacious and so was the bathroom. One complaint would be that there is no shower curtain to the bath tub, resulting in flooding in the bathroom every time after one takes a shower. The breakfast is good but spread is limited, and you will get exactly the same stuffs everyday. Another good thing is that you get free WiFi in the rooms.

If you are in Paris for a vacation, this would be one of the better choices of hotels considering its location, though not necessary one of the more economical ones.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    180
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
85
185
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of August 2011, when my husband and I visited Paris for 3 days. It is located on a quiet street off Kepler Avenue, which makes it ideal for visiting Trocadero, the Eiffel Tower, and the Arch of Triumph. It is also very close to a metro station, which, for us, made commuting very easy.

The hotel has an internal front yard/parking and a secluded garden, both of which add to the impression that you are off the bitten track. To be absolutely honest, based on the pictures on the hotel website, I expected the garden to be a bit bigger. However, it was the ambiance that mattered.

We stayed at a room on the third floor. The furniture were neatly arranged and the bathroom was clean, but there was nothing extravagant about either. There is a minibar with a wide spread of snacks and drinks, though--as expected--with an extra charge.

The hotel staff was particularly polite and eager to help with every question we had. They offered suggestions for sights to view and arranged for taxis to pick us up whenever asked. There were also tickets to tours at the reception. Even if we preferred not to buy from there, as we didn't want to restrict ourselves to a schedule, I found it very convenient for someone who doesn't really want to plan far ahead but would like some structure in their vacation.

What I enjoyed least from the hotel was the breakfast, which comes with an extra charge of 22 Euros per person per day. My husband and I got the breakfast one of the three mornings we were there, but were a bit disappointed both by the variety and the quality of the food. Indeed, there were some bread to toast, croissants, a few kinds of cheese, cereals, ham, jam, juice, and fruit, but not the spread expected from a 4-star hotel. There was nothing cooked on demand (e.g., omelette, scrambled eggs, or crepes), which would have made a big difference. The juice was squeezed some hours earlier--or so it felt--given that it didn't taste too fresh. And the most annoying to the eye were the grapefruit halves, which must have been cut the night before, as they were really dry.

Apart from the breakfast, I would go back to this hotel for its location and sense of privacy, even though there was nothing extravagant about it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stavkkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We booked this hotel for our anniversary trip and it was worth it! The hotel is lovely; modern/contemporary decor in the public and private areas. The room was large by European standards (somehwat small by American standards, however, the bathroom was spacious for a hotel by any standard. The location was perfect--right in between the Effiel Tower and the Champs Elyees-both within walking distance. Everyone is correct about Pascal--he is great. While I had the best cocktails on the patio, they were pricey. If you just want wine, go to the corner store and pick up a bottle. The breakfast was very good and the daily papers kept me in touch with what was going on in the world. The staff were very accomodating and even put up with my one semester of French. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Rooms in Paris hotels are notoriously small (many Transatlantic trippers often fail to grasp this fact: and that ice machines are in short supply in Europe!): not so room 27 at the Garden Elysee. A decent size by Parisian standards, it also benefits from backing on to the hotel's quiet rear garden and having large picture windows. As for the hotel generally, it is perfectly located for getting about. A short walk from the Eiffel Tower, the Arc de Triomphe and the Metro, it's also just a few steps away from a great supermarket: ideal for topping up on mineral water and other essentials! Pascal manages the bar and as well as pouring his trademark Gin Tonic Exotique, he can get you in to all sorts of great eateries. This time he even ran over the road to get us a great sushi meal late one evening when the restaurant was closed! The hotel is a family-run affair and very welcoming: there is no Gallic shrugging; everyone speaks English; and, if you try a little French you'll be made to feel even more at home. H.E. Bailiff Alastair Y. Redpath-Stevens GCSJ

Room Tip: Grab room 27 if you don't want a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HE-Bailiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We went to our honeymoon in Paris and stayed in the charming Hotel Garden Elysee, the hotel and the staff were wonderful, the hotel is beautiful and the staff was just perfect! They were very attentive, nice and learned some words in Portuguese to talk to us, and treated us with great affection.
We stayed in a standard suite and it was great, the room had a lot of space, nice bathroom and a wardrobe, the bed was divine, the room is much bigger than many others that we knew in Paris, delicious breakfast, charming hotel, beautiful location with nice decoration and pretty gardens, right near the subway and bakeries, restaurants, the beautiful Champs Elysees and the Eiffel tower, but in a quiet street, being in middle of the best of Paris and even so been able to have a good night's rest.
We recommend this hotel, you will not regret it!
We would certainly come back again!

Room Tip: stay in the room with view to the front yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Close to the Trocadero, metro etc.
Breakfast was very good.
4 stars by French standards, more like 3.5 in US at most.
Good gym for small hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo2018babushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very conveniently located (kind of) smack bang in the middle of Paris; well it wasn't far at all for me, from my office, 5 mins to the Tour Eiffel and Arc de triomphe. Right by a metro station and with a handy number of bars / cafes around.

Entrance to hotel is very nice as is the reception area and the staff were very friendly - one chap had lived not far from my home in the UK so we chatted about that - the little things make a difference.

Room was on the large side, very clean and modern.
My only complaint of the room is that whilst there was no ironing facilities in the room itself, I couldn't see an information pamphlet explaining whether there were ironing rooms, or if this was available from reception. Seriously.... if this is the only thing bad I can find about the hotel then that must say something.

For business purposes I would recommend this hotel every time for it's location and comfortable relaxed but upmarket atmosphere, but if i was in Paris other than for work I might try and find somewhere a bit close to the action. Horses for courses though

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Trocadero
Floride Etoile Hotel
Floride Etoile Hotel
#529 of 1,800 in Paris
424 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Waldorf Trocadero
Hotel Waldorf Trocadero
#284 of 1,800 in Paris
702 reviews
Trocadero
Plaza Tour Eiffel
Plaza Tour Eiffel
#420 of 1,800 in Paris
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trocadero
La Clef Tour Eiffel Paris
La Clef Tour Eiffel Paris
#264 of 1,800 in Paris
263 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Etoile Trocadero
Hotel Etoile Trocadero
#1,018 of 1,800 in Paris
351 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Longchamp Elysees
Hotel Longchamp Elysees
#209 of 1,800 in Paris
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Elysee Hotel

Property: Garden Elysee Hotel
Address: 12 rue Saint Didier | 16th Arr, 75116 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#320 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#338 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#384 Business Hotel in Paris
#434 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Elysee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Elysée hotel, a secret address tucked down near the Trocadéro and nestled between the Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysées. The large lobby and lounges with fireplaces feature bursts of violet and orange to create a modern, elegant, stylish and relaxing setting. This leafy hotel is a haven of peace in the heart of Paris. No matter the season, guests can relax on the patio amongst the many plants or settle into the wicker furniture in the winter garden. Direct access to Congress center, free WIFI, parking places extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Elysee Hotel Paris
Garden Elysee Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing